Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4007 (palmer/pletsch classic fit) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 606 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/08 5:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Nanna said...
Let me be the first to say it looks really cute on you ! I love the waist detailing - and you did well to keep going with those instructions. I have come to the conclusion myself that cross over tops only work really well on a full bust if you have broad shoulders to balance the diagonal line. I think it is a very nice silhouette on you!
7/27/08 5:19 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Um ... brutally honest? I'm thinking bathrobe that's been chopped off (due to the seersucker). But I agree with you that with a drapey knit, this would be so much prettier and it would be flattering on you. I double-dog dare you to have another go with it, using a knit. And then see what Bailey has to say. If he doesn't like that one, Kung Fu him on the head. Love your new avatar pic, BTW!
7/27/08 6:12 PM
carolynw said...
Annette I really like the way it fits you but I am no fan of seersucker so while I give you thumbs up for the fit the fabric makes me feel hmmmm? For what it's worth I made this some time back and it was a total wadder and - no - I am not inspired to try this again your rating is very kind "mediocre" is more than I gave it and I am certainly a small busted gal!!
7/27/08 8:34 PM
Elona said...
Magnificent review! Boy, a lot of work went into the construction and then the description of the construction. But although this one is in my stash, I think I will not be making it. Hey, it does look nice on you, perhaps a bit in the way of couturier mammogram gown, but perfectly presentable in the outside world.
7/27/08 10:44 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I got as far as the muslin stage on this one and never made it in the good stuff. I admire your perseverance in getting it done, but like Debbie, I thought, "bathrobe" when I saw the picture. I do think in a better fabric that you did get a good fit and it looks nice, just a bit stiff. Try it in something drapy.
7/27/08 11:19 PM
moushka said...
I always love your reviews, Annette. You really should be a writer. I bought this one when it first came out but I think it's time to let it go. I don't have your patience for finessing the details. I wonder how many clothespins the model has hidden behind her back, lol? You did a fabulous job on the blouse but I must agree with Debbie: it does have it's bathrobe side because of the fabric. The collar frames your face nicely, and you did a lovely job of sewing it. In another fabric, it would probably be very pretty. Sue
7/27/08 11:37 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I'm thinking maybe I'll call this one pajamas, and that way I can say it's a success! :o))
7/28/08 0:08 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, I've often wondered whether you ever sleep. You are prolific with your sewing and prolific with posting reviews and I always wonder how you manage to fit everything in. You've answered my question in this review. In the middle of the night when the rest of us are asleep, you are up doing sewing-related activities! You've done such a fabulous job with this review and have persevered with this beyond the point where I would have given up and thrown things away. Given what you've done here and what you've discovered along the way, you must give it another go in a drapey knit. I think the style is quite flattering on you but the fabric just doesn't work with it. A knit will give you the softness that I think this needs. I also don't think such big pleats are a good look. Smaller pleats that let the fabric fold tends to soften things. At the end of the day, you are the only one who knows whether you want to give this another shot.
7/28/08 3:13 AM
Mahler said...
Annette, I was waiting for others to write their comment before I write mine. I was unable to make my mind either I like it or not. I looked at the picture 10 times and I do like the fit on you. I don't agree that this top should not be worn by full breasted woman. I think that it looks like an interior gown because of the fabric. I black cotton with a little sheer in it and may be a contrasting band, you top would have been really nice. You are a very patient sewer.
7/28/08 7:58 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Thanks for this great review! I have this pattern and will refer to it with gratitude when I go to make this top. I think this top looks good. I think most problems are more a fabric issue than anything. It kind of reminds me of those really expensive pajamas that are too good and fussy to actually wear!
7/28/08 12:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Oh Annette....I am getting more entertained and informed from reading your reviews than what I read in recent issues of Vogue patterns and Sew Stylish....I feel like I am sewing along with you! Your wrap top is actually chic and I like the ruched effect in the front. I personally think you can wear it out of the house in style with some accessories. You would look so cool in some red hoop earrings and a matching beaded necklace! Then tell Bailey, I am really ready to go out for dinner and dancing!
7/28/08 4:55 PM
ITAdmin said...
Annette, I just found this. The review was great and entertaining reading, but I'm torn about the actual garment. I do like seersucker, but as a general rule, don't like wrap garments. Your review of the pattern doesn't give me much hope for my Palmer-Pletsch pattern (a princess-seamed shell) which I haven't tried yet. Guess I'll put it off a little longer.
7/31/08 7:54 AM
cmarie12 said...
I keep hoping that a review of a wrap top on a full busted woman will work...I am still hoping! :) This was a great exercise and hopefully if you make it again in a different fabric you will have a better result.
8/2/08 12:04 PM
Karendee said...
I do like the way you look in this Kimono-style top. Most wrap tops look entirely too low cut, as if they would unwrap momentarily. Good Review!
8/4/08 6:26 PM
trclaws said...
What a helpful review, especially with so many construction photos - I was amazed by the one showing the end of the band joining the garment with perfectly matched right angled stripes! And I DO love seersucker. I have this pattern - thanks for all the warnings - sounds like I'll need to take my vitamins before I attempt it!
6/25/13 3:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us