Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8386 (Knit Dress w/Mock Wrap Bodice) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1431 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/17/08 2:13 PM
Last Updated:7/30/08 9:51 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
Your use of pictures to further explain your commentary on the pattern was pretty wonderful :) Especially a nice job with the necklines. Disappointing fabric is a big time downer. Your pix look nice of the green material but the color DOES look a bit electric.
7/17/08 2:41 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Really cute dresses! Yeah I'm not feelin' that green fabric either.
7/17/08 3:43 PM
Karen6790 said...
I really like the gray jumper version - it's the perfect combination of something you can wear with lots of colors but that somehow isn't boring. I like the gathers. And I want your red shoes.
7/17/08 4:50 PM
Gelbean said...
Your dresses are very cute. I'm looking forward to seeing the dress you make with the *right* fabric. As for these two, I think they are both cute and you should wear them proudly.
7/17/08 7:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well, luckily the gray one looks pretty darn cute as a jumper.The altered pattern has a lot of potential for you -- I'm looking forward to seeing the newest one.
7/17/08 8:56 PM
Natasha B said...
I think the grey version as a junper is really cute. This pattern is still looking good.
7/17/08 9:35 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Super helfpful review, Trena. Even the green one looks adorable, no matter how horrid the fabric may be IRL. I like how you paired it with dark blue. I think both versions look super cute!
7/18/08 3:31 AM
cindyann said...
So glad you reviewed this. It's one of those patterns I have in my stash but haven't used. Actually love both versions.
7/18/08 9:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Doubly dashing, NiceGirl! Also, cool review!
7/19/08 1:21 PM
born2bead said...
Great detailed review and I love your version with the twisted straps. Really does something for it since the design is simple and clean. Nice job!
7/30/08 10:06 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful white dress - it fits perfectly and you look fabulous in it!
7/30/08 10:20 AM
crisford said...
The white one looks so cute and comfy. White always seems to last through the trends, too. Great job on your fitting!
7/30/08 10:54 AM
Puppy said...
I really didn't read the whole review because I'm past the stage where I can wear such things, BUT, IF I were younger and less fleshy, I would WANT THAT DRESS. It has that great combination of simplicity and great lines. I just love it. You gotta be proud of this little number!
7/30/08 11:04 AM
Marji said...
Fabulously CUTE! Love what you did with the straps, and the little cartridge pleats at the bodice are pure inspiration to reduce the bulk there.
7/30/08 11:52 AM
maryfrana said...
If I were a lot younger and thinner and more adventurous I would be making this dress right now. Love the straps, love it in white. Fabulous.
7/30/08 11:54 AM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, this is what should be on the pattern envelope. I love all the extra work you put into it - when you get inspired, you really go to it. Absolutely gorgeous.
7/30/08 1:18 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Trina, you've done a fantastic job on that dress. It's so beautiful on on you. Aren't you ready to move up a skill level yet?
7/30/08 2:01 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Loooove the white version. Hot!
7/30/08 2:36 PM
Sic said...
WOW! You look like a goddess - thanks for the review! Also, love the straps!
7/30/08 5:29 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab dress! I love the twisted straps.
7/30/08 7:22 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute dress!
7/30/08 10:13 PM
Natasha B said...
The white version is even better!
7/30/08 10:34 PM
DorothyK said...
Great little dress. You look fantastic in it.
7/30/08 11:11 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Fantastic new version, Trena! You look fabulous. White is a great colour on you, BTW!
7/31/08 3:52 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Fabulous!! I liked reading about the changes you made to it. It's such a good feeling when you finally tweak a pattern to make it fit just right - my contest entry also is one I had to play with a bit to get right. This dress looks GREAT on you and now I need to put this pattern back on my to-sew list after seeing yours. I want one!
7/31/08 7:57 AM
Big Dog said...
Wow, love it! The knotted straps look great, what a clever idea. You do look like a goddess in that dress.
7/31/08 9:21 AM
Athene said...
Love your version - you look lovely - I can understand why you feel like a Greek Godess in it - very nice to see all the great pictures.
7/31/08 6:13 PM
cnp71203 said...
I love your version of this dress! It is really wonderful. I am going to keep it in mind for when I finally get around to making this dress.
9/28/08 4:54 PM
Diane333 said...
the dress looks great
12/31/08 9:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Kwik Sew 2956
photo
Review by Zoomitron on 1/22/12
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-103
photo
Review by Nata on 10/1/09
Read Review

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1548 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 1548 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us