SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Singlet Style Shopping Bag 

4 more reviews
Viewed 767 times 
Reviewed by:JenSews2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JenSews2star
CA USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:7/25/08 9:34 PM
Last Updated:1/16/09 1:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marykpfist said...
I've been testing different fabrics and agree with adding the extra loop-- if you try them in the U-scan lane, you'll see this is an important addition!
7/25/08 11:03 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Jen, I love your bags. I really liked my PR bag too and yours look just like them.
7/26/08 2:37 PM
Jane S said...
Great ideas and great gift idea too. Thanks for such a useful review.
7/26/08 10:57 PM
Rustybobn said...
They look great! I really want to make some of the rolling rip stop bags like yours. Thanks for the review!
7/28/08 10:12 AM
Bernie R. said...
Wow! Who knew "green" could get greener? I have enough stash to create grocery bags for my entire town....Now THERE'S an idea!!!
7/28/08 10:19 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Awesome! I wanted to make the canvas shopping bags for which there is a very nice tutorial on emblibrary.com for Christmas gifts this year, but I think I'll make mostly these from ripstop with one or two of the canvas ones for heavy/glass bottle items thrown in, too! Going green is funnnnn! Thanks for this.
7/28/08 3:46 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Can you add a photo of your pattern? I love the new smaller ones for grocery shopping. I have a dozen canvas bags that I use and they are very, very bulky. I've been using them for about 6 years now from back when taking your own bags wasn't a fashion statement. It may be time to upgrade.
1/16/09 10:27 AM
Jacqui315 said...
I've been wanting to make my own and this is defintely the ones I want to make. I love the elastic tab! Thanks for sharing all your hints!
1/16/09 10:51 AM
Ody said...
Great bags and I agree about posting the pattern.
1/16/09 5:53 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
I have a pile of rip-stop that I need to use up. Thank you for the idea/plans. You did a great and green job
1/16/09 7:50 PM
Doctor Sister said...
I never thought of using Ripstop. I think I have some around here. Great idea.
1/17/09 1:12 PM
JenSews2 said...
I've added a link to a pic of my bag patterns. I just cut apart a grocery sack and straightened the edges, then added a seam allowance.
1/17/09 8:18 PM
tlmck3 said...
The loop and elastic are great ideas. Lightweight poly makes a pretty small bag, too--though not as compact as ripstop--which rules in the real world of BYOB.
1/18/09 4:25 PM
marec said...
*Another* great use for the rainflys that get thrown out when a tent is ruined. Wonderful use of the fabric!!
1/31/09 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 7845

photo
by: canyonlady...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now