Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2429 (strappy sundress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 415 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:montecore
photo
About montecore
Member since: 5/31/08
Reviews written: 2
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/08 1:41 PM
Last Updated:7/23/08 2:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
Regardless of the fitting issues, the dress looks lovely on, I really love the retro fabric, and the orange lining adds a great touch, even though only you know that it is there.
7/23/08 2:05 PM
inkstain said...
Very good, enjoyed the slideshow very much and it fits so well! I've looked at all the reviews for this dress and I'm wondering whether it needs boning for those of us over 20. Plus, it seems to be stil on sale on the vogue website, but listed as OOP.
7/23/08 2:15 PM
KarenG said...
Great dress! I love the fabric.
7/23/08 2:42 PM
AnitaJJ said...
very cute dress and fits you nicely. thanks for all the details
7/23/08 2:48 PM
meli88a said...
this is so cute! i especially love the fabric that you used.
7/23/08 3:29 PM
CShelley said...
Very cool looking dress. Enjoy wearing it!
7/23/08 8:25 PM
Tiner W said...
I love your dress--both the style and the fabric! And I can relate with you on the sizing. I regularly make things too big and end up taking them in or just generally unhappy.
7/23/08 8:31 PM
Anabolina said...
Wow, lovely, I love that print and the fit. Good job!!!
7/23/08 9:26 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Great first review and great dress! Wow, do I ever LOVE! that fabric. I also love your idea of using orange sari cotton to line the bodice. Cool. I can't get over how fantastic this dress looks.
7/23/08 9:52 PM
XandraReynolds said...
Fabulous first review, montecore and I LOVE the fabric!!
7/23/08 11:52 PM
Lily Cat said...
This is one great dress!! I am so glad you hung in there, because the end result is so wonderful--I love your fabric!!!
7/24/08 1:27 AM
scrappycat said...
I love this dress and the fabric! Excellent!
7/24/08 7:34 AM
SewingSusan said...
What a great dress! Love that fabric and you did a fantastic job.
7/24/08 8:25 AM
Amanda S. said...
Cute, cute, cute!!!
7/24/08 8:30 AM
Blooms said...
I lvoe this pattern and would love to see a full length shot of you wearing it. Last year I made a Vogue dress, and like you had a lot of fitting issues with the bodice. Then I read a heap more reviews on Vogue patterns and found that many made the same complaint. I have just bought 3 more of their patterns (sale!) and each of them have way too much ease in the bust for a given size...from now I will go on the printed measurements on the pattern rather than the size.
7/24/08 8:37 AM
nicegirl said...
Very cute! I love your fabric choice, and all the work you put into fitting it really paid off.
7/24/08 10:57 AM
deanalmann said...
Very cute! I love the fabric. A question about the zigzag stitch you used to gather..... Do you just use a large zigzag and pull like you would if you used 2 basting stiches?
7/24/08 11:19 AM
mis_priss said...
EXCELLENT. The dress came out very nice, the fit is sooo good, and the sewing is superb. I am glad you stuck with it.
7/24/08 3:32 PM
kusine said...
Congrats on your first review! Your dress turned out absolutely stunning!
7/24/08 5:48 PM
born2bead said...
Congrat on your first review! I love the fabric - I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Looks vintagy which I love and I like that you lined the bodice in orange. I'm always using boring white so that is a great tip. I looks very cute on you too!
7/25/08 10:41 AM
DorothyK said...
Congratulations on your first review. You did a great job. It looks like it ended up fitting great. I love the orange lining.
7/25/08 1:49 PM
melaniejade31 said...
I love the orange lining! So luxurious!
2/25/10 6:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's M5433
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 3/16/08
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-102
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7084 Pattern
Burda 7084 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6244 Pattern
New Look 6244 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us