SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9769 (Civil War Undergarments)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1000 times 
Reviewed by:MissFit
photo

 
 
About MissFitstar
NY
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/08 6:07 PM
Last Updated:7/13/09 6:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagpieJen said...
It looks great (I wish I could see a bigger pic?) and your dynamic pose shows that this must be both well-fitted and comfy! Well done!
7/25/08 8:04 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great job.
7/26/08 1:57 PM
MissFit said...
why thank you, and the "dynamic pose" was a picture of me in costume doing archery. I will see what I can do to get a link to a bigger picture...
7/26/08 4:23 PM
Elona said...
Very cool corset, very romantic archery shot! You'd have been a wench to be reckoned with.
7/26/08 4:45 PM
SusiM said...
Very nice garment!! Thanks for the info.
7/26/08 5:18 PM
Sewingmi said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
7/26/08 5:30 PM
Tiner W said...
Very cool!
7/26/08 5:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Another winner, and I love the shot, too! I know Laughing Moon Merchantile has a real pretty corset pattern. Of course, I don't know anything about corsets, so it may not be the type you're looking for, but here's a link where you can see it: http://www.lafnmoon.com/victunder.htm (Geez, that's got to be the shortest link I've pasted in for a while!)
7/27/08 0:22 AM
Annette1 said...
Matter of fact, I was just looking at the Laughing Moon pattern myself online, and even the chemise is cute up, the way they've done the bodice there.
7/27/08 0:26 AM
XandraReynolds said...
Love it!
8/3/08 8:06 PM
Pink35 said...
I have made this one too. I find because of my height that I have to lengthen the pattern 4 inches to get it to fit right. I had a sewing teacher help me to get all the fittings and alterations correct. When you start sewing some more, you will notice what changes are needed each time you start a new project.
1/30/09 5:07 PM
Maddybird said...
Ok, two things: first, you are my hero for wearing this to an archery range because I, too, love archery; and second, you did an awesome job on this outfit. It reminds me, for some reason, of a character out of Lord of the Rings or the BBC's Robin Hood.
3/17/09 5:38 PM
kirilee said...
Very nice :D Yes, more pictures please!
3/24/09 10:10 AM
Capricorna said...
This looks great, love the color combination of the dark blue with white; it suits you very well! I´m musing about making the chemise and pants to go with a ready made corset. But I´m wondering if the very loose chemise together with the pants wouldn´t be quite uncomfortable to wear under a tight corset... What does it feel like? I don´t even know how you would get the knee-long chemise properly under the pants! Would it be an option to shorten the chemise a good deal? Any ideas on this would be greatly appreciated!
12/30/11 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 5338

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2011-114

photo
by: jennybaxt

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now