Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 6109 (70's Wrap Tops) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 359 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/08 12:17 PM
Last Updated:7/6/08 1:56 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I think I sewed that pattern when it was new. OMG - I have patterns older than you are! Your link to SNF and Travolta's dancing brought up a philosophical question: would disco have existed if stretch polyester had never been invented?
7/6/08 1:11 PM
mastdenman said...
Cute top. Lots of those tops out now. It's hard to believe that John Travolta started out as a dancer.
7/6/08 1:15 PM
cindy-lou said...
Heatherrique, you write the best-- and most entertaining-- reviews! Love your wrap top-- and thanks for the great trip down memory lane!
7/6/08 1:19 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely Top and to think I thought I was the only that wanted a wrap top with a collar...lol.
7/6/08 1:27 PM
crisford said...
You are a brave soul! But those wrap tops look so cute on you! Great job!
7/6/08 1:28 PM
sewbehind said...
Woo hoo! Very nice wrap top, very nice John Travolta.....
7/6/08 1:43 PM
michellep74 said...
I absolutely love everything about this top! The collar (I love those 70's collars, too), the fabric that you chose, the fit...everything! This looks fabulous on you!
7/6/08 2:08 PM
Birgitte said...
Wonderful top, fits your spirit. Thank you for the trip down memory lane. Mom taught Travolta moves in ballroom dance class :-) He's the only celebrity that made me a little awestruck upon meeting- he's an "awe"some person.
7/6/08 3:01 PM
Gelbean said...
Another great shirt. So very 70's.
7/6/08 5:24 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
So cute and what a fun review! Great job!
7/6/08 5:44 PM
Speech girl said...
your top is super cute--what a great vintage pattern.
7/6/08 8:49 PM
Em's Summer said...
Another very cool top! This is really adorable! You have really good taste! And you write the most fun reviews!
7/6/08 10:43 PM
Kbenco said...
What a terrific use of a vintage pattern. It looks fabulous and fashionable.
7/6/08 11:36 PM
Karen8320 said...
To be sung to the tune of 'Stayin' Alive': Well, we can tell by the way you use that chalk, You're a sewing queen, no time to talk, Music loud, lighting warm, Everything you sew looks great on your form, And it's alright, it's OK, we won't look the other way ... First of all, your top looks fabulous on you! I love the colors because they're so warm and this is a very flattering style on you. Secondly, I love your reviews! You always make them so interesting to read. Great work!!!
7/7/08 2:14 AM
HeyJane said...
Love it. Your tops AND your music clips. :)
7/7/08 7:25 AM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I've always loved Sly, too. :o) And after seeing David Cassidy, I'm feeling the need to look up Bobby Sherman. Your blouse is a real winner! That's a very flattering style on you, and I particularly like that fabric, AND the '70s collar! :o)
7/7/08 4:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
Woman, you are THE Queen of Retro!!! Fab top!
7/7/08 9:19 PM
shesflipped said...
WHAT FUN! I love this top! (anything that wraps, twists or flips!) Loved the clip of Shirley & David Cassidy! (Way groovy pony tail~very 'I Dream of Genie'!) I was totally in love with David Cassidy in 1973! And then, JT~can anyone move like that dude? Wow! All I can say is "Smokin' Hot' all the way around. (gotta go look for my stobe light...)
7/10/08 10:52 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Such fun! I loved reading the review, and I love your results... I agree that modern patterns could take some pointers from older patterns, too. OK, great -- now I have the Bee Gees on my brain. Argh!
7/21/08 8:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Lutterloh 1940-#8
photo
Review by tucci4me on 3/11/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-4
photo
Review by JuliaS on 7/25/08
Read Review

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6602 Pattern
New Look 6602 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us