SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8241 (Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 738 times 
Reviewed by:leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About leanmeansewingmachinestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/08 7:05 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaytdid said...
Thanks for the "warnings!" I have some "stash" lightweight double knit with metallic thread design that I wanted to use for this dress, and will consider the waist casing, armhole and neckline alterations you suggested.
7/16/08 1:45 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
bananaoil, My thoughts were headed in that direction but everything I looked at reminded me of a bridesmaid ensemble! I do have a nice necklace to wear with it, it just didn't go with the black belt. I'll probably go ahead and make a tie/belt with the extra fabric. That may also help.
7/12/08 5:58 PM
bananaoil said...
Idea? Make this dress the back drop to a kimono or other topper in some beautiful fabric. Maybe a sheer that might not have another best use.
7/12/08 1:07 PM
maryfrana said...
I love the neck/shoulder line on this dress, and the "little love" is a sweet touch. This is a very nice design and I think it looks lovely on you.
7/12/08 11:29 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the review. I love this style of dress so I'm glad to have a heads up on this patterns problems.
7/12/08 10:35 AM
Marji said...
I had to LOL at your comment "it just didn't make me look like the picture on the envelope". I totally understand that sentiment. Sorry you didn't get the dress you wanted from it, but thanks for writing the review anyway.
7/12/08 10:07 AM
Beek said...
Your review reminds me of some of my sewing episodes. I had to laugh, but I do think your dress is lovely.
7/12/08 9:24 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
I think the dress looks lovely on you! Have you thought about a bright colored silk sash or scarf to wrap around the waist? Love the "Butterfly Effect" ~Connie
7/12/08 1:32 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, it IS a pretty dress, even if it didn't turn out exactly as you'd hoped. Those little tucks at the shoulders is a GREAT idea!
7/12/08 1:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-119

photo
by: Deepika

Review