SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6407 (Misses' Shirts)

73 more reviews
Viewed 483 times 
Reviewed by:piffle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pifflestar
MD USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/08 5:23 PM
Last Updated:7/8/08 6:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Sorry I can't help with the "strange bulges" diagnosis, but it's sure a beautiful blouse! The fabric is gorgeous.
7/8/08 5:30 PM
Terri A said...
That is just lovely!
7/8/08 5:40 PM
Puppy said...
I'm curious to know if you tried the pattern "as is" first, or if you made changes right out of the chute? (I've traced this pattern in preparation for doing a muslin of it.) I think it's a very attractive blouse and the fabric is great (and it does NOT look like a baseball uniform! Aren't we just our own harshest critics!?!)
7/8/08 7:31 PM
quathy said...
This is really cute, and I love that fabric. I wonder for the front darts, have you tried undoing them, trying it on inside out, and pinning new in place, according to the fit? It seems like the darts might be coming up a little high, and 'pulling' too closely just below the apex. Maybe even make them a little more narrow, and add more to the back darts if it still needs adjusting. Hope you can save it, it's really a cute top. I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet, but it's on my to-do list!
7/8/08 11:52 PM
Ronda Rae said...
It's a very nice shirt. I wonder if the issue in the dart is a drafting issue during your alterations. If you look carefully at the back view, it appears to be a bit wonky at that juncture in the back also. I have made this pattern 4-5 times and have not had an issue with the bust dart. Curious, very curious. Don't give up on the pattern yet. Try it again without alterations in muslin and see where it takes you.
7/9/08 3:18 AM
Annette1 said...
I wish I had some sage advice for you on the darts, but I don't. I wonder if it could be the angle. They start pretty low down, it looks like. (Low-down, dirty-rotten darts, anyway!) :o) I think this is LOVELY. I hope you'll go ahead and wear it. Nobody else is going to notice anything but what a BEAUTIFUL blouse it is.
7/10/08 0:49 AM
Janie Viers said...
I just made this out of pretty pink for my DGD (size 8 pattern) and she hated it. She said it fit "funny" and when she proceeded to say she doesn't like button front shirts anyway, I told her to give it away since I wasn't going to waste time solving a fitting problem when I'd never make that pattern again! Her friend's Mom loved it and wore it the next day to work. I am getting so old that the mother's of my DGD's friends are young enough to wear a teenagers clothes without looking funky!
7/11/08 10:21 AM
Bernadette W said...
Alice, after reading the detailed alteration analysis on your blog, my recommendation would be to start with a smaller pattern size and grade up for bust and hips! This will bring the apex point up- it looks way too low on your dress form. The fact that you took 5/8" out of the blouse shoulders reinforces the size issue--I have the same problem! If you start with the pattern size that corresponds to a 5/8" reduction in shoulder width- you will most likely start with a size 10; this will raise the bust apex by roughly an inch, if you use the size 10 cutting line for the neck to shoulder line as well. Congratulations on your PhD, and your new job!
7/17/08 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3300

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Other Charlie's Aunt

photo
by: Danette in...

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now