SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1705 (Updated: Gathered dart tunic)

Viewed 541 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/08 0:55 AM
Last Updated:7/16/08 9:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KiwiWendy said...
Well written and a good looking outcome. I thought it was a knit top pattern, so I was really startled to read that it's for wovens. What were Marfy thinking, cos they usually get it right.
10/1/08 7:58 PM
Re Becca said...
Thanks for showing the pattern piece, that really show how the front works. I really like the neckline treatment here. Thanks for sticking with this and giving us such an informative review.
7/17/08 11:01 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
That's too bad about the problems but your top turned out so lovely. In fact I think your top is so much cuter than the pattern pic.
7/17/08 0:29 AM
Terri A said...
Very nice! I have always been curious about Marfy patterns.
7/16/08 11:44 PM
Awi said...
it's been said so much already, but those pockets are fabulous!!
7/16/08 10:07 PM
jcortell said...
A well written journal on the pattern experience.
7/15/08 8:55 AM
Winifred said...
Very well done indeed - love the colour too. I would like info on the pockets please, either on here or e.mail. thanks
7/14/08 5:51 PM
petro said...
I love what you have finally ended up with, especially the pockets, (yes please more info) , but can't quite figure what you mean by cross over darts from the photo. Its a great top.
7/14/08 4:11 PM
LindsayT said...
I bet this is cute on you and perfect for a hot summer day. Love the pocket detail.
7/14/08 3:42 PM
TrixieD said...
I love the colour and what you did with the style to tailor it. Fab pockets!
7/14/08 1:17 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the heads-up! As always, a very thoughtful and thorough review.
7/14/08 10:56 AM
OP Gal said...
I'm sorry that the pattern didn't work out for you. I can only imagine how difficult it must have been to size this down without any smaller size markings to use as a guide. You did a wonderful job. I love the pockets and think they really added to the design.
7/14/08 9:44 AM
Jane S said...
Great save on this summer top. Thanks for such a detailed review, as always, especially generous of you when the pattern was frustrating to work with this time.
7/14/08 9:30 AM
marjenann said...
What a perfect summer garment. Everything comes together so well. The Marfy details, and your pocket addition make it a stand-out!!! -Annette
7/14/08 9:07 AM
Kristine Kay said...
I love the pockets! This current trend of "tent" dresses is really frustrating to sew and measure correctly, but I do love your tunic!
7/14/08 8:31 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Too bad about the fitting difficulties. As always, though, you ended up with a terrific garment, even if it wasn't exactly what you had initially intended.
7/14/08 8:05 AM
Lori V said...
This is a such a cute and stylish top. You always do such a wonderful job on your garments.
7/14/08 7:23 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, that's a lot of work! But the neckline and pockets look great! I'm amazed they didn't mark the front and back sleeve - that's one of the very few pattern markings I actually transfer onto my fabric (I find the Big 4 put waaaaaay too many marks everywhere). All good info since I'm eyeing up my first Marfy...
7/14/08 7:11 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a shame! But you made it work in the end. Very stylish!!
7/14/08 6:29 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Really cute tunic. Sorry you had problems with the fit but it is looking really good now and worth the extra work you had to put into it.
7/14/08 3:28 AM
Twinset said...
This looks really nice; the pockets are so cute, and so is the neckline! You did a great job adjusting this pattern to fit you and ended up with a great tunic!
7/14/08 2:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

New Look 6515

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

More Info
Simplicity 9966

photo
by: queenlathe...

Review