Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7983 thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 534 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/08 5:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
This is an absolutely darling dress, and your daughter looks radiant in it.
7/8/08 5:34 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Incredible dress. I love the design. It is sophisticated but appropriately YOUNG at the same time. The way you handled the whole strapless vs one shoulder seam plus the hidden adjustments really show up in the last pix. Congrats to your daughter on her graduation and especially to you.
7/8/08 5:46 PM
elanor said...
Beautiful. I have been looking for a pattern like this. I agree the boning seems brill.
7/8/08 5:48 PM
Immelu said...
That's a fantastic dress! Your daughter looks beautiful!
7/8/08 5:51 PM
Annette1 said...
I've always LOVED this pattern, and your rendition COULD NOT BE ANY BETTER! (Your daughter is BEAUTIFUL, by the way.) Ingenious idea to add a little poof to that bow, too. Boy, anything with RUCHING, I'm just a SUCKER for. :o)
7/8/08 6:05 PM
piffle said...
What a great review. Such a stunning dress. Your daughter looks very happy. You've done an incredible job. well done.
7/8/08 6:46 PM
Puppy said...
I remember my mother made me a (required) white dress for my junior high graduation (onto which she sew "Daisy" appliques). I'm impressed that ANYTHING today is still done the way it was when I was in junior high...a l o n g time ago!) Anyway, the dress is really wonderful, especially the one strap and the fabulous bow...and the fabric...and, well, everything about it! Grrrreat job!
7/8/08 7:47 PM
Amanda S. said...
What a great dress! I love the single strap and the big bow. She looks so beautiful.
7/8/08 8:30 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm with Gail - this dress is the perfect combination of sophisticated and young. I love all the work you put into it - and I love that she wanted pockets. Can't have too many pockets.
7/8/08 8:46 PM
shopgrrl said...
What a stunning dress. Yours is a huge improvement upon the pattern images. I absolutely love the dupioni choice of fabric as well - it looks like a very expensive dress. Bravo to you!
7/8/08 11:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is just way too wonderful. The one strap is a brilliant addition. The poufy bow, the choice of fabric, everything came together to be perfect for your beautiful daughter. What a lucky girl!
7/9/08 0:14 AM
Aixoise said...
Lovely dress. Your beautiful daughter makes it even lovelier.
7/9/08 0:34 AM
jhansby said...
Great dress!!
7/9/08 10:15 AM
Stitchcakes said...
TOO CUTE!! We wore white dresses, too, 'cause our caps and gowns were white. This is so great-looking on her. I wasn't so sure about the single strap either, until I saw her wearing it, but it works! This is a really cute pattern in general, too. Thanks for reviewing it!
7/9/08 2:12 PM
janet said...
Gorgeous daughter, gorgeous dress!
7/9/08 5:05 PM
Deepika said...
Wow daisy looks so pretty in her graduation dress. You have got to be the most popular mom in her school!
7/9/08 6:50 PM
LindsayT said...
Just saw this dress and I've marked it as a favorite. My DD will be graduating from HS in two years and will also need a short white dress. This is one she'd love. Thanks!
7/19/08 8:03 AM
Mebber said...
Beautiful dress she will treasure forever. Love the silk dupioni - elegant fabric for this work of love and art. Thanks for sharing -
8/5/09 1:19 AM
camilaustral said...
great review, great pictures. and great dress!! she looks very pretty!
2/11/10 10:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 6203 Misses' Tunics
photo
Review by Sewmetoo on 4/10/12
Read Review

Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 00
photo
Review by SassySan on 7/28/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us