Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6805 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 633 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/08 6:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSusan said...
You reminded me that I had the same problem with the strap laying at a weird angle where they attached to the bodice. I forgot about that. That's an excellent recommendation to morph these two patterns as I agree that the skirt on this one is wonderful. Great looking dress despite your headaches!
7/11/08 8:39 PM
suesmith said...
Love the skirt on this with the border print!
7/11/08 9:29 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
It's really cute and yeah the skirt fits you very well. Thanks for all the good info!
7/11/08 11:31 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, all your tweaking certainly paid off, because you've got a great dress now with that FABULOUS use of the border print skirt! :o) Good idea, to morph it with the bodice from the other pattern. :o)
7/12/08 2:04 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm sorry, I was rather distracted by the pretty ring on your left hand. Once I stopped staring at that I was able to take in the loveliness that is your dress. I too love a border print and I'm glad you were able to make the bodice work for you in the end. The skirt is fabulous.
7/12/08 9:09 AM
Beek said...
Very lovely dress. It reminds me of those wonderfully flattering 50's dresses.
7/12/08 9:25 AM
Mahler said...
Great review and a beautiful dress that suits you wonderfully.
7/12/08 11:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Michelle, love this cool retro/modern edge look on you! I adore your version!
7/12/08 2:04 PM
EveS said...
Michelle, great review for a lovely dress. This was in the gallery when I was MIA for a spell so I missed it. :( Love the fabric and you sound like you've got the frankenpattern plans working for the next version...yay! BTW, can I steal your rating thoughts? That's exactly how I've felt about many a pattern but you we're so spot-on with this description. Thank you!!! :)
8/21/08 0:36 AM
Michelle L said...
Thanks for the great review, I love the fabric, and I am sorry you struggled so much with the bodice. The skirt looks fantastic, however. Perhaps you could make a hybrid with this awesome skirt and the bodice from the dress that worked much better for you?
8/30/08 9:23 PM
suziestewart said...
well i nearly bought the pattern but I will now go for the other one you mentioned. Thanks
12/5/08 7:04 PM
Norsecross said...
I am big on making 'wearable muslins' but maybe for this dress I will follow your advice and make a real muslin-muslin. I have a boarder patterned fabric that I expressly purchased this pattern for,so I will "make it work".
8/24/11 5:09 PM
MonaNicLeoid said...
Fantastic fabric choice, and thank you so much for your detailed review!
6/24/12 3:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 5556
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 2/12/10
Read Review

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8871 Misses Dress
photo
Review by marec on 9/17/13
Read Review

McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1700 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1700 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us