SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Other> Japanese Pattern book 

4 more reviews
Viewed 398 times 
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DorothyKstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/08 11:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trishapatk said... (8/1/08 11:53 AM) Reply
Dorothy, I love seeing the things you have made. They are all interesting and inspiring. You say you are a beginner but you have tackled some complicated projects with successful results. Thanks for putting up your reviews. Keep up the great work!
Mary Gillette said... (7/30/08 10:36 AM) Reply
I ordered the book too! I love your vest.
VtMartha said... (7/30/08 10:04 AM) Reply
Wow! I have this book - now I just need to figure out how to use it. I like your black floor too!
Mahler said... (7/30/08 10:03 AM) Reply
I forgot, here is a useful link to a Japanese-English couture lexicon with other information. http://www.antipope.org/feorag/gosurori/gr-patterns.pdf
nicegirl said... (7/30/08 9:59 AM) Reply
That is a really interesting piece! Love that you are using a Japanese pattern book. I am not ready for that yet!
Barbara V said... (7/30/08 9:51 AM) Reply
You are very courageous to tackle a foreign language pattern. You figured it out and created a beautiful and unique vest. Worn short or long it looks fabulous!
Mahler said... (7/30/08 9:16 AM) Reply
Wonderful !!! I am very much intrigued by those Japanese patterns. I think I will order one or two books to give it a try. Since there is a big hole in the centre, could it be worn as an asymmetric poncho that would fall on one shoulder ? Very interesting. Thank for this great review. You have a great sense of style. Your choice of patterns are great, great, great !
carolynw said... (7/30/08 8:45 AM) Reply
I really love this vest - looks so elegant
AnneMarie60 said... (7/30/08 8:28 AM) Reply
Beautiful vest! You are brave to tackle patterns with foreign-language instructions.
merteuil said... (7/30/08 2:28 AM) Reply
Lovely! These japanese patterns are amazing! I ordered the book and can't wait to get it. Your fabric looks like an excellent choice for this pattern!
SueV said... (7/29/08 11:59 PM) Reply
alright, I gotta get this book, particularly since a professor I work for is from Kyoto and can translate...
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Pattern Details