Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4918 (Retro Butterick '52) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 973 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:SewingQueenKym
photo
About SewingQueenKymstar
NC USA
Member since: 11/19/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/08 3:05 PM
Last Updated:7/26/08 7:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
A delightful dress. I love how the colors come and go around the dress. The bubble hem was a great idea to solve the hemming problem.
7/26/08 3:30 PM
Mahler said...
Needless to say that I would love to have one !!!! This fabric is fabulous. What a wonderful dress. Your daughter look magnificent. Bravo !
7/26/08 3:30 PM
clare said...
I love how you have embraced the challenge of making a dress out of just a yard of fabric! It looks fab!
7/26/08 4:31 PM
Athene said...
I love your version and of course your daughter looks so lovely in it - what a great mom you are.
7/26/08 7:29 PM
ElizabethK said...
What a marvelous adaptation of a vintage pattern! You are definitely a sewing queen!
7/26/08 8:19 PM
Dei said...
Beautiful dress on a beautiful young lady. Your creativity is something else. Absolutely love this fabric and your use of just 1 yard of it!
7/26/08 8:21 PM
anncie1 said...
Absolutely Beautiful!!! When I grow up I wonna make dresses like you!
7/26/08 10:41 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Wonderful!
7/26/08 11:00 PM
mistygirl902 said...
This dress is fantastic and your daughter looks so cute in it! Your review brought back memories of my mother making me a dress for the junior prom, and then making a different bodice to go with the skirt for the senior prom back in the 1960's.
7/27/08 0:01 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Thanks for the kind comments. It was such an easy dress to make, and the fabric and colors brought it up a few notches. I should add that I had to tack the bodice under the wrap - the crinkly stuff wanted to "hang down" and I wanted it to stay put!
7/27/08 3:37 AM
kerrynw said...
Kym I was interested to see your lovely dress as I have just made a very similar dress for my daughter for her formal ball. I could not find a pattern at the time so adapted one. I will try to post a review soon.
7/27/08 10:53 AM
DorothyK said...
What ingenuity! I love your choice of fabric and how you worked around all the various problems. Your daughter looks stunning.
7/27/08 12:11 PM
papago said...
Beautiful!! I love your reviews and look forward to more of them!! Laura
7/27/08 2:39 PM
AnitaJJ said...
I'd love to see the pic of this dress but the link takes me to a red dress.
7/27/08 3:11 PM
SewingQueenKym said...
Thanks for the notes. The flickr page doesn't hold enough, so I've put them on my website. You can click on the link above (in my review) or go to: http://www.kymwright.com/butterick_4918.htm
7/27/08 6:51 PM
BeckyC said...
Wow! The dress is stunning! And your daughter looks beautiful in it. I loved how you changed the style to work with the fabric, it is awesome. BTW how did your DD do at the Miss Georgia America pagent?
7/27/08 9:46 PM
SewingQueenKym said...
Miss Ga America: she won scholarships, but in her estimation is too opinionated to win. Her friends have won - and she cheers them on! You can read about her reasons for getting into pageants at her website: http://www.chantelle-wright.com/my_experience.htm
7/28/08 4:25 AM
firsthays said...
Looks wonderful, I'm off to ebay to find myself a copy! :)
7/29/08 1:05 AM
firsthays said...
Looks wonderful, I'm off to ebay to find myself a copy! :)
7/29/08 1:06 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Just the perfect review! I wanted to use the bodice of this dress to create pretty well what you made. Timely! Thanks.
9/1/08 8:54 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Connie, When you make the dress, post a review and pictures, so we can see what you've created! SQKym
9/3/08 4:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Colette Patterns 1013 Crepe
photo
Review by Stacie Thi... on 3/18/11
Read Review

Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7031 Pattern
Burda 7031 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by Byrdie on 2/4/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us