SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1052 (Issey Miyake)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1198 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/08 9:46 AM
Last Updated:7/15/08 9:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Thank you so much for the detail on how to do the corded edge. Your jacket looks wonderful. I like the drama and the bright color.
7/15/08 10:06 AM
PsychedOnSewing said...
I love everything about your jacket - the fresh color, the beautiful cording, the perfect drape. No one would ever believe you hadn't done a welt pocket before - it's downright inspiring! And thanks so much for the great detailed review/tips...
7/15/08 10:22 AM
CatMukai said...
Great photos! The jacket is lovely. Thanks!
7/15/08 10:39 AM
Mahler said...
You wrote an excellent review. You jacket is very nice. The collar finish is very well done. Bravo for this exquisite project.
7/15/08 10:40 AM
michellep74 said...
Amazing looking jacket! Congratulations on completing this beautiful piece!
7/15/08 10:54 AM
Kristen said...
Lovely....The corded edge really finishes it nicely. Was this cording a 1mm cord?
7/15/08 10:55 AM
maryfrana said...
Thank you so much for the detailed and thoughtful review. The photos of the cording make me believe I could do it! This jacket is perfect. Beautiful color, love the collar but it is really your cording, welting, etc. that make this so perfect. What a pro.
7/15/08 11:05 AM
carolynw said...
Well done - your jacket is beautiful - the corded edges on the collar add that extra something that makes it look really professional
7/15/08 1:32 PM
marthamyers said...
Fabulous jacket! Thanks for the detailed review and all the pictures. You've inspired me. I was wondering how this jacket would look and yours is just lovely.
7/15/08 3:30 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a beautiful jacket and great review. So much good information about the cording especially. I like that finish.
7/15/08 5:07 PM
BillieJean said...
This is absolutely gorgeous! I just love it.
7/15/08 7:19 PM
Natasha B said...
I have loved this jacket since the pattern was released and your version looks great. If only my skils were up to it!
7/15/08 7:37 PM
ITAdmin said...
Thanks to all for the kind comments. Kristen, I used No. 5 pearl cotton for the cording. In the projects I've done, I have used only that or regular DMC embroidery floss. Both work well; the pearl cotton is just a little tighter and easier to handle.
7/15/08 8:45 PM
lmg said...
Wow, great looking jacket. I love that corded edge. Thanks for all the great tips on that.
7/15/08 11:50 PM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! thanks for this excellent review!
7/16/08 3:14 AM
kellymailinglist said...
I can't imagine a more informative review or better photos--thanks so much!
7/16/08 7:12 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket; love the soft color. Your attention to detail is amazing and thanks so much for the detailed instructions re: the cording and application.
7/16/08 7:31 AM
Ronda Rae said...
What a great review. Thanks for the tutes.
7/16/08 8:35 AM
Marji said...
I love the drama of the collar, and the corded edge is a bit of inspired brilliance. Thanks for the great review and ideas.
7/16/08 9:11 AM
Rustybobn said...
Very nice! Thanks for all the details.
7/16/08 3:30 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
The cording on the edge makes your jacket superb! Great detail and execution. Fabulous results! Thanks for the detail photos... well done too.
9/6/08 7:32 AM
Rebecca D said...
I found this review tremendously helpful as I am about to make this jacket during an upcoming sewing retreat. Thanks for all the good direction on the cording. I may try that finish myself.
9/25/08 7:09 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great outfit! I love the colorway and the drape is prefection!
10/6/08 7:53 PM
katie lynne said...
I am flat out inspired. These garments are exquisite.
7/15/09 5:17 PM
Nancywin said...
I missed this reveiw the first time around. I love the cording you did on this and would like to try it.
7/20/09 11:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
Just saw your review because of the link you gave in the Fagotting technique review. What a beautiful technique with the cording. I must remember this!
7/22/09 5:36 AM
greytone said...
I have had this pattern cut out for a while and am happy I read your review. I believe your technique for finishing the collar is better than the one on the instruction sheet. I am prepared to try it, but need to ask what did you use as cording and where can I buy it? Thanx for sharing!
8/18/09 12:09 PM
ITAdmin said...
greytone, I like to use Size 5 Pearl Cotton. It seems to be a good weight and size. Most craft stores carry it; I've bought at both JoAnn's and Michael's. Look in the cross stitch/embroidery sections of the store. It comes in a few sizes so you can go thinner or thicker if you like.
8/19/09 6:35 AM
Monabel said...
Lovely! bravo on the corded edge!
11/22/09 11:47 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Wow, just a beautiful job and a perfect review. I'm actually tempted to sew this thing!
2/7/10 2:30 AM
marjenann said...
Terrific review!! I am going to attempt the corded edge!! Your top is stunning!!
9/3/10 5:30 PM
Gendun said...
Beautiful edge, and thanks for a really helpful review. Question, pls: Where does one buy this cord? I'm in a smaller city & the idea of trying to get a colour match over the internet makes my skin crawl! LOL Thanks!
3/13/13 10:22 PM
Gendun said...
Beautiful edge, and thanks for a really helpful review. Question, pls: Where does one buy this cord? I'm in a smaller city & the idea of trying to get a colour match over the internet makes my skin crawl! LOL Thanks!
3/13/13 10:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2473

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now