SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2936 (Misses Blouses)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1868 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 358
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 258
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/08 1:04 PM
Last Updated:7/21/08 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Love the fabric - looking forward to your final review. Good luck.
7/15/08 6:16 PM
donna mel said...
oh, looks nice. can't wait to see it finished!
7/15/08 6:32 PM
sideseams said...
love the print of the fabric!
7/15/08 9:30 PM
Mahler said...
With your wonderful complection, this fabric will be a total hit, muslin or non muslin. ;-) I am looking forward to see the eyelet and this fabric on you.
7/15/08 9:51 PM
MissCelie said...
this fabric is bee-yoo-ti-ful. Now wondering why I didn't buy some...
7/16/08 3:35 PM
Larkin said...
Ahh... The LA trip was wonderful - thanks for this post that brings back such great memories. This looks like a beautiful blouse for you. Anxious to see the final product!
7/17/08 3:27 PM
CShelley said...
Cute, cute, cute! What a gorgeous fabric! I wish there was a store like that around here.
7/21/08 1:13 PM
Karen6790 said...
I want that fabric! Great top, you look adorable. I passed right by this pattern before but now it's just made it to the wish list. Did I mention I love the fabric?
7/21/08 1:58 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very cute summery top. Good job!
7/21/08 1:58 PM
Re Becca said...
i think it is really cute, I dont' think that the neckline is too low! This is really cute, the pattern photo doesn't do this justice.
7/21/08 2:41 PM
MissCelie said...
Oh, how gorgeous. I have no help for the back wrinkles, but it's really a wonderful top!
7/21/08 3:25 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is really cute!
7/21/08 3:34 PM
shesflipped said...
This is stunning! Such a beautiful top that looks wonderful on you!
7/21/08 3:40 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your pattern placement makes this one special blouse. Great Job, Deepika!
7/21/08 4:33 PM
Markie1 said...
Deepika- I KNEW I recognized that fabric! this is more than a wearable muslin, it looks gorgeous on you. I am going to try your no-bulk elastic trick next time. Thanks Deepika!
7/21/08 5:11 PM
CynthiaSue said...
what a tasteful, fun print. I love it! looks adorable.
7/21/08 5:40 PM
OP Gal said...
I love that fabric. No wonder you snapped it up when you were in L.A. I really have no idea why you're getting the wrinkles in the back other than it being too tight, but you hadn't mentioned that. I'm sure someone with more knowledge that me will have some advice. Great review with lots of details.
7/21/08 6:10 PM
donna mel said...
oh, it came out great! i love it. if you can figure out how to keep low tops from exposing the bra (etc) when you bend forward... please let me know! i love an open neck, but always feel like i am constantly giving a (fairly unexciting) show.
7/21/08 6:13 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Fabulous blouse! Very expert design placement & matching!!! As for the back wrinkles...are these folds? If so, there is too much fabric length between your underarms and high hip...if these are stress wrinkles, you need more width across the back between underarms and high hip. The neckline looks perfect too...not too low at all. To prevent exposing "the girls" when bending over, you might consider fitting the blouse closer to your body across the front chest. This may or may not work for you, depending on how much ease you prefer. Also, this probably will not work in a pullover style without a front opening. Hope this helps! Love your blouse!!!
7/21/08 6:39 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a beautiful summer blouse and thank you so much for reviewing. I just bought this pattern, as I am getting tired of t-shirts...Love the fabric. I've always read that horizontal wrinkles mean it's too tight. Since the front is perfect maybe you could just add slightly to the back width. As you said, though, hardly noticeable and I'm sure you'll get lots of wear and compliments.
7/21/08 7:52 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oo, I love the fabric you used! I hardly recognized this pattern, even though I've sewn it twice! Mine gape a little when I bend over too - I figure that's just the way it's going to be because I don't really want them any tighter in that area. Lovely!
7/21/08 8:00 PM
BeckyMc said...
I love the way you used the fabric design in this blouse! As to the wrinkles.....does the back feel tight? you might need more room across the back,and could add some ease at the center back and/or side seams. If it does not feel tight then I feel pretty sure that the length from shoulder to hip is too long for your body, and you should pinch out some of the length from the pattern. Honestly, from your photo it doesn't look too tight, so i would lean towards the length issue.
7/21/08 8:06 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Adorable!
7/21/08 9:18 PM
cindy-lou said...
Soooooooo pretty! I'm not a 'wrinkle whisperer' like Debbie Cook, so can't help you there... but can say that wrinkles or no, you should wear it lots! It looks just beautiful and the color is GREAT for you.
7/21/08 9:38 PM
sideseams said...
I love the print of this fabric. It looks wonderful on you. Great job!
7/21/08 10:06 PM
Deepika said...
Actually they are folds. So I guess that means that there is too much length? How do I go about fixing that? What is this type of alteration called? I can look it up in FFRP.
7/21/08 10:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very charming top! Deepika, you look out-a-sight!
7/21/08 11:49 PM
Athene said...
This is such a pretty blouse on you Deepika - you did such a lovely job of matching the fabric print on the front.
7/22/08 1:10 AM
jbrewer said...
The folds need a sway back adjustment to be eliminated. You can't do it after the blouse is cut out. It needs to be done on the pattern tissue. Great instructions are in FFRP. Basically, you take a horizontal dart at the lower waist of CB. The dart tapers to nothing at the side seam. Good luck!
7/22/08 6:41 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
The back photo indicates that you may need to shorten above the waist as well as at the waistline (swayback adj). If you have someone that can pin out the excess fabric exactly where it's needed, you can transfer the alteration(s) to the paper pattern. If you're on your own (like most of us!), you can do this yourself, only it takes a bit more time.
7/22/08 8:12 AM
jcortell said...
This looks so good. The fabric really enhances the top. Excellent.
7/22/08 8:33 AM
Terri Smith said...
Excellent fabric placement and usage. Love the sleeves too.
7/22/08 1:24 PM
Karen8320 said...
Deepika, this is a really cute pattern that suits you nicely. I love your fabric design placement - very smartly done! It gives your top a very stylish look. The neckline certainly doesn't look too low. In fact, it looks just right. However, I understand about the gaping issue when you bend over. I tend to make bodices a bit higher and closer fitting to avoid that, which somewhat defeats the purpose of the design. Otherwise, I leave the pattern as is, if it fits well and looks good, and hold onto my top every time I bend over. Not ideal, but it works OK.
7/22/08 11:13 PM
Deepika said...
Karen, I've started liking the open necklines. It does make me look slimmer and taller ( I could use every bit of that). So I've learned to hold the top close when I bend. Do you think the eyelet version will look boring if I eliminate the center front seam? I mean if I can fit it over my head why not?
7/23/08 1:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty blouse. Lovely fabric.
7/23/08 5:24 AM
RLL said...
Love the fabric and the placement. Looks great! As for the scoop neck and peep show when you bend over - IT STAYS body adhesive was recommended by Cynthia Guffy in a class I was in. She said it works. I have not tried it yet - so can't really recommend it myself. You can get it from Clotilde, about $9 for a bottle.
7/24/08 5:04 PM
Mufffet said...
Very pretty and cool and summery looking!
7/31/08 4:39 PM
chucklehead said...
This is wonderful! You look so lovely.
7/4/09 7:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2010-104

photo
by: Merche

Review
Burda 7285

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now