SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1052 (Issey Miyake)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1202 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/08 9:46 AM
Last Updated:7/15/08 9:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
Beautiful edge, and thanks for a really helpful review. Question, pls: Where does one buy this cord? I'm in a smaller city & the idea of trying to get a colour match over the internet makes my skin crawl! LOL Thanks!
3/13/13 10:27 PM
Gendun said...
Beautiful edge, and thanks for a really helpful review. Question, pls: Where does one buy this cord? I'm in a smaller city & the idea of trying to get a colour match over the internet makes my skin crawl! LOL Thanks!
3/13/13 10:22 PM
marjenann said...
Terrific review!! I am going to attempt the corded edge!! Your top is stunning!!
9/3/10 5:30 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Wow, just a beautiful job and a perfect review. I'm actually tempted to sew this thing!
2/7/10 2:30 AM
Monabel said...
Lovely! bravo on the corded edge!
11/22/09 11:47 AM
ITAdmin said...
greytone, I like to use Size 5 Pearl Cotton. It seems to be a good weight and size. Most craft stores carry it; I've bought at both JoAnn's and Michael's. Look in the cross stitch/embroidery sections of the store. It comes in a few sizes so you can go thinner or thicker if you like.
8/19/09 6:35 AM
greytone said...
I have had this pattern cut out for a while and am happy I read your review. I believe your technique for finishing the collar is better than the one on the instruction sheet. I am prepared to try it, but need to ask what did you use as cording and where can I buy it? Thanx for sharing!
8/18/09 12:09 PM
Sigrid. said...
Just saw your review because of the link you gave in the Fagotting technique review. What a beautiful technique with the cording. I must remember this!
7/22/09 5:36 AM
Nancywin said...
I missed this reveiw the first time around. I love the cording you did on this and would like to try it.
7/20/09 11:28 AM
katie lynne said...
I am flat out inspired. These garments are exquisite.
7/15/09 5:17 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great outfit! I love the colorway and the drape is prefection!
10/6/08 7:53 PM
Rebecca D said...
I found this review tremendously helpful as I am about to make this jacket during an upcoming sewing retreat. Thanks for all the good direction on the cording. I may try that finish myself.
9/25/08 7:09 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
The cording on the edge makes your jacket superb! Great detail and execution. Fabulous results! Thanks for the detail photos... well done too.
9/6/08 7:32 AM
Rustybobn said...
Very nice! Thanks for all the details.
7/16/08 3:30 PM
Marji said...
I love the drama of the collar, and the corded edge is a bit of inspired brilliance. Thanks for the great review and ideas.
7/16/08 9:11 AM
Ronda Rae said...
What a great review. Thanks for the tutes.
7/16/08 8:35 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket; love the soft color. Your attention to detail is amazing and thanks so much for the detailed instructions re: the cording and application.
7/16/08 7:31 AM
kellymailinglist said...
I can't imagine a more informative review or better photos--thanks so much!
7/16/08 7:12 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! thanks for this excellent review!
7/16/08 3:14 AM
lmg said...
Wow, great looking jacket. I love that corded edge. Thanks for all the great tips on that.
7/15/08 11:50 PM
ITAdmin said...
Thanks to all for the kind comments. Kristen, I used No. 5 pearl cotton for the cording. In the projects I've done, I have used only that or regular DMC embroidery floss. Both work well; the pearl cotton is just a little tighter and easier to handle.
7/15/08 8:45 PM
Natasha B said...
I have loved this jacket since the pattern was released and your version looks great. If only my skils were up to it!
7/15/08 7:37 PM
BillieJean said...
This is absolutely gorgeous! I just love it.
7/15/08 7:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a beautiful jacket and great review. So much good information about the cording especially. I like that finish.
7/15/08 5:07 PM
marthamyers said...
Fabulous jacket! Thanks for the detailed review and all the pictures. You've inspired me. I was wondering how this jacket would look and yours is just lovely.
7/15/08 3:30 PM
carolynw said...
Well done - your jacket is beautiful - the corded edges on the collar add that extra something that makes it look really professional
7/15/08 1:32 PM
maryfrana said...
Thank you so much for the detailed and thoughtful review. The photos of the cording make me believe I could do it! This jacket is perfect. Beautiful color, love the collar but it is really your cording, welting, etc. that make this so perfect. What a pro.
7/15/08 11:05 AM
Kristen said...
Lovely....The corded edge really finishes it nicely. Was this cording a 1mm cord?
7/15/08 10:55 AM
michellep74 said...
Amazing looking jacket! Congratulations on completing this beautiful piece!
7/15/08 10:54 AM
Mahler said...
You wrote an excellent review. You jacket is very nice. The collar finish is very well done. Bravo for this exquisite project.
7/15/08 10:40 AM
CatMukai said...
Great photos! The jacket is lovely. Thanks!
7/15/08 10:39 AM
PsychedOnSewing said...
I love everything about your jacket - the fresh color, the beautiful cording, the perfect drape. No one would ever believe you hadn't done a welt pocket before - it's downright inspiring! And thanks so much for the great detailed review/tips...
7/15/08 10:22 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thank you so much for the detail on how to do the corded edge. Your jacket looks wonderful. I like the drama and the bright color.
7/15/08 10:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

More Info