Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6407 (Misses' Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 482 times 73 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:piffle
photo
Friend of PR
About pifflestar
MD USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/08 5:23 PM
Last Updated:7/8/08 6:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Sorry I can't help with the "strange bulges" diagnosis, but it's sure a beautiful blouse! The fabric is gorgeous.
7/8/08 5:30 PM
Terri A said...
That is just lovely!
7/8/08 5:40 PM
Puppy said...
I'm curious to know if you tried the pattern "as is" first, or if you made changes right out of the chute? (I've traced this pattern in preparation for doing a muslin of it.) I think it's a very attractive blouse and the fabric is great (and it does NOT look like a baseball uniform! Aren't we just our own harshest critics!?!)
7/8/08 7:31 PM
quathy said...
This is really cute, and I love that fabric. I wonder for the front darts, have you tried undoing them, trying it on inside out, and pinning new in place, according to the fit? It seems like the darts might be coming up a little high, and 'pulling' too closely just below the apex. Maybe even make them a little more narrow, and add more to the back darts if it still needs adjusting. Hope you can save it, it's really a cute top. I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet, but it's on my to-do list!
7/8/08 11:52 PM
Ronda Rae said...
It's a very nice shirt. I wonder if the issue in the dart is a drafting issue during your alterations. If you look carefully at the back view, it appears to be a bit wonky at that juncture in the back also. I have made this pattern 4-5 times and have not had an issue with the bust dart. Curious, very curious. Don't give up on the pattern yet. Try it again without alterations in muslin and see where it takes you.
7/9/08 3:18 AM
Annette1 said...
I wish I had some sage advice for you on the darts, but I don't. I wonder if it could be the angle. They start pretty low down, it looks like. (Low-down, dirty-rotten darts, anyway!) :o) I think this is LOVELY. I hope you'll go ahead and wear it. Nobody else is going to notice anything but what a BEAUTIFUL blouse it is.
7/10/08 0:49 AM
Janie Viers said...
I just made this out of pretty pink for my DGD (size 8 pattern) and she hated it. She said it fit "funny" and when she proceeded to say she doesn't like button front shirts anyway, I told her to give it away since I wasn't going to waste time solving a fitting problem when I'd never make that pattern again! Her friend's Mom loved it and wore it the next day to work. I am getting so old that the mother's of my DGD's friends are young enough to wear a teenagers clothes without looking funky!
7/11/08 10:21 AM
Bernadette W said...
Alice, after reading the detailed alteration analysis on your blog, my recommendation would be to start with a smaller pattern size and grade up for bust and hips! This will bring the apex point up- it looks way too low on your dress form. The fact that you took 5/8" out of the blouse shoulders reinforces the size issue--I have the same problem! If you start with the pattern size that corresponds to a 5/8" reduction in shoulder width- you will most likely start with a size 10; this will raise the bust apex by roughly an inch, if you use the size 10 cutting line for the neck to shoulder line as well. Congratulations on your PhD, and your new job!
7/17/08 10:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2007-101
photo
Review by Christina ... on 4/11/08
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3754
photo
Review by RobinE on 8/23/11
Read Review

McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern
Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us