Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-104 (Trousers) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 523 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/08 0:33 AM
Last Updated:7/15/08 0:37 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
I too love the size of the waist band and I think you got a good fit in the back. I wish I could advise you on the front wrinkles but I'm not that knowledgable. These are really nice pants and I know with time you will perfect them to a TNT.
7/15/08 0:42 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
I think they look great and I'm always a fan of your reviews. Thanks for sharing!
7/15/08 0:48 AM
Lori V said...
Cute pants, you must have such a fantastic wardrobe. Are the wrinkles too much length? What if you pinch out some of the fabric at the CF and taper to nothing at side seams, does that help?
7/15/08 1:47 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous pants! They fit very nicely and I like the style. As for the crotch wrinkles, ah yes, know them well. :) They are VERY hard to get rid of in a stretch cotton woven when the pattern has a snug fit through the hips and thighs like this one. These sort of wrinkles are expected and are part of the style. Embrace them because the minute you sit down you will have fabric creases in the same place anyway. No point sweating the small stuff. :)
7/15/08 2:04 AM
Ingiepops said...
These look great, thanks for reviewing these, I was eyeing them off in my BWOF but wasn't sure about the ankle business either! They look fab with your Jalie top!
7/15/08 2:45 AM
SilviaS said...
very nice pants ..the fit is excellent!!
7/15/08 4:41 AM
mochalover said...
Love your pants and your question about the wrinkles caught my attention. I too have the same problem with rtw and I just made a burda pair that have the same look :)). Nice job on your pants.
7/15/08 6:09 AM
Natasha B said...
Your pants look great and the fit seems excellent. I really like the waistband detail - they are a nice change from always wearing low cut jeans! I also just love that Jalie top - that is a perfect fit.
7/15/08 6:10 AM
MissCelie said...
What Belinda said, :) Nice looking pants.
7/15/08 7:38 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great pants! I just made a pair on pants that have that same wrinkled area. I'm anxious to find out if it's fixable. Love your interpretation.
7/15/08 7:47 AM
Karen6790 said...
I wouldn't worry about these wrinkles, either. I don't think they're bad at all, especially considering the fabric. I love what you did with these - was considering ditching the zips and tackling these myself. Thanks for the gappy pocket warning.
7/15/08 8:10 AM
Gelbean said...
Your pants are so cute. I think they look great on you...perfect fit!
7/15/08 8:22 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic looking. I had passed by that picture in BWOF but your version makes me want to take a second look. Thanks for the review.
7/15/08 8:34 AM
CatMukai said...
I'm no expert on pants having made only one pair but I think you need to re-draw the front crotch curve so it is not so steep. I just saw a review on here that did this, I'll have to look around for it. But! The crotch wrinkles are barely noticeable on these pants, everything else about them is so great! I also love snaps and I think the ones you've chosen work perfectly here! I may just have to make these pants now...
7/15/08 10:44 AM
CatMukai said...
here's the link I was looking for: http://www.flickr.com/photos/54636325@N00/2664203889/
7/15/08 3:01 PM
Kay Y said...
Uh oh - CatMukai, that's my suggested fix. A caveat - I haven't tried it yet but plan to soon. Will report back. Until then, let's all join the great Burda pants front crotch wrinkle club! Seriously, your pants look great and I know from experience that you will very quickly forget all about the little wrinkle.
7/15/08 6:00 PM
msladyj said...
What great looking pants.
7/15/08 6:16 PM
Sew4Fun said...
FWIW, KayY's link is exactly how you minimise these wrinkles, by making the front crotch less scooped and adding ease across the front hip and thigh at the side seam. What you will find though is with some fabrics you will have no wrinkles but with other fabrics they will re-appear. The only way to totally eliminate the wrinkles is to add enough ease across the front hip and thigh changing the style of the pants. That's what I meant by the wrinkles are part of the style. It's hard to have a tight fit in any garment with no wrinkles at all. HTH
7/15/08 8:04 PM
Kay Y said...
The other thing is that since you have made the pants out of a stretch twill, it will "relax" (AKA stretch) during wear. The extra ease Belinda speaks of appears, and the wrinkles go away (and are replaced with wearing wrinkles!). I still think it's worth trying to get the front crotch curve right though.
7/15/08 8:56 PM
Dei said...
Who can even notice the wrinkles for looking at that perfect stomach of yours. I agree with the peanut gallery, ditch the concerns over the wrinkles. The fit is so outstanding elsewhere that you may create issues you didn't have before.
7/15/08 10:28 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Great job. Awesome review. my thought was less crotch DEPTH. but maybe that is the end result of all the "crotch curve" stuff people are talking about in the comments.
7/16/08 1:55 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for the details - your pants look great! Enjoy them.
7/16/08 8:40 PM
Big Dog said...
Athletic Butt Adjustment, lol, I love that term. Great looking pants, I have been thinking about trying these, minus the ankle zips too.
7/24/08 7:44 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
I really like my snap tool from Snap Source. And you can get snaps in any color, without needing a press.
8/7/08 12:12 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice pants. I am going to check out this pattern. I skipped right over it when I got my magazine. But yours really look good on you.
2/16/09 6:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 9505
photo
Review by dynacam on 7/6/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2004-121 Skirt
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 11/23/06
Read Review

Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us