SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-104 (Trousers)

2 more reviews
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 159 people
patterns reviewed: 181
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/08 0:33 AM
Last Updated:7/15/08 0:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
I too love the size of the waist band and I think you got a good fit in the back. I wish I could advise you on the front wrinkles but I'm not that knowledgable. These are really nice pants and I know with time you will perfect them to a TNT.
7/15/08 0:42 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
I think they look great and I'm always a fan of your reviews. Thanks for sharing!
7/15/08 0:48 AM
Lori V said...
Cute pants, you must have such a fantastic wardrobe. Are the wrinkles too much length? What if you pinch out some of the fabric at the CF and taper to nothing at side seams, does that help?
7/15/08 1:47 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous pants! They fit very nicely and I like the style. As for the crotch wrinkles, ah yes, know them well. :) They are VERY hard to get rid of in a stretch cotton woven when the pattern has a snug fit through the hips and thighs like this one. These sort of wrinkles are expected and are part of the style. Embrace them because the minute you sit down you will have fabric creases in the same place anyway. No point sweating the small stuff. :)
7/15/08 2:04 AM
Ingiepops said...
These look great, thanks for reviewing these, I was eyeing them off in my BWOF but wasn't sure about the ankle business either! They look fab with your Jalie top!
7/15/08 2:45 AM
SilviaS said...
very nice pants ..the fit is excellent!!
7/15/08 4:41 AM
mochalover said...
Love your pants and your question about the wrinkles caught my attention. I too have the same problem with rtw and I just made a burda pair that have the same look :)). Nice job on your pants.
7/15/08 6:09 AM
Natasha B said...
Your pants look great and the fit seems excellent. I really like the waistband detail - they are a nice change from always wearing low cut jeans! I also just love that Jalie top - that is a perfect fit.
7/15/08 6:10 AM
MissCelie said...
What Belinda said, :) Nice looking pants.
7/15/08 7:38 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great pants! I just made a pair on pants that have that same wrinkled area. I'm anxious to find out if it's fixable. Love your interpretation.
7/15/08 7:47 AM
Karen6790 said...
I wouldn't worry about these wrinkles, either. I don't think they're bad at all, especially considering the fabric. I love what you did with these - was considering ditching the zips and tackling these myself. Thanks for the gappy pocket warning.
7/15/08 8:10 AM
Gelbean said...
Your pants are so cute. I think they look great on you...perfect fit!
7/15/08 8:22 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic looking. I had passed by that picture in BWOF but your version makes me want to take a second look. Thanks for the review.
7/15/08 8:34 AM
CatMukai said...
I'm no expert on pants having made only one pair but I think you need to re-draw the front crotch curve so it is not so steep. I just saw a review on here that did this, I'll have to look around for it. But! The crotch wrinkles are barely noticeable on these pants, everything else about them is so great! I also love snaps and I think the ones you've chosen work perfectly here! I may just have to make these pants now...
7/15/08 10:44 AM
CatMukai said...
here's the link I was looking for: http://www.flickr.com/photos/54636325@N00/2664203889/
7/15/08 3:01 PM
Kay Y said...
Uh oh - CatMukai, that's my suggested fix. A caveat - I haven't tried it yet but plan to soon. Will report back. Until then, let's all join the great Burda pants front crotch wrinkle club! Seriously, your pants look great and I know from experience that you will very quickly forget all about the little wrinkle.
7/15/08 6:00 PM
msladyj said...
What great looking pants.
7/15/08 6:16 PM
Sew4Fun said...
FWIW, KayY's link is exactly how you minimise these wrinkles, by making the front crotch less scooped and adding ease across the front hip and thigh at the side seam. What you will find though is with some fabrics you will have no wrinkles but with other fabrics they will re-appear. The only way to totally eliminate the wrinkles is to add enough ease across the front hip and thigh changing the style of the pants. That's what I meant by the wrinkles are part of the style. It's hard to have a tight fit in any garment with no wrinkles at all. HTH
7/15/08 8:04 PM
Kay Y said...
The other thing is that since you have made the pants out of a stretch twill, it will "relax" (AKA stretch) during wear. The extra ease Belinda speaks of appears, and the wrinkles go away (and are replaced with wearing wrinkles!). I still think it's worth trying to get the front crotch curve right though.
7/15/08 8:56 PM
Dei said...
Who can even notice the wrinkles for looking at that perfect stomach of yours. I agree with the peanut gallery, ditch the concerns over the wrinkles. The fit is so outstanding elsewhere that you may create issues you didn't have before.
7/15/08 10:28 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Great job. Awesome review. my thought was less crotch DEPTH. but maybe that is the end result of all the "crotch curve" stuff people are talking about in the comments.
7/16/08 1:55 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for the details - your pants look great! Enjoy them.
7/16/08 8:40 PM
Big Dog said...
Athletic Butt Adjustment, lol, I love that term. Great looking pants, I have been thinking about trying these, minus the ankle zips too.
7/24/08 7:44 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
I really like my snap tool from Snap Source. And you can get snaps in any color, without needing a press.
8/7/08 12:12 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice pants. I am going to check out this pattern. I skipped right over it when I got my magazine. But yours really look good on you.
2/16/09 6:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now