Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2005 (Choice of T-shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1553 times 97 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Alliekat
photo
About Alliekat
NJ USA
Member since: 4/16/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:7/17/03 8:08 PM
Last Updated:9/26/03 9:00 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
So lucky to have an Aunt to teach you! Be patient & practice often. Sewing is a very rewarding hobby. The process is as much fun for me as the new garment is to wear :)
7/17/03 8:26 PM
Lou. said...
HI there Alliekat! You picked a great pattern as a starter! My first Jalie T shirt was a size too big as well, fingers crossed for next week! For a first attempt you did great! I don't know how many patterns you have but Kwik Sew T's are also good, Kwik Sew 3036 only has 2 pattern pieces and still gives a good shape!
7/17/03 8:28 PM
Jeanine said...
I like your shirt, and it's so great that you have someone teaching you.
7/17/03 8:29 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats! I really have to consider getting this pattern; everyone gets such good results with it.
7/17/03 9:48 PM
Alliekat said...
Thank you everyone! I'll definitely post pictures of next week's t-shirts too.
7/17/03 11:52 PM
Deepika said...
so cool to have someone teach you! Very well written review and great t-shirt. Thanks!
7/17/03 11:52 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Alliekat, try measuring a knit shirt that fits you well. Measure across the front and back at the bottom of the armhole, then compare the measurements to different sizes on the Jalie pattern (remember to subtract the seam allowances.) That's how I found the size that closely matched my daughter's favorite close-fitting t-shirt. You are on the right track. Once you have the fit you want, you'll love thispattern. Keep us posted on the results.
7/18/03 9:10 AM
Alliekat said...
That's a good idea, Karla. Thank you. Oh, and my husband pointed out to me this morning (when I told him about my first review) that the pattern has more than 3 pieces...oops!
7/18/03 11:16 AM
AnneM said...
Good job. Isn't it fun to see the progress from one project to the next? !
9/26/03 12:02 PM
Georgene said...
Allie, it just looks like you need to make the band you are setting in to your neckline shorter so you are stretching the band into the neck. Then when you release it, the neckband draws in and your neckline won't look stretched out. You are definately making progress, and I bet your next tee is even better.
9/26/03 1:07 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I had the same problem with the neckline, the first time I made this t-shirt. I think the technique in the pattern instructions requires a lot of "fussing" with the neckline which (especially for beginners) can cause it to stretch out of shape. I was able to get my neckline almost back to "normal" by steaming it a lot. Also, sometimes the quality or type of the fabric can make all the difference. Some knits just have better recovery than others.
9/27/03 6:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 4668 Bag
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 5/15/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6357
photo
Review by lovenicky on 8/21/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us