SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-104 (Trousers)

2 more reviews
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 169 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/08 0:33 AM
Last Updated:7/15/08 0:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
Very nice pants. I am going to check out this pattern. I skipped right over it when I got my magazine. But yours really look good on you.
2/16/09 6:08 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
I really like my snap tool from Snap Source. And you can get snaps in any color, without needing a press.
8/7/08 12:12 PM
Big Dog said...
Athletic Butt Adjustment, lol, I love that term. Great looking pants, I have been thinking about trying these, minus the ankle zips too.
7/24/08 7:44 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for the details - your pants look great! Enjoy them.
7/16/08 8:40 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Great job. Awesome review. my thought was less crotch DEPTH. but maybe that is the end result of all the "crotch curve" stuff people are talking about in the comments.
7/16/08 1:55 AM
Dei said...
Who can even notice the wrinkles for looking at that perfect stomach of yours. I agree with the peanut gallery, ditch the concerns over the wrinkles. The fit is so outstanding elsewhere that you may create issues you didn't have before.
7/15/08 10:28 PM
Kay Y said...
The other thing is that since you have made the pants out of a stretch twill, it will "relax" (AKA stretch) during wear. The extra ease Belinda speaks of appears, and the wrinkles go away (and are replaced with wearing wrinkles!). I still think it's worth trying to get the front crotch curve right though.
7/15/08 8:56 PM
Sew4Fun said...
FWIW, KayY's link is exactly how you minimise these wrinkles, by making the front crotch less scooped and adding ease across the front hip and thigh at the side seam. What you will find though is with some fabrics you will have no wrinkles but with other fabrics they will re-appear. The only way to totally eliminate the wrinkles is to add enough ease across the front hip and thigh changing the style of the pants. That's what I meant by the wrinkles are part of the style. It's hard to have a tight fit in any garment with no wrinkles at all. HTH
7/15/08 8:04 PM
msladyj said...
What great looking pants.
7/15/08 6:16 PM
Kay Y said...
Uh oh - CatMukai, that's my suggested fix. A caveat - I haven't tried it yet but plan to soon. Will report back. Until then, let's all join the great Burda pants front crotch wrinkle club! Seriously, your pants look great and I know from experience that you will very quickly forget all about the little wrinkle.
7/15/08 6:00 PM
CatMukai said...
here's the link I was looking for: http://www.flickr.com/photos/54636325@N00/2664203889/
7/15/08 3:01 PM
CatMukai said...
I'm no expert on pants having made only one pair but I think you need to re-draw the front crotch curve so it is not so steep. I just saw a review on here that did this, I'll have to look around for it. But! The crotch wrinkles are barely noticeable on these pants, everything else about them is so great! I also love snaps and I think the ones you've chosen work perfectly here! I may just have to make these pants now...
7/15/08 10:44 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic looking. I had passed by that picture in BWOF but your version makes me want to take a second look. Thanks for the review.
7/15/08 8:34 AM
Gelbean said...
Your pants are so cute. I think they look great on you...perfect fit!
7/15/08 8:22 AM
Karen6790 said...
I wouldn't worry about these wrinkles, either. I don't think they're bad at all, especially considering the fabric. I love what you did with these - was considering ditching the zips and tackling these myself. Thanks for the gappy pocket warning.
7/15/08 8:10 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great pants! I just made a pair on pants that have that same wrinkled area. I'm anxious to find out if it's fixable. Love your interpretation.
7/15/08 7:47 AM
MissCelie said...
What Belinda said, :) Nice looking pants.
7/15/08 7:38 AM
Natasha B said...
Your pants look great and the fit seems excellent. I really like the waistband detail - they are a nice change from always wearing low cut jeans! I also just love that Jalie top - that is a perfect fit.
7/15/08 6:10 AM
mochalover said...
Love your pants and your question about the wrinkles caught my attention. I too have the same problem with rtw and I just made a burda pair that have the same look :)). Nice job on your pants.
7/15/08 6:09 AM
SilviaS said...
very nice pants ..the fit is excellent!!
7/15/08 4:41 AM
Ingiepops said...
These look great, thanks for reviewing these, I was eyeing them off in my BWOF but wasn't sure about the ankle business either! They look fab with your Jalie top!
7/15/08 2:45 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous pants! They fit very nicely and I like the style. As for the crotch wrinkles, ah yes, know them well. :) They are VERY hard to get rid of in a stretch cotton woven when the pattern has a snug fit through the hips and thighs like this one. These sort of wrinkles are expected and are part of the style. Embrace them because the minute you sit down you will have fabric creases in the same place anyway. No point sweating the small stuff. :)
7/15/08 2:04 AM
Lori V said...
Cute pants, you must have such a fantastic wardrobe. Are the wrinkles too much length? What if you pinch out some of the fabric at the CF and taper to nothing at side seams, does that help?
7/15/08 1:47 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
I think they look great and I'm always a fan of your reviews. Thanks for sharing!
7/15/08 0:48 AM
Athene said...
I too love the size of the waist band and I think you got a good fit in the back. I wish I could advise you on the front wrinkles but I'm not that knowledgable. These are really nice pants and I know with time you will perfect them to a TNT.
7/15/08 0:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6518

photo
by: sarblakesl

Review
HotPatterns 1071

photo
by: lbreton

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now