SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2139 (Misses Swimsuits)

2 more reviews
Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/08 3:02 PM
Last Updated:7/27/08 3:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Very nice. I like the color, and I wouldn't worry about the bust flattening - it happens in a lot of swim suits, but the cups may make a more comfy fit as well. :)
8/4/08 2:49 PM
Sewingmi said...
Very helplful review, and I really admire you for posing in your suit - which made the review so helpful. I think it looks nice on you. You're right - some pattern designer could really do well making a good swimsuit pattern!
7/29/08 7:26 PM
sewmom3 said...
I think you suit looks great! You might want to try a pattern with a center back seam to elminate some of the excess fabric. I made a Kwik Sew girl's racerback pattern for my daughter and it worked out great to customize it for her tiny waist and larger hips.
7/28/08 3:19 PM
Stitchcakes said...
First of all, you are my hero for posing in your swimsuit! Second, I second the bust cups. They would give better proportion. Also, I really like the color. I might try the contrast side panels myself for the slimming effect and for added interest. Keep on plugging away til you get that perfect suit! Don't wait 12 more years! :-)
7/28/08 10:57 AM
Tonya said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! I agree with you all: I think a increased length adjustment is in order for the next one I make from KS.

Fuzzy, I completely forgot about Jalie! And I did find that BurdaStyle suit in my google search - I think I'm going to try that one next. I actually don't mind the color, it takes attention away from my painfully white skin, lol.

Arline, bust cups are a good idea. They're better at covering the nips than 2 layers of fabric too. I think I'll add them to rescue this suit. :)
7/28/08 9:15 AM

SewingQueenKym said...
Great color. Great sewing. Swimsuits are fun to sew, aren't they? And, now you know the adjustments to make for the next one fit well. I hope you get lots of use out this one after all of your hard work!
7/28/08 4:32 AM
Karen8320 said...
Tonya, big props to you for posing in your swimsuit!!! The only way the rest of us can tell how a swimsuit looks is to see it on a REAL woman. Thanks so much for your review. I recently made up KS2962 for a swimming friend of mine. I lengthened the body by about 3 inches and my friend swears that it's the best fitting swimsuit she's ever worn. I will look forward to seeing what you come up with next.
7/28/08 4:00 AM
TrixieD said...
Thanks for the review. I purchased material to make my first bathing suit and you have provided valuable info to consider. Well done.
7/27/08 9:51 PM
MelC said...
Tonya, I so appreciate your swimsuit review. It is a very basic suit but I think you did a great job. Your fabric choice is wonderful!
7/27/08 9:42 PM
Arline said...
Nicely done! Re: your complaint about the flattening of the bustline, I'd definitely buy those bust cups (I've bought mine from Joanne's) that are quite firm and therefore project the bust outward and won't squish the ta-ta's. They can be just tacked inside. I use them in RTW suits because virtually all bathing suits now have almost NO bust support - sometimes a flimsy "shelf bra" that is worthless. Bigger girls like me need the projection of the bust to balance out the figure a little bit. It made a world of difference in my last purchased RTW suit. Do consider it; you may be more pleased with your end result of this suit!
7/27/08 6:42 PM
fuzzygalore said...
KwikSews are too short for me too, I'm 5'8''. I agree too short would do both of the weird side things. But you could try Jalie, they fit well and their instructions are good. Or you could try the latest burdastyle 'allyson', which is retro but lots more interesting.

That said I like this one, but I like kind of utilitarian swimsuits myself ;-). And I like the color, it'd make it easier to find the body/harder to hit with the jetski?? Seriously, most swimsuit fabrics are nylon, very easy to dye with acid dyes - a pinch of ecru and a squirt of vinegar would tone that right down. Hate those net-related color surprises...
7/27/08 6:27 PM

tucci4me said...
Tonya, thanks for posing in your suit. Swimsuits cry out to be filled instead of photographed on a hanger. I also found the Kwik Sew swimsuit sizing to be a little short despite my length measurements matching the pattern exactly. This might attribute to your fabric standing away at the back as well as some squashing of the bust in front. There are a bunch of other swimsuit patterns out there so I look forward to seeing another suit in the same fabric. Nicely done!
7/27/08 6:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 2211

photo
by: brissmith

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

More Info