SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4918 (Retro Butterick '52)

8 more reviews
Viewed 980 times 
Reviewed by:SewingQueenKym
photo

 
 
About SewingQueenKymstar
NC USA
Member since: 11/19/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/08 3:05 PM
Last Updated:7/26/08 7:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
A delightful dress. I love how the colors come and go around the dress. The bubble hem was a great idea to solve the hemming problem.
7/26/08 3:30 PM
Mahler said...
Needless to say that I would love to have one !!!! This fabric is fabulous. What a wonderful dress. Your daughter look magnificent. Bravo !
7/26/08 3:30 PM
clare said...
I love how you have embraced the challenge of making a dress out of just a yard of fabric! It looks fab!
7/26/08 4:31 PM
Athene said...
I love your version and of course your daughter looks so lovely in it - what a great mom you are.
7/26/08 7:29 PM
ElizabethK said...
What a marvelous adaptation of a vintage pattern! You are definitely a sewing queen!
7/26/08 8:19 PM
Dei said...
Beautiful dress on a beautiful young lady. Your creativity is something else. Absolutely love this fabric and your use of just 1 yard of it!
7/26/08 8:21 PM
anncie1 said...
Absolutely Beautiful!!! When I grow up I wonna make dresses like you!
7/26/08 10:41 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Wonderful!
7/26/08 11:00 PM
mistygirl902 said...
This dress is fantastic and your daughter looks so cute in it! Your review brought back memories of my mother making me a dress for the junior prom, and then making a different bodice to go with the skirt for the senior prom back in the 1960's.
7/27/08 0:01 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Thanks for the kind comments. It was such an easy dress to make, and the fabric and colors brought it up a few notches. I should add that I had to tack the bodice under the wrap - the crinkly stuff wanted to "hang down" and I wanted it to stay put!
7/27/08 3:37 AM
kerrynw said...
Kym I was interested to see your lovely dress as I have just made a very similar dress for my daughter for her formal ball. I could not find a pattern at the time so adapted one. I will try to post a review soon.
7/27/08 10:53 AM
DorothyK said...
What ingenuity! I love your choice of fabric and how you worked around all the various problems. Your daughter looks stunning.
7/27/08 12:11 PM
papago said...
Beautiful!! I love your reviews and look forward to more of them!! Laura
7/27/08 2:39 PM
AnitaJJ said...
I'd love to see the pic of this dress but the link takes me to a red dress.
7/27/08 3:11 PM
SewingQueenKym said...
Thanks for the notes. The flickr page doesn't hold enough, so I've put them on my website. You can click on the link above (in my review) or go to: http://www.kymwright.com/butterick_4918.htm
7/27/08 6:51 PM
BeckyC said...
Wow! The dress is stunning! And your daughter looks beautiful in it. I loved how you changed the style to work with the fabric, it is awesome. BTW how did your DD do at the Miss Georgia America pagent?
7/27/08 9:46 PM
SewingQueenKym said...
Miss Ga America: she won scholarships, but in her estimation is too opinionated to win. Her friends have won - and she cheers them on! You can read about her reasons for getting into pageants at her website: http://www.chantelle-wright.com/my_experience.htm
7/28/08 4:25 AM
firsthays said...
Looks wonderful, I'm off to ebay to find myself a copy! :)
7/29/08 1:05 AM
firsthays said...
Looks wonderful, I'm off to ebay to find myself a copy! :)
7/29/08 1:06 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Just the perfect review! I wanted to use the bodice of this dress to create pretty well what you made. Timely! Thanks.
9/1/08 8:54 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Connie, When you make the dress, post a review and pictures, so we can see what you've created! SQKym
9/3/08 4:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now