SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8454 (Wearable Art)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1165 times 
Reviewed by:Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydneystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/08 3:38 AM
Last Updated:7/21/08 7:35 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
Oh this just can't be a wadder!!! It is so beautiful. Can't you take up the darts some more or something to make this fit the way you'd like? I love it.
7/21/08 6:54 AM
scrappycat said...
What a shame! It's really, really beautiful.
7/21/08 7:20 AM
kellymailinglist said...
What?!! A wadder?!! No way! Noooooo! It is SO cute on you! I know you were expected something more fitted because of the darts, but this is art-to-wear, which is almost always more about the details than the fit. Even so, it looks like it fits you very well. PLEASE don't toss it yet. Give it a chance, and think of it as more of a topper, something you'd put on over, say, a black tank dress. You've put in so much care, the details are so good, and the color is fabulous for you. Take up the sleeves a bit, and you might feel better about it.
7/21/08 7:32 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I totally agree with kellymailinglist and think your efforts have been rewarded with a great looking jacket, top what ever. Take a second look. I believe it looks great on you.
7/21/08 8:12 AM
Tere Sews said...
It actually looks quite good on you. The other suggestion I would make is a button closer to the color of the silk. Because of its light color, your eyes go right to the button and not to your face. Even if you don't wear it now, keep it for another season. The looser fit is coming back evidenced by the fall coats they are showing.
7/21/08 8:31 AM
TrixieD said...
I love the look and wish my wadders came out as well. You've made me take another look at that pattern, with the interesting collar, and I do love the material you chose. I hope you come to like it.
7/21/08 8:59 AM
carolynw said...
Oh Helen I really don't think it should be a wadder - hang it out of sight for a while and I bet when you re-visit you will feel better about it. Right now I think you have too many issues with it to feel happy - give it time!!
7/21/08 9:18 AM
willowsmum said...
Please don't burst my bubble......I have loved this pattern for ages but have never gotten round to buying it. I also think it suits you, I don't know why you don't like it. I think it is rather lovely for evening wear with black tailored trousers and maybe a black camisole. I think if you treat it more like a jacket it will be an invaluable piece in your wardrobe.
7/21/08 10:01 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sorry you don't like this - I think it's quite lovely. Perhaps with a nice skirt or pants, some lovely jewelry and a beautiful blouse underneath it - you might change your mind.
7/21/08 10:10 AM
mastdenman said...
I agree. It looks great on you. You should give it a rest in the back of the closet.
7/21/08 10:16 AM
Nancywin said...
I'm sorry youre not happy with the finished jacket. I usually shy away from "wearable art", but this has enough of the avantgarde without screaming "look at my latest craft project!"
7/21/08 10:46 AM
davin said...
It looks nice enough in your photo! I'd give it a nicer, more suitable button, though. My mother always said just stand up straight & smile, and you'd be surprised how well things look.
7/21/08 11:38 AM
Plantwizard said...
I think it looks nice on you too but if you don't like it ie it gives you that awful, oversized "fat" feel then yeah it's a wadder for you. The neckline is fabulous though. Any chance you could cannabalize it and grafte it onto another more fitted pattern? I've looked at the this pattern too and like it but your review is a bit of a cautionary tale for me. Oversized stuff looks awful on me, too.
7/21/08 12:17 PM
marec said...
I have to agree with everyone else, don't toss it. It's a great design, and you look truly good in it. The design, and the color complement you perfectly. Also, as a beginning sewist, I bow to you! The details are amazing.
7/21/08 12:22 PM
Birgitte said...
Those details are divine, and the color and texture... and you look exquisite in it. Just love it. But you are wearing it, so all I can do is trust your judgement. Thanks for the thorough review, I might just come back here and 'borrow' some of the details and use it on another pattern ;-)
7/21/08 1:17 PM
Elona said...
The jacket looks terrific on you, really it does! Maybe it doesn't look like what you usually wear and thus seems strange, but I, like many here, think it would be marvelous over a black top and black pants. But I also agree that the top needs a different button, perhaps a self-covered one or one with a light, jewel-like quality.
7/21/08 1:46 PM
Annette1 said...
You know what? I actually think this looks quite elegant and nice on you, and I'm NOT a fan of oversized stuff (or wearable art). :o) I really DO like it, though. Don't throw it out yet! Hang it in your closet for a while and see how you feel about it. You've done such a wonderful job, and all the extra time taken with the collar (which looks marvelous), I hate to see it go to waste. I've tried a couple of the Marci Tilton patterns and have just about decided they're not for me either. I always LOVE them on the pattern envelope but from my experience, they turn out MUCH larger than as depicted on the envelope. I guess I should quit trusting the pattern envelopes -- ha! I know there's a certain amount of design ease added, and I don't like getting rid of design ease, but it seems to be over the top in the ones I've tried. Like you said, maybe the solution is to go down TWO sizes, not just one. I love your jacket! :o)
7/21/08 2:04 PM
moushka said...
I'm thrilled to see this review as I love this pattern. The jacket is beautiful on you, Helen. Please do not chuck it, it's very elegant and your workmanship is excellent. As everyone has said, at least put it away for a while and give it another chance in a couple of months. Our eyes get accustomed to a certain look and anything else looks 'off'. It took me ages to get used to the short, fitted jackets; now it's the longer, looser ones that look new again. Thanks for a wonderful review. Sue
7/21/08 3:01 PM
cecelia said...
I agree with everyone else--oh please do not throw this out because it really looks so nice on you.
7/21/08 3:05 PM
Markie1 said...
I was SHOCKED at the end of this review to see that you considered it a wadder! To be honest, i never "got" this pattern in the picture, but seeing it on you I have completely changed my mind. Obviously people are very passionate about you keeping this. Add me to the list!!
7/21/08 5:27 PM
Winifred said...
Oh yes - keep it. This a lovely attractive jacket on you. Do the covered button you thought about? I think its just because you had a bad time with it - it is so nice. I have this pattern and have just bought silk dupion. Your review will be a great help!
7/21/08 5:38 PM
Winifred said...
Oh yes - keep it. This a lovely attractive jacket on you. Do the covered button you thought about? I think its just because you had a bad time with it - it is so nice. I have this pattern and have just bought silk dupion. Your review will be a great help!
7/21/08 5:39 PM
OP Gal said...
I think it's absolutely beautiful. PLEASE don't relegate it to the back of your closet! Put it away for a while and see if you don't feel differently after a few weeks. It looks like a high-end jacket for which you'd pay big bucks.
7/21/08 6:17 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review and the tip about sewing the tucks. I agree with everyone - its a very beautiful jacket, and I hope that if you look at it after putting it away for a bit, that you will decide you like it.
7/21/08 9:27 PM
Membear said...
I actually had the same problem with another Marcy Tilton Jacket which I made in extra large and ended up with a javcket I could have fitted 2 of me in and that is no joke !!!! I also wasted about 150.00 dollars worth of fabric . This has encouraged me to make up a toile most of the time . I really like the jacket you made maybe its a case of adjusting it to fit and using this as a trial run??? It is a real shame though.
7/21/08 9:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
How about even turning the front waist (vertical) darts into tucks that to right up to the shoulders. You could bring the shoulders and sleeves up that way and take out some excess. And the tucks would be in keeping with the style. Shame to just chuck it. Lovely work.
7/21/08 11:24 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I think HongKongShopper may have something there! Not only that, such a design feature would go nicely with the collar. :o)
7/22/08 1:43 AM
Rustybobn said...
I love it, too, and agree that it looks great on you. Some time in Belinda's Magic Wardrobe might improve your feelings about it. Like davin, I "noticed" the button, so perhaps it might help to change that. OTOH, if you simply *must* toss it, toss it over here--I'm sure someone will stick up their hand and catch it! LOL!
7/22/08 8:02 AM
Sew4Fun said...
This is certainly a nice wadder. Silk too! Such a shame that you don't like it. As RustyBobn said, try the magic wardrobe first before tossing/donating it. You never know.
7/22/08 8:20 AM
Mother of the Bride said...
Oh, thank you sooo much for your review. I, too planned to make this in some Dupioni silk I just bought. I hadn't intended to do the exterior darts--they seemed like they would add bulk to my XLG size. I had also planned shorter 3/4-length sleeves. I wanted a loose-fitting jacket that gave the impression of an asymmetrical cut (as the neckband creates). Your jacket's shoulder/sleeve seem more raglan than the pattern photo, so I'll pay attention to that and perhaps adjust. But I need a loose-at-the-armhole jacket so I can comfortably write at the top of the chalkboards (all installed to accommodate 6-foot male professors, and not 5'3" female profs!). Bottom line is: I think this pattern, suitably modified will work for me, provided I take notice of the confusing tuck instructions--which I read exactly the way you did. When I learn how to post photos and have completed the garment, I'll post and then we'll know whether I should have followed your advice and tried for a truly wearable piece of art! Mary Ellen
8/24/08 2:23 PM
Peggy L said...
Helen - I think your jacket is wonderful! What did you decide to do with it - hopefully, it is not a wadder. I hope you hung it in the closet for a couple of weeks and re-evaluated like some one mentioned. My favorite trick when I make something I'm not sure of - sometimes we just get sick of looking at something that has given us problems. I looked for a review of this pattern for sizing info so thank you so much for that. I'm going to try this in a medium which is smaller than my measurements.
1/16/09 12:01 PM
MmeH said...
Thank you so much Helen. I purchased this as an option for Mother of the Groom to be made in silk Dupioni. I know I will be unhappy if it falls too loosely. I prefer a jacket that will skim the figure not add to the silhouette. You've saved me wasting time on a toile. However, the photo looks lovely so it would be a shame to bin it.
4/8/09 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6123

photo
by: DD1104

Review