SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3838 (Misses Tunic)

10 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:heathercampbell29
photo

 
 
About heathercampbell29star
Member since: 5/23/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/08 3:05 PM
Last Updated:7/8/08 3:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kjcaron said...
Very pretty and flattering top! I will be adding this one to my wish list.
7/8/08 3:28 PM
JeanM said...
Your top looks great! Neat looking fabric, too. Do the FBA, it's not that hard once you've done one or two! Patterns usually assume a B-cup; I find I usually get a better fit through the neck & shoulders using my high bust to choose the size and doing the FBA. I usually trace off my pattern and do my adjustments on my tracing - if I mess it up, I still have the original pattern (swedish tracing paper, or on the pattern grid from JoAnn's, interfacing section). I use the Fit for Real People book as a guideline but there are other sources available.
7/8/08 3:37 PM
sb1280 said...
It looks great, I really like the fabric. Fitting is always a challenge, but you did a terrific job!
7/8/08 4:20 PM
mis_priss said...
nice Job! very nice blouse, glad you got it to fit so nicely.
7/8/08 4:20 PM
sew42mom said...
I think this is the first tunic that I have ever liked! You and the top look great!
7/8/08 4:23 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great blouse! Looks like you got a perfect fit, too.
7/8/08 5:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Geez, I hadn't even noticed this pattern, but yours looks GREAT. All of your fitting expertise has really paid off on a lovely, perfectly fitted top. You have a beautiful complexion, by the way. :o)
7/8/08 5:39 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love your blouse - it's a great fit and the fabric is so pretty.
7/8/08 5:55 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
hey, thanks everyone for the lovely compliments! having worn this now for half a day, I'm actually thinking next time I will cut a 16 for the neck area as it is a bit "gap-y" there. I'm not sure how to do an FBA when there are no darts, but I'm going to do McCalls 5661 next and that is a palmer/pletch learning pattern so hopefully that will lead me in the right direction. And Annette - my beautiful complexion is thanks to MAC perfect finish foundation - which I normally don't wear except for special occasions but those undereye circles were really bad!
7/8/08 6:20 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Congrats on your FBA! Your top looks great.
7/8/08 8:16 PM
phthooey said...
Cute top! And cute haircut, too! :)
7/8/08 11:00 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, Heather, go to this site here, and you'll learn OH SO MUCH about full bust adjustments. It's our own Debbie Cook's site, and she's REALLY good with her alterations and tutorials. Here's the link: http://www.cedesign.com/familyphotos/sewing/info/index.html
7/10/08 1:00 AM
Tonyasrb said...
This looks great on you.
5/26/09 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
No Pattern Used D.Karan shearling copy

photo
by: trishapatk

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now