SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB036BI (Birdie Sling)

44 more reviews
Viewed 447 times 
Reviewed by:Avienndha
photo

 
 
About Avienndhastar
CT USA
Member since: 2/4/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/08 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
arlo said...
@roxierocks: great suggestion - I'm going to use this!
7/20/10 6:55 PM
crazygrad said...
Nice bag! Love that fabric!
10/18/08 4:09 PM
roxierocks said...
Lovely. I just bought the pattern and can't wait to make it. What I do about keys: make a long skinny "handle" out of your scrap material that is left over and purchase one of those lobster claw hooks and sew it on the end. Take out your side seam about 4 or so inches from the top side, insert the raw end of the "handle or belt" and sew it in by re-seaming what you opened. Make sure the end will rest on the bottom of the bag or with the weight of your keys attached itt will cause the top to flop over. Problem solved. Works great every time. Then, just grab the belt, pull it up to you and there are your keys. Good luck.
9/29/08 7:21 PM
Annelisa said...
This is such an adorable bag, great choice of fabric combination. This one is on my to do list as well.
7/12/08 2:16 AM
Avienndha said...
Deborah, I would say yes to the grocery bag if you're only popping in for a few items. It's huge honestly! I often throw a few items in there when at the store rather than using a bag. Maybe line it with oil cloth so you can wipe it out? Thanks for the comment!
7/11/08 8:47 AM
Darla in PA said...
Very cute bag! The fabrics are really cute.
7/11/08 7:08 AM
Deborah K said...
Crazy question, but, would this bag work well as a grocery bag? (I would probably leave out the lining, except for the top part. What do you think?
7/11/08 1:40 AM
Avienndha said...
Thank you! I got both at Joann Fabrics. All the linen was 60% off, couldn't pass it up!
7/10/08 9:00 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Absolutely adorable!!! I love the fabrics you used with it too - it makes me want to sew my pattern up!
7/10/08 7:56 PM
christea said...
I'm about to sew this myself. Thanks for review-also, where did you get those lovely fabrics you used in both your projects?
7/10/08 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

More Info