SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2005 (Choice of T-shirts)

97 more reviews
Viewed 1554 times 
Reviewed by:Alliekat
photo

 
 
About Alliekat
NJ USA
Member since: 4/16/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:7/17/03 8:08 PM
Last Updated:9/26/03 9:00 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
So lucky to have an Aunt to teach you! Be patient & practice often. Sewing is a very rewarding hobby. The process is as much fun for me as the new garment is to wear :)
7/17/03 8:26 PM
Lou. said...
HI there Alliekat! You picked a great pattern as a starter! My first Jalie T shirt was a size too big as well, fingers crossed for next week! For a first attempt you did great! I don't know how many patterns you have but Kwik Sew T's are also good, Kwik Sew 3036 only has 2 pattern pieces and still gives a good shape!
7/17/03 8:28 PM
Jeanine said...
I like your shirt, and it's so great that you have someone teaching you.
7/17/03 8:29 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats! I really have to consider getting this pattern; everyone gets such good results with it.
7/17/03 9:48 PM
Alliekat said...
Thank you everyone! I'll definitely post pictures of next week's t-shirts too.
7/17/03 11:52 PM
Deepika said...
so cool to have someone teach you! Very well written review and great t-shirt. Thanks!
7/17/03 11:52 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Alliekat, try measuring a knit shirt that fits you well. Measure across the front and back at the bottom of the armhole, then compare the measurements to different sizes on the Jalie pattern (remember to subtract the seam allowances.) That's how I found the size that closely matched my daughter's favorite close-fitting t-shirt. You are on the right track. Once you have the fit you want, you'll love thispattern. Keep us posted on the results.
7/18/03 9:10 AM
Alliekat said...
That's a good idea, Karla. Thank you. Oh, and my husband pointed out to me this morning (when I told him about my first review) that the pattern has more than 3 pieces...oops!
7/18/03 11:16 AM
AnneM said...
Good job. Isn't it fun to see the progress from one project to the next? !
9/26/03 12:02 PM
Georgene said...
Allie, it just looks like you need to make the band you are setting in to your neckline shorter so you are stretching the band into the neck. Then when you release it, the neckband draws in and your neckline won't look stretched out. You are definately making progress, and I bet your next tee is even better.
9/26/03 1:07 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I had the same problem with the neckline, the first time I made this t-shirt. I think the technique in the pattern instructions requires a lot of "fussing" with the neckline which (especially for beginners) can cause it to stretch out of shape. I was able to get my neckline almost back to "normal" by steaming it a lot. Also, sometimes the quality or type of the fabric can make all the difference. Some knits just have better recovery than others.
9/27/03 6:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 6083

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Simplicity 5685

photo
by: Manalto

Review