SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6805 (Misses Dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 645 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/08 6:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSusan said...
You reminded me that I had the same problem with the strap laying at a weird angle where they attached to the bodice. I forgot about that. That's an excellent recommendation to morph these two patterns as I agree that the skirt on this one is wonderful. Great looking dress despite your headaches!
7/11/08 8:39 PM
suesmith said...
Love the skirt on this with the border print!
7/11/08 9:29 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
It's really cute and yeah the skirt fits you very well. Thanks for all the good info!
7/11/08 11:31 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, all your tweaking certainly paid off, because you've got a great dress now with that FABULOUS use of the border print skirt! :o) Good idea, to morph it with the bodice from the other pattern. :o)
7/12/08 2:04 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm sorry, I was rather distracted by the pretty ring on your left hand. Once I stopped staring at that I was able to take in the loveliness that is your dress. I too love a border print and I'm glad you were able to make the bodice work for you in the end. The skirt is fabulous.
7/12/08 9:09 AM
Beek said...
Very lovely dress. It reminds me of those wonderfully flattering 50's dresses.
7/12/08 9:25 AM
Mahler said...
Great review and a beautiful dress that suits you wonderfully.
7/12/08 11:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Michelle, love this cool retro/modern edge look on you! I adore your version!
7/12/08 2:04 PM
EveS said...
Michelle, great review for a lovely dress. This was in the gallery when I was MIA for a spell so I missed it. :( Love the fabric and you sound like you've got the frankenpattern plans working for the next version...yay! BTW, can I steal your rating thoughts? That's exactly how I've felt about many a pattern but you we're so spot-on with this description. Thank you!!! :)
8/21/08 0:36 AM
Michelle L said...
Thanks for the great review, I love the fabric, and I am sorry you struggled so much with the bodice. The skirt looks fantastic, however. Perhaps you could make a hybrid with this awesome skirt and the bodice from the dress that worked much better for you?
8/30/08 9:23 PM
suziestewart said...
well i nearly bought the pattern but I will now go for the other one you mentioned. Thanks
12/5/08 7:04 PM
Norsecross said...
I am big on making 'wearable muslins' but maybe for this dress I will follow your advice and make a real muslin-muslin. I have a boarder patterned fabric that I expressly purchased this pattern for,so I will "make it work".
8/24/11 5:09 PM
MonaNicLeoid said...
Fantastic fabric choice, and thank you so much for your detailed review!
6/24/12 3:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5402

photo
by: neon8tl

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Jalie 2918

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review

Pattern