SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6109 (70's Wrap Tops)

Viewed 360 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/08 12:17 PM
Last Updated:7/6/08 1:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I think I sewed that pattern when it was new. OMG - I have patterns older than you are! Your link to SNF and Travolta's dancing brought up a philosophical question: would disco have existed if stretch polyester had never been invented?
7/6/08 1:11 PM
mastdenman said...
Cute top. Lots of those tops out now. It's hard to believe that John Travolta started out as a dancer.
7/6/08 1:15 PM
cindy-lou said...
Heatherrique, you write the best-- and most entertaining-- reviews! Love your wrap top-- and thanks for the great trip down memory lane!
7/6/08 1:19 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely Top and to think I thought I was the only that wanted a wrap top with a collar...lol.
7/6/08 1:27 PM
crisford said...
You are a brave soul! But those wrap tops look so cute on you! Great job!
7/6/08 1:28 PM
sewbehind said...
Woo hoo! Very nice wrap top, very nice John Travolta.....
7/6/08 1:43 PM
michellep74 said...
I absolutely love everything about this top! The collar (I love those 70's collars, too), the fabric that you chose, the fit...everything! This looks fabulous on you!
7/6/08 2:08 PM
Birgitte said...
Wonderful top, fits your spirit. Thank you for the trip down memory lane. Mom taught Travolta moves in ballroom dance class :-) He's the only celebrity that made me a little awestruck upon meeting- he's an "awe"some person.
7/6/08 3:01 PM
Gelbean said...
Another great shirt. So very 70's.
7/6/08 5:24 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
So cute and what a fun review! Great job!
7/6/08 5:44 PM
Speech girl said...
your top is super cute--what a great vintage pattern.
7/6/08 8:49 PM
Em's Summer said...
Another very cool top! This is really adorable! You have really good taste! And you write the most fun reviews!
7/6/08 10:43 PM
Kbenco said...
What a terrific use of a vintage pattern. It looks fabulous and fashionable.
7/6/08 11:36 PM
Karen8320 said...
To be sung to the tune of 'Stayin' Alive': Well, we can tell by the way you use that chalk, You're a sewing queen, no time to talk, Music loud, lighting warm, Everything you sew looks great on your form, And it's alright, it's OK, we won't look the other way ... First of all, your top looks fabulous on you! I love the colors because they're so warm and this is a very flattering style on you. Secondly, I love your reviews! You always make them so interesting to read. Great work!!!
7/7/08 2:14 AM
HeyJane said...
Love it. Your tops AND your music clips. :)
7/7/08 7:25 AM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I've always loved Sly, too. :o) And after seeing David Cassidy, I'm feeling the need to look up Bobby Sherman. Your blouse is a real winner! That's a very flattering style on you, and I particularly like that fabric, AND the '70s collar! :o)
7/7/08 4:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
Woman, you are THE Queen of Retro!!! Fab top!
7/7/08 9:19 PM
shesflipped said...
WHAT FUN! I love this top! (anything that wraps, twists or flips!) Loved the clip of Shirley & David Cassidy! (Way groovy pony tail~very 'I Dream of Genie'!) I was totally in love with David Cassidy in 1973! And then, JT~can anyone move like that dude? Wow! All I can say is "Smokin' Hot' all the way around. (gotta go look for my stobe light...)
7/10/08 10:52 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Such fun! I loved reading the review, and I love your results... I agree that modern patterns could take some pointers from older patterns, too. OK, great -- now I have the Bee Gees on my brain. Argh!
7/21/08 8:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 2599

photo
by: SewLoop

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now