SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6109 (70's Wrap Tops)

Viewed 362 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/08 12:17 PM
Last Updated:7/6/08 1:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kellymailinglist said...
Such fun! I loved reading the review, and I love your results... I agree that modern patterns could take some pointers from older patterns, too. OK, great -- now I have the Bee Gees on my brain. Argh!
7/21/08 8:52 AM
shesflipped said...
WHAT FUN! I love this top! (anything that wraps, twists or flips!) Loved the clip of Shirley & David Cassidy! (Way groovy pony tail~very 'I Dream of Genie'!) I was totally in love with David Cassidy in 1973! And then, JT~can anyone move like that dude? Wow! All I can say is "Smokin' Hot' all the way around. (gotta go look for my stobe light...)
7/10/08 10:52 AM
ryan's mom said...
Woman, you are THE Queen of Retro!!! Fab top!
7/7/08 9:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I've always loved Sly, too. :o) And after seeing David Cassidy, I'm feeling the need to look up Bobby Sherman. Your blouse is a real winner! That's a very flattering style on you, and I particularly like that fabric, AND the '70s collar! :o)
7/7/08 4:56 PM
HeyJane said...
Love it. Your tops AND your music clips. :)
7/7/08 7:25 AM
Karen8320 said...
To be sung to the tune of 'Stayin' Alive': Well, we can tell by the way you use that chalk, You're a sewing queen, no time to talk, Music loud, lighting warm, Everything you sew looks great on your form, And it's alright, it's OK, we won't look the other way ... First of all, your top looks fabulous on you! I love the colors because they're so warm and this is a very flattering style on you. Secondly, I love your reviews! You always make them so interesting to read. Great work!!!
7/7/08 2:14 AM
Kbenco said...
What a terrific use of a vintage pattern. It looks fabulous and fashionable.
7/6/08 11:36 PM
Em's Summer said...
Another very cool top! This is really adorable! You have really good taste! And you write the most fun reviews!
7/6/08 10:43 PM
Speech girl said...
your top is super cute--what a great vintage pattern.
7/6/08 8:49 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
So cute and what a fun review! Great job!
7/6/08 5:44 PM
Gelbean said...
Another great shirt. So very 70's.
7/6/08 5:24 PM
Birgitte said...
Wonderful top, fits your spirit. Thank you for the trip down memory lane. Mom taught Travolta moves in ballroom dance class :-) He's the only celebrity that made me a little awestruck upon meeting- he's an "awe"some person.
7/6/08 3:01 PM
michellep74 said...
I absolutely love everything about this top! The collar (I love those 70's collars, too), the fabric that you chose, the fit...everything! This looks fabulous on you!
7/6/08 2:08 PM
sewbehind said...
Woo hoo! Very nice wrap top, very nice John Travolta.....
7/6/08 1:43 PM
crisford said...
You are a brave soul! But those wrap tops look so cute on you! Great job!
7/6/08 1:28 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely Top and to think I thought I was the only that wanted a wrap top with a collar...lol.
7/6/08 1:27 PM
cindy-lou said...
Heatherrique, you write the best-- and most entertaining-- reviews! Love your wrap top-- and thanks for the great trip down memory lane!
7/6/08 1:19 PM
mastdenman said...
Cute top. Lots of those tops out now. It's hard to believe that John Travolta started out as a dancer.
7/6/08 1:15 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think I sewed that pattern when it was new. OMG - I have patterns older than you are! Your link to SNF and Travolta's dancing brought up a philosophical question: would disco have existed if stretch polyester had never been invented?
7/6/08 1:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Burda 9702

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review

Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now