SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (Marcy Tilton Wearable Art)

30 more reviews
Viewed 871 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 200
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/08 8:20 AM
Last Updated:7/10/08 10:51 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Great review of this top! I'm preparing to make this and I appreciate that you showed the side seam vent, I was wondering what that looks like and you can't really see it on the pattern envelope.
3/4/09 0:22 AM
Fictionfan said...
Although you said you'd prefer a beefier material, I like the look of the more drapey knit you used better than the sitffer material depicted on the pattern envelope. Nice looking top!
7/11/08 1:49 PM
2BSewing said...
Your knit tee looks great. I love the color.
7/10/08 8:52 PM
Caitycat said...
An interesting design well executed - good job!
7/10/08 6:41 PM
Winifred said...
Thankyou for a great review on a lovely top. It really looks good on you. I have this pattern and its waiting patiently to be made up! I'm not though - I want everything at once or sooner !!!
7/10/08 5:46 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for the review. This one is on my list, too, and I'll use a heavier knit.
7/10/08 11:22 AM
Elona said...
What a terrific, informative review. You know, the tee is very pretty, though I agree that a heftier knit might have been more satisfying. Another reviewer here actually got some feedback from Marcy about this pattern, and you are right: She recommends a beefy knit with lycra.
7/10/08 10:56 AM
pterion said...
I think this T looks great. Lovely color. I have this pattern too and hope to get around to it soon.
7/10/08 10:05 AM
marec said...
I love the tee and have played around with ideas such as the one in the pattern. Marcy does such nice work, doesn't she? Thanks for the great tip on fabric selection-I'll be careful to pick a heavier knit if I try this pattern. All that being said, I love your yop and the color is fabulous.
7/10/08 9:31 AM
papago said...
Very interesting review. I have been curious about this pattern and will take your observations to heart when I try it. The fabric is quite lovely and looks nice on you even though you would have prefered a more stable knit.
7/10/08 9:07 AM
Dee2 said...
Another great top! I like the fabric you chose for this pattern & the color is great on you. Thanks for all the fitting tips.
7/10/08 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
I realy like your tee - have the pattern so will find your review very helpful when I get to sewing it
7/10/08 8:55 AM
Gelbean said...
Your tee shirt looks very nice.
7/10/08 8:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

HotPatterns 1107

photo
by: Bleuette

Review
Butterick 5788

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

More Info