SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8241 (Dress)

21 more reviews
Viewed 764 times 
Reviewed by:leanmeansewingmachine
Friend of PR

About leanmeansewingmachinestarstar
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews: 67 (patterns: 60)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/08 7:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Kaytdid said... (7/16/08 1:45 PM) Reply
Thanks for the "warnings!" I have some "stash" lightweight double knit with metallic thread design that I wanted to use for this dress, and will consider the waist casing, armhole and neckline alterations you suggested.
leanmeansewingmachine said... (7/12/08 5:58 PM) Reply
bananaoil, My thoughts were headed in that direction but everything I looked at reminded me of a bridesmaid ensemble! I do have a nice necklace to wear with it, it just didn't go with the black belt. I'll probably go ahead and make a tie/belt with the extra fabric. That may also help.
bananaoil said... (7/12/08 1:07 PM) Reply
Idea? Make this dress the back drop to a kimono or other topper in some beautiful fabric. Maybe a sheer that might not have another best use.
maryfrana said... (7/12/08 11:29 AM) Reply
I love the neck/shoulder line on this dress, and the "little love" is a sweet touch. This is a very nice design and I think it looks lovely on you.
cindyann said... (7/12/08 10:35 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I love this style of dress so I'm glad to have a heads up on this patterns problems.
Marji said... (7/12/08 10:07 AM) Reply
I had to LOL at your comment "it just didn't make me look like the picture on the envelope". I totally understand that sentiment. Sorry you didn't get the dress you wanted from it, but thanks for writing the review anyway.
Beek said... (7/12/08 9:24 AM) Reply
Your review reminds me of some of my sewing episodes. I had to laugh, but I do think your dress is lovely.
CA Eisenhour said... (7/12/08 1:32 AM) Reply
I think the dress looks lovely on you! Have you thought about a bright colored silk sash or scarf to wrap around the waist? Love the "Butterfly Effect" ~Connie
Annette1 said... (7/12/08 1:32 AM) Reply
Well, it IS a pretty dress, even if it didn't turn out exactly as you'd hoped. Those little tucks at the shoulders is a GREAT idea!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Pattern Details
Green Pepper F865

by: Mariposalu...