Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2008-123 (Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 723 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Robin Denning
photo
Friend of PR
About Robin Denningstar
MD USA
Member since: 6/24/04
Reviews written: 70
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/08 8:51 PM
Last Updated:7/22/08 2:28 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ellenatlga said...
I really like it! I think it looks great on you.
7/21/08 8:09 AM
Speech girl said...
I think your top looks great on you. I think because it is sheer this top works for you, even if it wouldn't be the right pattern in an opaque fabric. And silk chiffon is just heavenly to wear . . .
7/21/08 9:21 AM
marec said...
I love this...the fabric is beautiful and I like the kimono sleeves. It's pretty on you too! If you really do not like it on, how about a similar tunic but with a center seam in front with one closure? Then it would be even more airy and flow-y. That would be great over a simple dress.
7/22/08 3:19 PM
tweedcurtain said...
I think it looks divine with the black slacks and cami. I really like the addition of the elastic at the back, too. It looks completely different from the photo in the mag - the BWOF version was sort of frowsy, but yours is tres chic!
7/22/08 3:53 PM
Sigrid. said...
The combination of this sheer fabric and black is wonderful. It looks like very comfortable for a hot day, and still be very stylish.
7/22/08 5:54 PM
Athene said...
This is a gorgeous top on you. I love the sheer chiffon.
7/22/08 7:11 PM
Karen6790 said...
I definitely think the sheer fabric works with this top. Go make yourself that slinky tank so this pretty top doesn't end up in the back of your closet - it's too nice to be an orphan.
7/22/08 9:47 PM
Karen8320 said...
Robyn, so sorry to hear that you're not that crazy about this top because I think it looks really beautiful and, in your photo, it looks good on you. Silk chiffon is so luscious and this print really is lovely. Sheer fabrics are always a joy to wear. You've done so much work on this top, it would be a shame not to wear it a lot. Now is the time to make that slinky tank dress which will look fabulous with this!
7/22/08 10:21 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I think you have made a fabulous top to wear when it is hot....It's perfect for summer and your fabric couldn't be any more delicious!!
7/23/08 11:01 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
I've been waiting for the right fabric myself for this one. But I wouldn't count this out as a wearable piece. I think it looks amazing on you.
8/7/08 1:00 PM
Aless said...
Robin,the very first word than came to mind when I checked your photo was-beautiful! I would be so happy if I could get a look like that myself.
11/18/08 7:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 8991
photo
Review by Casual Kat... on 9/12/11
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8549
photo
Review by racehorse on 1/6/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6274 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6274 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6990 Pattern
Burda 6990 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us