SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6407 (Misses' Shirts)

75 more reviews
Viewed 485 times 
Reviewed by:piffle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pifflestar
MD USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/08 5:23 PM
Last Updated:7/8/08 6:39 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bernadette W said...
Alice, after reading the detailed alteration analysis on your blog, my recommendation would be to start with a smaller pattern size and grade up for bust and hips! This will bring the apex point up- it looks way too low on your dress form. The fact that you took 5/8" out of the blouse shoulders reinforces the size issue--I have the same problem! If you start with the pattern size that corresponds to a 5/8" reduction in shoulder width- you will most likely start with a size 10; this will raise the bust apex by roughly an inch, if you use the size 10 cutting line for the neck to shoulder line as well. Congratulations on your PhD, and your new job!
7/17/08 10:53 AM
Janie Viers said...
I just made this out of pretty pink for my DGD (size 8 pattern) and she hated it. She said it fit "funny" and when she proceeded to say she doesn't like button front shirts anyway, I told her to give it away since I wasn't going to waste time solving a fitting problem when I'd never make that pattern again! Her friend's Mom loved it and wore it the next day to work. I am getting so old that the mother's of my DGD's friends are young enough to wear a teenagers clothes without looking funky!
7/11/08 10:21 AM
Annette1 said...
I wish I had some sage advice for you on the darts, but I don't. I wonder if it could be the angle. They start pretty low down, it looks like. (Low-down, dirty-rotten darts, anyway!) :o) I think this is LOVELY. I hope you'll go ahead and wear it. Nobody else is going to notice anything but what a BEAUTIFUL blouse it is.
7/10/08 0:49 AM
Ronda Rae said...
It's a very nice shirt. I wonder if the issue in the dart is a drafting issue during your alterations. If you look carefully at the back view, it appears to be a bit wonky at that juncture in the back also. I have made this pattern 4-5 times and have not had an issue with the bust dart. Curious, very curious. Don't give up on the pattern yet. Try it again without alterations in muslin and see where it takes you.
7/9/08 3:18 AM
quathy said...
This is really cute, and I love that fabric. I wonder for the front darts, have you tried undoing them, trying it on inside out, and pinning new in place, according to the fit? It seems like the darts might be coming up a little high, and 'pulling' too closely just below the apex. Maybe even make them a little more narrow, and add more to the back darts if it still needs adjusting. Hope you can save it, it's really a cute top. I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet, but it's on my to-do list!
7/8/08 11:52 PM
Puppy said...
I'm curious to know if you tried the pattern "as is" first, or if you made changes right out of the chute? (I've traced this pattern in preparation for doing a muslin of it.) I think it's a very attractive blouse and the fabric is great (and it does NOT look like a baseball uniform! Aren't we just our own harshest critics!?!)
7/8/08 7:31 PM
Terri A said...
That is just lovely!
7/8/08 5:40 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Sorry I can't help with the "strange bulges" diagnosis, but it's sure a beautiful blouse! The fabric is gorgeous.
7/8/08 5:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
Simplicity 1723

photo
by: Larisa

Review