SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6805 (Misses Dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 645 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 110 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/08 6:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSusan said...
You reminded me that I had the same problem with the strap laying at a weird angle where they attached to the bodice. I forgot about that. That's an excellent recommendation to morph these two patterns as I agree that the skirt on this one is wonderful. Great looking dress despite your headaches!
7/11/08 8:39 PM
suesmith said...
Love the skirt on this with the border print!
7/11/08 9:29 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
It's really cute and yeah the skirt fits you very well. Thanks for all the good info!
7/11/08 11:31 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, all your tweaking certainly paid off, because you've got a great dress now with that FABULOUS use of the border print skirt! :o) Good idea, to morph it with the bodice from the other pattern. :o)
7/12/08 2:04 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm sorry, I was rather distracted by the pretty ring on your left hand. Once I stopped staring at that I was able to take in the loveliness that is your dress. I too love a border print and I'm glad you were able to make the bodice work for you in the end. The skirt is fabulous.
7/12/08 9:09 AM
Beek said...
Very lovely dress. It reminds me of those wonderfully flattering 50's dresses.
7/12/08 9:25 AM
Mahler said...
Great review and a beautiful dress that suits you wonderfully.
7/12/08 11:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Michelle, love this cool retro/modern edge look on you! I adore your version!
7/12/08 2:04 PM
EveS said...
Michelle, great review for a lovely dress. This was in the gallery when I was MIA for a spell so I missed it. :( Love the fabric and you sound like you've got the frankenpattern plans working for the next version...yay! BTW, can I steal your rating thoughts? That's exactly how I've felt about many a pattern but you we're so spot-on with this description. Thank you!!! :)
8/21/08 0:36 AM
Michelle L said...
Thanks for the great review, I love the fabric, and I am sorry you struggled so much with the bodice. The skirt looks fantastic, however. Perhaps you could make a hybrid with this awesome skirt and the bodice from the dress that worked much better for you?
8/30/08 9:23 PM
suziestewart said...
well i nearly bought the pattern but I will now go for the other one you mentioned. Thanks
12/5/08 7:04 PM
Norsecross said...
I am big on making 'wearable muslins' but maybe for this dress I will follow your advice and make a real muslin-muslin. I have a boarder patterned fabric that I expressly purchased this pattern for,so I will "make it work".
8/24/11 5:09 PM
MonaNicLeoid said...
Fantastic fabric choice, and thank you so much for your detailed review!
6/24/12 3:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review