Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4287 (Threads Boys & Mens Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 646 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/08 10:36 PM
Last Updated:8/9/08 0:01 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Great shirt, Debbie! It really does fit your kid, and I love the color choice and the buttons, too. It's true that this is a very body-conscious shirt. I'm depressed to learn that Simplicity has discontinued it, because it's the only such pattern I have ever found. Darn it. Simp HAS proved themselves responsive to emails, so maybe they'd listen to complaints from customers.
7/28/08 10:46 PM
Speech girl said...
Wonderful shirt and it seems to really suit your ds. It's a great style.
7/28/08 10:55 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic shirt! This is a great style for your DS and it fits so nicely. Great idea about the choice of fabric too!
7/29/08 0:20 AM
MissCelie said...
Ok, DS is a big boy! But, that shirt give him the perfect, cool, retro vibe. Great shirt.
7/29/08 5:54 AM
McFeather said...
What a great shirt! Love the details, too.
7/29/08 6:14 AM
Darla in PA said...
Great shirt! The style is very nice.
7/29/08 6:30 AM
cut a hole in it again said...
Thanks Debbie - I have this pattern somewhere! I am going to dig it out and give it a whirl with some stashed knit. TG for stashes! I like the topstitching, I wonder if it actually needs the back yoke though? Another great job.
7/29/08 7:50 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I noticed the nice topstitching on the blog. The special thread was a great effect. It is the pits that with as few offerings as there are for men and boys,this one has gone oop. I think this is a really nice looking pattern sewed up. They've got to be kidding about the handstitching when the wonderful machines and threads are available today. I would hate to see what dh and grandsons would do to handstitching. They would need the triple topstitch more than likely.
7/29/08 7:52 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great job on the shirt! And the retro bowling shirt colors look great on him too. You're right--it's very slimming. I can't believe he's that much of a manly size. And as to the photos, boys will be boys! I have one too.
7/29/08 7:59 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice lookign shirt Debbie and thanks for the great review - have the pattern and it's on "my "to do" list for DH - soon.
7/29/08 9:57 AM
Zip said...
Your work is great as usual. Nice details. Thanks for the links as well. Now I'm just hoping I can find the pattern!
7/29/08 10:20 AM
cindyann said...
Cool shirt! Great pattern. You did your usual excellent job. I sooo wish I could get my boys to wear a shirt with a collar.
7/29/08 10:21 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is the coolest shirt I've seen in a long time! Your DS does look nice in it.
7/29/08 12:02 PM
CatMukai said...
wow, are you interested in adopting? Good job!
7/29/08 1:33 PM
Annette1 said...
Great shirt! It is indeed quite slimming. You've got one good-looking boy there (love his hair). :o) I suspect you'll be maknig some more of these. :o) I may look for this one on eBay. I bet my dad would like it too, although his wardrobe is MINIMAL, to say the least, and that's teh way he likes it. I have made him shirts though, and he likes them. On the other hand, he wore the same khakis for a good 20 years, so you see what I mean. :o) Great review!
7/29/08 1:54 PM
PVA said...
Thanks, Debbie -- what a great review! Your DS is a terrific model, even when he's being goofy! Your topstitching always look so neat, even & straight! I especially like it that you always include the things you would do differently with a different kind of fabric and/or etc.
7/29/08 5:58 PM
OP Gal said...
Spiffy shirt! Personally, I like Goofy Model Pose #1. I think DS looks very debonair. He looks swell in the other photos, too. Thanks for the detail in the review, Debbie.
7/29/08 7:14 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Great job! Lovely
7/29/08 9:54 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good looking shirt. I recently bought this after seeing positive reviews of it. I, too, was disappointed and a little baffled that it's OOP. Seems to be a good pattern with some great options.
7/30/08 2:36 PM
marykpfist said...
incredible! Thanks for the collar tip- I will definitely try it. :-)
8/9/08 9:16 AM
Peterborough Stitch said...
This shirt rocks! Your DS will have something that no-one else in class will be able to match, that's for sure. Fabulous fabrics and you did such a nice job of matching up the pattern on the back; very professional. Way to go!
8/9/08 9:30 AM
indiaw said...
Great looking shirt. It's so hard to find patterns for the guys, when you do, hang on to them for dear life. I love the express collar and use it all the time.
8/9/08 9:47 AM
RLL said...
Another great looking shirt. You son will love wearing it knowing no one else has one like it. I love the re-styling and chevron of the back yoke and then flipping the collar giving the chevron effect there also. Gotta love that collar method!
8/9/08 1:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can't believe that's a double knit! It's got a nice sheen to it, and looks very retro. I love it! Great idea, too, the way you've handled the collar and the yoke. :o)
8/10/08 2:47 AM
AnneM said...
Great shirts! You are always such an inspiration.
9/10/08 9:14 PM
Deepika said...
Debbie, these shirts are great. Thanks for your review. I really need to convince DH that these will look good on him and them make him one :)
10/3/08 2:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 9466 top and skirt
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/13/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB021WT
photo
Review by Mary Nanna on 5/27/10
Read Review

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us