SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5145 (Misses Coat)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1924 times 
Reviewed by:HLT
photo

 
 
About HLTstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/08 2:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendlesue said...
What a professional looking coat. I would never have guessed it was made of a sweater knit! You've done a wonderful job.
7/24/08 2:22 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is really cute! You mentioned the one-piece sleeve. Was it too wide? I'm curious... I have this pattern and hope to make it in the fall. I plan on reducing or omitting the back pleat (I think I'm too old for this look?) Your gray knit and contrasting black buttons look great! Nice job!
7/24/08 2:29 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Ohhh I love this!!! Gorgeous! Thank you - I'm now adding this to my fall sewing list. Can I ask how 'petite' you are? I'm 5,2 and am wondering if the size 8 fit well in length and shoulders. How is the ease??
7/24/08 2:32 PM
mochalover said...
Love, love your coat!
7/24/08 3:19 PM
HLT said...
Thank you for the feedback!!! ***JMarie1962.....OK, so about the sleeve. A couple of years ago there was a sewing TV show on Fine Living or DIY hosted Susan Khalje w/guest Kenneth D. King. All about Jackets and sleeves. He said that most 'standard' patterns have way too much to ease. After measuring, you should not need to ease more that 1.5 inches. So after finding 4+ inches, I measure the center of the 1 piece arm and cut it almost to the end. Then overlap the edges so that there is only about 1.5in to ease. A super great tip from Ken King. Also I think that your idea to loose the pleat is cool. I would think about adding a upper back pleat that is basically hidden or a back tab. There is a tab that comes with the pattern. Good Luck and have fun!!! ***Deb, I'm 5'2'' also! I used look B to get this length and did not have to do any petite alterations. (Hooray!!) I have broad shoulders and the fit is comfy. I hope that this helps.
7/24/08 3:31 PM
Twinset said...
Very nice coat! Very chic!
7/24/08 3:33 PM
HLT said...
Thank you for the feedback!!! JMarie1962.....OK, so about the sleeve. A couple of years ago there was a sewing TV show on Fine Living or DIY hosted Susan Khalje w/guest Kenneth D. King. All about Jackets and sleeves. He said that most 'standard' patterns have way too much to ease. After measuring, you should not need to ease more that 1.5 inches. So after finding 4+ inches, I measure the center of the 1 piece arm and cut it almost to the end. Then overlap the edges so that there is only about 1.5in to ease. A super great tip from Ken King. Also I think that your idea to loose the pleat is cool. I would think about adding a upper back pleat that is basically hidden or a back tab. There is a tab that comes with the pattern. Good Luck and have fun!!!
7/24/08 3:35 PM
HLT said...
Thank you for the feedback!!! JMarie1962.....OK, so about the sleeve. A couple of years ago there was a sewing TV show on Fine Living or DIY hosted Susan Khalje w/guest Kenneth D. King. All about Jackets and sleeves. He said that most 'standard' patterns have way too much to ease. After measuring, you should not need to ease more that 1.5 inches. So after finding 4+ inches, I measure the center of the 1 piece arm and cut it almost to the end. Then overlap the edges so that there is only about 1.5in to ease. A super great tip from Ken King. Also I think that your idea to loose the pleat is cool. I would think about adding a upper back pleat that is basically hidden or a back tab. There is a tab that comes with the pattern. Good Luck and have fun!!!
7/24/08 3:36 PM
Peggy said...
This coat looks stunnity on you. Wonderful job!
7/24/08 3:50 PM
Eli said...
Great Job and super utilization of a sweater knit!
7/24/08 3:53 PM
FloraNature said...
This looks fabulous on you - very couture! I love the details, especially the vertical buttonholes done in a contrasting colour. The single back pleat is very flattering. Is there any way you could reduce it in size rather than turning it into two pleats? I'm sure that whatever you decide to do will be just as beautiful.
7/24/08 4:58 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous coat, the fit is perfect.
7/24/08 5:52 PM
Gelbean said...
WOW! Fantastic coat. Perfect fit.
7/24/08 7:11 PM
Athene said...
A great coat - I love all the detailing on the back. You mentioned that this knit is your muslin for a wool coat you will be making. Depending on the characteristics of your wool (ie. weight, drape, with or without lycra) you may likely need to cut the pattern pieces for the wool coat a bit bigger than for this knit to allow for less stretch and for turn of cloth when sewing your wool version.
7/24/08 7:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your coat. It's so stylish. I really like the back pleat.
7/24/08 7:51 PM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic job, looks great on you!
7/24/08 8:18 PM
avancleve said...
This coat is FABULOUS! How cool to have such a wonderful muslim.
7/24/08 8:45 PM
Dee2 said...
Can't believe this is your muslin--it looks great on you! I remember that show--it was on DIY & I used to come home for lunch to watch it. It was a great show w/Susan Khaje but they took it off the air so I canceled DIY. Thanks for your review.
7/24/08 9:15 PM
dentalpic said...
I really love your jacket!!!!!I have no suggestions though as it looks great!
7/24/08 9:23 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Welcome to PR and this is do fabulous. I have the pattern and been wanting to sew it forever!
7/24/08 9:28 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Beautiful coat, and it fits so well for just a muslin!
7/24/08 10:16 PM
Peacock Chic said...
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVEEEEE it!!! I just bought this patter and noticed that not many people had done it. But you have definitely done this pattern justice and then some. And!! This is only your muslin?! I really like it. I need to get myself some sweater knit for another pattern as that was exactly what I was looking for. Great JOB!!
7/25/08 1:28 AM
donna mel said...
i LOVE that you made it in a knit. i am allergic to wool, and will make myself this coat. love you color choice, and the fit is perfect. nice job!
7/25/08 6:28 AM
scrappycat said...
This is so cute!
7/25/08 7:27 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Only 10,000 times cuter than the envelope. Want! Sew me one, too! Please! Pleasepleasepleasepleaseplease! Pleeeeeeeeaaaaaaaassssseeee! Anyway, nice coat.
7/25/08 10:22 AM
born2bead said...
If this is your "muslin" copy I can't wait to see the wool version! It looks very professional. I picked up this pattern too and then wondered why because the drawing is not that cute. Your version proves that it looks much better done up. I love the change to 3/4 sleeves too. Great job!
7/25/08 10:26 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great job of the muslin. This coat is very flatter on you. Can't wait to see the final version.
7/25/08 2:59 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Nice Coat!
7/25/08 4:32 PM
Erica B. said...
OMG, that coat is sooooooooooo fabulous! What a great "wearable" muslin!
7/25/08 7:42 PM
tlmck3 said...
You are very, very talented and you do beautiful, very meticulous work. This is gorgeous, it suits you perfectly and you have it fitted to a "T." Can't wait to see the next version.
7/26/08 0:47 AM
MissCelie said...
What kind of amazing knit looks like this when complete?!?! Wht an awesome looking coat.
7/28/08 1:54 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
This is just lovely! I have this pattern too and just picked up fabric to make it. Thanks for your review.
7/28/08 5:09 PM
Kitty Couture said...
This is just amazing. I didn't know a coat could look so good in a knit.
7/30/08 4:15 AM
Sheila457 said...
Another fabulous coat and to think its a muslin.
8/6/08 9:59 AM
Mahler said...
I love your garment. It is wonderfully well sewn. Impeccable lines in front and back ! Superbe.
8/11/08 9:23 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, what can I say that hasn't already been said? Fabulous!!!
8/14/08 8:31 PM
joann said...
Amazing to have such a great coat from a sweater knit. How much crosswise and lengthwise stretch was in the knit? I am sitting here looking at some sweater knit and trying to figure out what to do with it.
8/16/08 4:49 PM
Kelroc said...
fantastic job. I can't believe this coat is made out of sweater knit. Amazing!
8/16/08 6:46 PM
marjenann said...
Magnificent work. You look spectacular in the stylish coat! -Annette
8/18/08 7:06 AM
Bonnie O said...
This is stunning and I LOVE that it is made from a sweater knit. I bet you will live in this coat. You look fantastic in it.
8/29/08 7:59 AM
neuwifesews said...
You great in this coat. You look like you ordered it specially made for you from a top designer! Please post the results for the next one you make out of the wool herringbone!
8/29/08 1:31 PM
HLT said...
The wool herringbone coat is complete!!! There is a link at the top of this review.
8/29/08 2:22 PM
valgal said...
I love this jacket. It really fits well. Great job!
10/30/08 1:44 PM
Melanie-Austria said...
Hi, love your coat and want to make my own. Would you mind giving me more details on whether or not it is lined and what kind of interfacing you have used? Looking forward to hearing from you! Melanie
11/20/09 0:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6939OOP

photo
by: lsaspacey

Review
Deer&Doe Blouse Airelle

photo
by: bimbleandp...

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now