Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8096 (Vogue Men shirts) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 272 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Beech FiveEight
photo
About Beech FiveEightstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/29/08
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/08 4:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Nice job. I really like the fabric you used. Thanks for the helpful review.
7/13/08 5:20 PM
Beek said...
Great looking shirt and pants. I always felt that mens' clothing is SO much more difficult and time consuming than womens' clothing. So my hat is off to you!
7/13/08 5:24 PM
Fictionfan said...
WOW! This is a great looking shirt! Beautiful job on the felled seams.
7/13/08 5:57 PM
Lynngray said...
Great job. I just got this pattern also. I'm hoping I will be able to do it. Thanks for the great review.
7/13/08 6:16 PM
Kay Y said...
IMO the collar & stand is one of the trickiest things to sew in the entire world and your results look very professional. Superb.
7/13/08 8:41 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fantastic work!!! You have done such a great job on that collar and on the felled seams. I am really impressed by your work. This is a seriously smart looking shirt!
7/13/08 9:02 PM
Annette1 said...
Man, you look like a million bucks in this outfit! Very classy. :o) Look how PEREFCTLY the lines on your pocket line up with the lines on the shirt. Is this trick photography? Ha! I do envy you being in Boston with (I would imagine) lots of wonderful fabrics from which to choose.
7/13/08 11:20 PM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a great shirt.
7/14/08 2:57 AM
Athene said...
Definitely very impressive results - I appreciate just how much time it takes to make a good looking mens shirt.
7/14/08 4:27 AM
Bernadette W said...
Beautiful work--you rock!
7/14/08 10:31 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - you did a great job.
7/14/08 10:48 AM
Kbenco said...
I have this pattern but am unbelievably chicken about making a shirt for my husband. I think mens' clothing looks really tricky to sew. You have done a fantastic job. Thank you for your very helpful review.
7/15/08 5:48 AM
Beech FiveEight said...
I want to thank you all for your kind comments. You all are really great. I have been thinking about what y'all are saying about men's wear being difficult to make. I think I feel the same way about making clothes for DW. You just have a horse-sense of what works and what doesn't. Not having this just puts you outside of your comfort zone. I think dresses are hard!!! So the one thing that gives me the comfort zone when I sew women's clothing is to measure meticulously. I keep a ruler (in metric!) at the sewing table, and another one at the ironing board-just like having a pair of clippers at each sewing machine. You don't want to have to go looking for something when you need it so often. Anyhoo, this was my crutch, might work for you. Mark Zieg
7/15/08 7:46 PM
EveS said...
Great shirt!! I'm one of the "odd" ones that likes to make men's shirts...lots of straight lines and cooperative fabric. A refreshing change from darts, gathers, zippers, sheers,........ Nice work and helpful review!
9/25/08 11:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
I love making men's shirts, have used this pattern and appreciate your review and photos. Nice to get a stitching man's view point. Your fabric photographs well. It is hard to find good men's shirtings but MichaelsFabrics.com gets some nice ones in (Zegna). Also Margaret Islander has a DVD you can rent now (!) on attaching the band to the collar and it is a technique I find very helpful. Hope to see more from you!
10/23/08 11:29 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...great sewing! I like the fabric and the detailing is excellent! It pays to let your little ones use that sewing machine. They grow up sewing!
12/1/08 8:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Sew Liberated growing up sew liberated cape
photo
Review by karrieperr... on 2/23/14
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 24644-1003 A-Line Skirt
photo
Review by cimmanon on 7/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us