Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 002 (Alison Swimsuit) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 810 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Kitty Couture
photo
About Kitty Couturestarstar
NA FRANCE
Member since: 3/16/04
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 59 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:7/24/08 8:45 AM
Last Updated:7/25/08 5:41 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
This looks EXTREMELY cute on you! Congrats on proving to yourself you can sew anything (and make it not only work but look great).
7/24/08 8:51 AM
MissCelie said...
I love what you did with the leg bindings. I saw something quite similar at Urban Outfitters recently and it adds such nice punch. You suit looks too good to get wet!
7/24/08 9:01 AM
dbsewer said...
Isabelle this suit looks absolutely adorable on you. You look like you just stepped off the runway and are headed to the Riviera. Great job. Salut.
7/24/08 9:29 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, my goodness! You look so sophisticated in your suit! I would have never thought to add bindings to the legs to make them longer. Brilliant!
7/24/08 9:29 AM
nicegirl said...
Oh my goodness that is TOO cute! I love that you added binding on the legs. The lower leg definitely adds to the vintage feel and makes me like the suit so much more.
7/24/08 9:35 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! This suit suits you perfectly! Your subtle changes and fabric choice make this swimsuit the most stylish I have ever seen! I was viewing the pattern yesterday, but I feared I'd get lost without adequate instructions. I'll download the pattern and wait for your instructions to be posted on your blog, but I wouldn't mind if you posted them on this PR review, too. Thanks for taking on this project; you're a dear for doing so.
7/24/08 9:36 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is just fabulous. I love the vintage aspect of it, and the way you played with the stripes. It looks great on you, so yes, if you can make a bathing suit that looks and fits that good, you can make just about anything.
7/24/08 9:42 AM
LauraLo said...
This is purely gorgeous, Isabelle ma belle et tu es splendide!
7/24/08 10:07 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous retro suit, Isabelle!! I love this on you (and you've solved the "photos in a swimsuit?" issue perfectly!)! Thanks for the honest opinion about the instructions. I think BurdaStyle really need to separate the patterns that are reprints made in Germany (good instructions and sanity-checked pieces) and the ones made in New York, which seem to be just uploaded on a whim, despite the professional looking photoshoots...
7/24/08 10:12 AM
Amanda S. said...
Great suit! I have the same goal as you, to make everything I wear except for underwear and leatherwear.
7/24/08 10:43 AM
Anabolina said...
Awesome. I so want this now.
7/24/08 11:23 AM
TrixieD said...
Wonderful. I'll check the blog or here for detailed instructions. Your work is terrific and I'm inspired to try my luck with this Burda pattern for swimwear, since nothing I've tried on makes me want to go to the beach. Y
7/24/08 11:26 AM
piffle said...
Wow! This is fantastic!
7/24/08 11:34 AM
Rita K said...
Looks great on you. Love your fabric & the use of it for style interest. Well done!
7/24/08 11:42 AM
michellep74 said...
Wow! You look so glamorous in this! What a fabulous swim suit!
7/24/08 11:51 AM
Twinset said...
Oh la la! You created such a unique and wonderful bathing suit that is really flattering! Impressive!
7/24/08 12:29 PM
Arbicuswoo said...
Another winner, Isabelle! It's so cute and stylish!
7/24/08 1:21 PM
Lori V said...
This looks fantastic on you. It is a great suit and thanks for all the information.
7/24/08 1:54 PM
KrystalL said...
Oh my goodness, what a great looking suit! You look gorgeous and ready to hit the beach!
7/24/08 1:57 PM
tourist said...
Funny - I was just contemplating taking apart and old favourite suit to make a new one and up popped your review, which looks very much like the suit I have! I'm not entirely sure I am ready for such a challenge, but it is great to see it is possible. Thanks!
7/24/08 2:12 PM
Athene said...
You look lovely - this suit has such a nice vintage look to it.
7/24/08 7:43 PM
Cre8tv said...
Very cute and how nice to modify to your liking! Very vintage and unique!
7/24/08 11:23 PM
SusiM said...
Great looking suit!! And thank you so much for all the tips about the pattern. I am definitely going to try this one.
7/25/08 0:15 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful swimsuit and great review!
7/25/08 2:42 AM
Karen8320 said...
Isabelle, you look so glamorous in this swimsuit! What a fabulous job you've done with this pattern and big thumbs up to you as well for modelling the finished suit. I'm really, really impressed by everything you've done here and impressed as well that you make almost everything you wear. Great stuff!!!
7/25/08 6:59 AM
nellc said...
Fabulous swimsuit, I love the retro styling it looks so glamorous.
7/25/08 7:59 AM
Tiner W said...
Wow! I love your suit! It is truly glamorous!
7/25/08 9:26 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Beautiful swimsuit. You did an aweome job!
7/25/08 10:01 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Oh this look soooo good! Now I want one too.
7/25/08 11:31 AM
Dei said...
Could you or the suit look any more fabulous! I commend anyone willing to post a pic of themselves on the web and you have done it with elegance and style. The suit is so flattering and your care in construction shows.
7/25/08 1:15 PM
Carolyndh said...
I love the way you modeled your designer swim suit! Beautiful style and colors and you have the figure to show it off well!
7/25/08 3:08 PM
moushka said...
Magnifique, ma chère! Tu fais très védette dans un maillot adorable. You look like a movie star. Fantastic job with an iffy pattern. Congratulations on producing such a glamorous swimsuit. I can't imagine how it could look better. Sue
7/25/08 4:36 PM
Annette1 said...
Isabelle, this is the CUTEST, the CLASSIEST, the most GLAMOROUS swimming suit I've seen all season. You're BEAUTIFUL in it. YES, I'm jealous -- ha!
7/25/08 9:40 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Wow, thanks ladies... I am truly blown away! Merci !!
7/30/08 4:13 AM
Marji said...
This is just fabulous, and thank you for all the pics and the detailed review. I'm going to attempt my own version of this, with some variation, but doubt I'll have the courage you do to photograph myself in it.
8/13/08 8:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

New Look 6470
photo
Review by Kitty Cout... on 9/28/08
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5029
photo
Review by jfang on 11/29/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4003 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4003 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5915 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5915 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us