Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2429 (strappy sundress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 415 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:montecore
photo
About montecore
Member since: 5/31/08
Reviews written: 2
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/08 1:41 PM
Last Updated:7/23/08 2:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
Regardless of the fitting issues, the dress looks lovely on, I really love the retro fabric, and the orange lining adds a great touch, even though only you know that it is there.
7/23/08 2:05 PM
inkstain said...
Very good, enjoyed the slideshow very much and it fits so well! I've looked at all the reviews for this dress and I'm wondering whether it needs boning for those of us over 20. Plus, it seems to be stil on sale on the vogue website, but listed as OOP.
7/23/08 2:15 PM
KarenG said...
Great dress! I love the fabric.
7/23/08 2:42 PM
AnitaJJ said...
very cute dress and fits you nicely. thanks for all the details
7/23/08 2:48 PM
meli88a said...
this is so cute! i especially love the fabric that you used.
7/23/08 3:29 PM
CShelley said...
Very cool looking dress. Enjoy wearing it!
7/23/08 8:25 PM
Tiner W said...
I love your dress--both the style and the fabric! And I can relate with you on the sizing. I regularly make things too big and end up taking them in or just generally unhappy.
7/23/08 8:31 PM
Anabolina said...
Wow, lovely, I love that print and the fit. Good job!!!
7/23/08 9:26 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Great first review and great dress! Wow, do I ever LOVE! that fabric. I also love your idea of using orange sari cotton to line the bodice. Cool. I can't get over how fantastic this dress looks.
7/23/08 9:52 PM
XandraReynolds said...
Fabulous first review, montecore and I LOVE the fabric!!
7/23/08 11:52 PM
Lily Cat said...
This is one great dress!! I am so glad you hung in there, because the end result is so wonderful--I love your fabric!!!
7/24/08 1:27 AM
scrappycat said...
I love this dress and the fabric! Excellent!
7/24/08 7:34 AM
SewingSusan said...
What a great dress! Love that fabric and you did a fantastic job.
7/24/08 8:25 AM
Amanda S. said...
Cute, cute, cute!!!
7/24/08 8:30 AM
Blooms said...
I lvoe this pattern and would love to see a full length shot of you wearing it. Last year I made a Vogue dress, and like you had a lot of fitting issues with the bodice. Then I read a heap more reviews on Vogue patterns and found that many made the same complaint. I have just bought 3 more of their patterns (sale!) and each of them have way too much ease in the bust for a given size...from now I will go on the printed measurements on the pattern rather than the size.
7/24/08 8:37 AM
nicegirl said...
Very cute! I love your fabric choice, and all the work you put into fitting it really paid off.
7/24/08 10:57 AM
deanalmann said...
Very cute! I love the fabric. A question about the zigzag stitch you used to gather..... Do you just use a large zigzag and pull like you would if you used 2 basting stiches?
7/24/08 11:19 AM
mis_priss said...
EXCELLENT. The dress came out very nice, the fit is sooo good, and the sewing is superb. I am glad you stuck with it.
7/24/08 3:32 PM
kusine said...
Congrats on your first review! Your dress turned out absolutely stunning!
7/24/08 5:48 PM
born2bead said...
Congrat on your first review! I love the fabric - I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Looks vintagy which I love and I like that you lined the bodice in orange. I'm always using boring white so that is a great tip. I looks very cute on you too!
7/25/08 10:41 AM
DorothyK said...
Congratulations on your first review. You did a great job. It looks like it ended up fitting great. I love the orange lining.
7/25/08 1:49 PM
melaniejade31 said...
I love the orange lining! So luxurious!
2/25/10 6:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8323
photo
Review by jmosew on 3/1/14
Read Review

Butterick 3345 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 3345 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7033 Pattern
Burda 7033 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Marfy 1050
photo
Review by Debra H on 1/6/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us