Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Saf-T-Pockets: 9600 (Journey Jacket) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1424 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:SJ Kurtz
photo
Friend of PR
About SJ Kurtzstar
WA USA
Member since: 6/6/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/03 5:47 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
You're so right about the fit of the pattern; I don't think this line is about flattering fit -- it's about hauling stuff, which means it's gotta have a somewhat looser fit. Do you suppose a drapier fabric would work if you underlined the body and not the sleeves?
7/23/03 11:06 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the review. I have some items from Travel Smith that I like, so this pattern line is intriguing.
7/23/03 12:19 PM
Irene said...
This fabric advice is so helpful! This seems like a good opportunity to use yardage that coordinates nicely but isn't big enough for a complete garment. I'll be alert for the need to grade down, without deleting ease for stuff in those pockets.
7/23/03 5:01 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Thanks for the review. I have some Saf-T-Pockets patterns (not this one, though) and need to get one sewn up. I had wondered about fabric choice. Thanks for your tips. Your review is very helpful.
7/24/03 6:31 AM
Terry McCormick said...
I've had this pattern for so long I can't remember when I bought it - at least 5 years, perhaps more. I have never made it up - although I think about it a lot - saw it made as wearable art in a quilt shop a few years ago and it was stunning. The fabric advice in this review will make a huge difference - I do want to make it and this will mean I don't make a mistake and end up not liking the garment. Thanks!
7/27/03 3:05 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
Lisa, yes! If you sewed a stiff enough underlining to the body fabric (not to the lining with the pockets), it could probably work.
11/24/03 2:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8605
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 2/1/11
Read Review

McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4385
photo
Review by Christas on 4/13/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)
Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us