Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3737 (Misses Petticoat and Panties) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 314 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/08 11:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A fabulous petticoat - thank you for the tip about the confusing gather instructions. Is the netting sandwiched between two layers of fabric or is it just two layers - the top fabric and then the netting underneath?
7/10/08 2:04 AM
Terri A said...
I just ran and looked at it but it is under a wedding gown in construction - so I dug under there hope I looked at it correctly.... but on this petticoat there are two layers attached to a yoke. The under/inside layer of the petticoat is the one that has net and it (the net) doesn't show from the outside of the garment. At the bottom tier, of the inside layer: Instead of a single layer of fabric as you did with the others you just put the net tier on top of the crinoline tier and you handle it as one. Clear as mud? And here I am complaining about the instructions that come with the pattern - hahaha:-)
7/10/08 2:36 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful petticoat, thanks for the tips.
7/10/08 8:07 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a wonderful petticoat.
7/10/08 7:15 PM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, what a lot of WORK. But it looks absolutely fabulous, what a good friend you are. You're so right about the instructions to gather being confusing for a beginner and your alternate suggestion is so much more accurate.
7/11/08 8:48 AM
Janie Viers said...
take a strong white thread-crosheen or dental floss or similar item and zig zag OVER the thread making sure not to catch the underthread with the needle. When you go to gather you just pull the floss! No breakage. I have also used 1/8" baby elastic. Additionally, I use tape to cover the split front of the presser foot so the blasted #(&#$^@#^$ net doesn't catch on the foot! (I have done crinoline petticoats several times and each time I swear I would rather walk naked to church than do another one!) I have solved the problem of scratch by making a straight tricot underslip to wear with the petticoat.
7/11/08 10:06 AM
Terri A said...
Wow! Great tips thanks!
7/13/08 11:25 AM
droxy said...
Yes! LOTS of gathering. I like how full yours turned out!
11/17/09 10:39 AM
BrynnBB said...
Hi Terri A! Many years after you have constructed this pattern but by your comments, you seem to be the person for me to ask. I'm considering buying this pattern on ebay (which it is now $$$) so I wanted to ask you if you think that it would be appropriate as a very full skirt made from cotton and no net/tulle involved? Wanting to make a very full patch skirt and this pattern is definitely full, but are the instructions suitable for cotton fabric? Hate to spend $35 on a pattern just to make a tulle petticoat ~ Thank You!
8/31/13 4:17 PM
Terri A said...
I don't see why you couldn't do it in cotton. If I recall correctly, the pattern is just long rectangles :( you could use any tiered pattern on the market and make it as full as you want by just adding length to the rectangle. Cotton is heavier so it will pull on the top part significantly. You could use any pattern with the waistband You preferred and just make your own rectangles to gather as full as you wanted. There is another skirt pattern McCalls 5812 that would make a full skirt that might suit your purposes. I don't recall if it is OOP or not... It runs $5-$8 on etsy.
9/1/13 12:00 PM
Terri A said...
It does have a zipper in the back, I think it would work in cotton just omit the tulle :) There is one on etsy for $10 - very cheap compared to the ebay offerings. I checked my stash and The copies I had were of a McCalls petticoat after all, not the one you are after. As a final note the pattern uses four pieces: a rectangular waistband, one front yoke, one back yoke, and one large rectangle cut repeatedly to comprise the skirt tiers. You have 26 tier sections cut of fabric. Tier #1 has two sections. Tier #2 has four sections. Tier #3 has eight sections. Tier #4 has four sections. Tier #5 is a double layer consisting of eight sections each - of fabric and net.
9/1/13 12:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

McCall's 5972
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 4/26/11
Read Review

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8120 MISSES' BLOUSE
photo
Review by sarahinlaf... on 11/15/09
Read Review

McCalls 6713 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6713 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1263 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 1263 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us