Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1705 (Updated: Gathered dart tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 536 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/08 0:55 AM
Last Updated:7/16/08 9:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
This looks really nice; the pockets are so cute, and so is the neckline! You did a great job adjusting this pattern to fit you and ended up with a great tunic!
7/14/08 2:20 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Really cute tunic. Sorry you had problems with the fit but it is looking really good now and worth the extra work you had to put into it.
7/14/08 3:28 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a shame! But you made it work in the end. Very stylish!!
7/14/08 6:29 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, that's a lot of work! But the neckline and pockets look great! I'm amazed they didn't mark the front and back sleeve - that's one of the very few pattern markings I actually transfer onto my fabric (I find the Big 4 put waaaaaay too many marks everywhere). All good info since I'm eyeing up my first Marfy...
7/14/08 7:11 AM
Lori V said...
This is a such a cute and stylish top. You always do such a wonderful job on your garments.
7/14/08 7:23 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Too bad about the fitting difficulties. As always, though, you ended up with a terrific garment, even if it wasn't exactly what you had initially intended.
7/14/08 8:05 AM
Kristine Kay said...
I love the pockets! This current trend of "tent" dresses is really frustrating to sew and measure correctly, but I do love your tunic!
7/14/08 8:31 AM
marjenann said...
What a perfect summer garment. Everything comes together so well. The Marfy details, and your pocket addition make it a stand-out!!! -Annette
7/14/08 9:07 AM
Jane S said...
Great save on this summer top. Thanks for such a detailed review, as always, especially generous of you when the pattern was frustrating to work with this time.
7/14/08 9:30 AM
OP Gal said...
I'm sorry that the pattern didn't work out for you. I can only imagine how difficult it must have been to size this down without any smaller size markings to use as a guide. You did a wonderful job. I love the pockets and think they really added to the design.
7/14/08 9:44 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the heads-up! As always, a very thoughtful and thorough review.
7/14/08 10:56 AM
TrixieD said...
I love the colour and what you did with the style to tailor it. Fab pockets!
7/14/08 1:17 PM
LindsayT said...
I bet this is cute on you and perfect for a hot summer day. Love the pocket detail.
7/14/08 3:42 PM
petro said...
I love what you have finally ended up with, especially the pockets, (yes please more info) , but can't quite figure what you mean by cross over darts from the photo. Its a great top.
7/14/08 4:11 PM
Winifred said...
Very well done indeed - love the colour too. I would like info on the pockets please, either on here or e.mail. thanks
7/14/08 5:51 PM
jcortell said...
A well written journal on the pattern experience.
7/15/08 8:55 AM
Awi said...
it's been said so much already, but those pockets are fabulous!!
7/16/08 10:07 PM
Terri A said...
Very nice! I have always been curious about Marfy patterns.
7/16/08 11:44 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
That's too bad about the problems but your top turned out so lovely. In fact I think your top is so much cuter than the pattern pic.
7/17/08 0:29 AM
Re Becca said...
Thanks for showing the pattern piece, that really show how the front works. I really like the neckline treatment here. Thanks for sticking with this and giving us such an informative review.
7/17/08 11:01 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Well written and a good looking outcome. I thought it was a knit top pattern, so I was really startled to read that it's for wovens. What were Marfy thinking, cos they usually get it right.
10/1/08 7:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 8789
photo
Review by Cristinagf on 8/11/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1312 Misses Dress
photo
Review by Sewmuchcra... on 10/7/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8651 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8651 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5589 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5589 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us