Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (Marcy Tilton Wearable Art)

30 more reviews
Viewed 874 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews: 204 (patterns: 191)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 55 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/08 8:20 AM
Last Updated:7/10/08 10:51 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said... (3/4/09 0:22 AM) Reply
Great review of this top! I'm preparing to make this and I appreciate that you showed the side seam vent, I was wondering what that looks like and you can't really see it on the pattern envelope.
Fictionfan said... (7/11/08 1:49 PM) Reply
Although you said you'd prefer a beefier material, I like the look of the more drapey knit you used better than the sitffer material depicted on the pattern envelope. Nice looking top!
2BSewing said... (7/10/08 8:52 PM) Reply
Your knit tee looks great. I love the color.
Caitycat said... (7/10/08 6:41 PM) Reply
An interesting design well executed - good job!
Winifred said... (7/10/08 5:46 PM) Reply
Thankyou for a great review on a lovely top. It really looks good on you. I have this pattern and its waiting patiently to be made up! I'm not though - I want everything at once or sooner !!!
Peggy L said... (7/10/08 11:22 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. This one is on my list, too, and I'll use a heavier knit.
Elona said... (7/10/08 10:56 AM) Reply
What a terrific, informative review. You know, the tee is very pretty, though I agree that a heftier knit might have been more satisfying. Another reviewer here actually got some feedback from Marcy about this pattern, and you are right: She recommends a beefy knit with lycra.
pterion said... (7/10/08 10:05 AM) Reply
I think this T looks great. Lovely color. I have this pattern too and hope to get around to it soon.
marec said... (7/10/08 9:31 AM) Reply
I love the tee and have played around with ideas such as the one in the pattern. Marcy does such nice work, doesn't she? Thanks for the great tip on fabric selection-I'll be careful to pick a heavier knit if I try this pattern. All that being said, I love your yop and the color is fabulous.
papago said... (7/10/08 9:07 AM) Reply
Very interesting review. I have been curious about this pattern and will take your observations to heart when I try it. The fabric is quite lovely and looks nice on you even though you would have prefered a more stable knit.
Dee2 said... (7/10/08 9:03 AM) Reply
Another great top! I like the fabric you chose for this pattern & the color is great on you. Thanks for all the fitting tips.
carolynw said... (7/10/08 8:55 AM) Reply
I realy like your tee - have the pattern so will find your review very helpful when I get to sewing it
Gelbean said... (7/10/08 8:27 AM) Reply
Your tee shirt looks very nice.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Vogue Patterns V1034

photo
by: gingold

Review
123 Mulberry Street 123 Mulberry Street

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Pattern Details
Mini Miranda Bag Paper Pattern

Mini Miranda Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details