SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8386 (Knit Dress w/Mock Wrap Bodice)

22 more reviews
Viewed 1433 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/17/08 2:13 PM
Last Updated:7/30/08 9:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane333 said...
the dress looks great
12/31/08 9:42 PM
cnp71203 said...
I love your version of this dress! It is really wonderful. I am going to keep it in mind for when I finally get around to making this dress.
9/28/08 4:54 PM
Athene said...
Love your version - you look lovely - I can understand why you feel like a Greek Godess in it - very nice to see all the great pictures.
7/31/08 6:13 PM
Big Dog said...
Wow, love it! The knotted straps look great, what a clever idea. You do look like a goddess in that dress.
7/31/08 9:21 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Fabulous!! I liked reading about the changes you made to it. It's such a good feeling when you finally tweak a pattern to make it fit just right - my contest entry also is one I had to play with a bit to get right. This dress looks GREAT on you and now I need to put this pattern back on my to-sew list after seeing yours. I want one!
7/31/08 7:57 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Fantastic new version, Trena! You look fabulous. White is a great colour on you, BTW!
7/31/08 3:52 AM
DorothyK said...
Great little dress. You look fantastic in it.
7/30/08 11:11 PM
Natasha B said...
The white version is even better!
7/30/08 10:34 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute dress!
7/30/08 10:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab dress! I love the twisted straps.
7/30/08 7:22 PM
Sic said...
WOW! You look like a goddess - thanks for the review! Also, love the straps!
7/30/08 5:29 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Loooove the white version. Hot!
7/30/08 2:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Trina, you've done a fantastic job on that dress. It's so beautiful on on you. Aren't you ready to move up a skill level yet?
7/30/08 2:01 PM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, this is what should be on the pattern envelope. I love all the extra work you put into it - when you get inspired, you really go to it. Absolutely gorgeous.
7/30/08 1:18 PM
maryfrana said...
If I were a lot younger and thinner and more adventurous I would be making this dress right now. Love the straps, love it in white. Fabulous.
7/30/08 11:54 AM
Marji said...
Fabulously CUTE! Love what you did with the straps, and the little cartridge pleats at the bodice are pure inspiration to reduce the bulk there.
7/30/08 11:52 AM
Puppy said...
I really didn't read the whole review because I'm past the stage where I can wear such things, BUT, IF I were younger and less fleshy, I would WANT THAT DRESS. It has that great combination of simplicity and great lines. I just love it. You gotta be proud of this little number!
7/30/08 11:04 AM
crisford said...
The white one looks so cute and comfy. White always seems to last through the trends, too. Great job on your fitting!
7/30/08 10:54 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful white dress - it fits perfectly and you look fabulous in it!
7/30/08 10:20 AM
born2bead said...
Great detailed review and I love your version with the twisted straps. Really does something for it since the design is simple and clean. Nice job!
7/30/08 10:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Doubly dashing, NiceGirl! Also, cool review!
7/19/08 1:21 PM
cindyann said...
So glad you reviewed this. It's one of those patterns I have in my stash but haven't used. Actually love both versions.
7/18/08 9:23 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Super helfpful review, Trena. Even the green one looks adorable, no matter how horrid the fabric may be IRL. I like how you paired it with dark blue. I think both versions look super cute!
7/18/08 3:31 AM
Natasha B said...
I think the grey version as a junper is really cute. This pattern is still looking good.
7/17/08 9:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well, luckily the gray one looks pretty darn cute as a jumper.The altered pattern has a lot of potential for you -- I'm looking forward to seeing the newest one.
7/17/08 8:56 PM
Gelbean said...
Your dresses are very cute. I'm looking forward to seeing the dress you make with the *right* fabric. As for these two, I think they are both cute and you should wear them proudly.
7/17/08 7:53 PM
Karen6790 said...
I really like the gray jumper version - it's the perfect combination of something you can wear with lots of colors but that somehow isn't boring. I like the gathers. And I want your red shoes.
7/17/08 4:50 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Really cute dresses! Yeah I'm not feelin' that green fabric either.
7/17/08 3:43 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Your use of pictures to further explain your commentary on the pattern was pretty wonderful :) Especially a nice job with the necklines. Disappointing fabric is a big time downer. Your pix look nice of the green material but the color DOES look a bit electric.
7/17/08 2:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Wild Ginger child\'s play: gored skirt

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
No Pattern Used knickers

photo
by: hnordquist

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

More Info