Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6349 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 883 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Christine B
photo
Friend of PR
About Christine Bstar
ME USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/08 8:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RobinMCPA said...
My measurements indicate a 14, but I've found that 12s fit me a lot better for most things. I always compare the finished measurements of the pattern to stuff I already own that fits me well in order to make the call, but sometimes I've found that the finished measurements given by New Look are pre-darts/gathers. Not sure if that's the case with all patterns, but I've seen it a couple of times on theirs and it's caused me to make the wrong size, thinking that the 14 had too much ease when really it would have been fine after the darts/gathers/pleats.
7/16/08 10:13 AM
mClones said...
I am surprised that you are lowering the bustpoint. I would have thought they should be raised by 3/4"-1" and even reduce the slant somewhat. You've got a nice fit on the back. Are you able to pin that yourself or is someone helping you? I've just finished a couple of patternmaking classes and I'm all about fit--but I haven't been able to achieve my own good fit with what I've learned yet!
7/18/08 10:22 PM
Christine B said...
mClones - I did pin it all myself, and no, it's not always easy. :) And I think you may be right about the bust point - the bra I am wearing in the photos hoists my boobies up more than any other, but even if I were wearing a different one, it does look a bit too low, doesn't it? The angle of the dart matches that of the original pattern, but there's no reason I can't make it more horizontal. (Other than it means another go round...)

I really do wish I had taken pictures of the first try, the second is like a whole different garment. BUT...I need to focus on the end result, not the amount of improvement -- and at this point, it's a pretty minimal amount of tweaking, so I should just suck it up and do it. Thanks for making me take another look. :-)
7/18/08 11:22 PM

Christine B said...
duplicate comment deleted
7/19/08 7:19 AM
Athene said...
I'm happy you posted this WIP. I learn a lot from viewing the photos and accompanying comments. Thank you.
7/19/08 3:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 09-2004-404
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 2/1/08
Read Review

Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8046 Dress
photo
Review by Carolyn.S on 7/27/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us