SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6749 (Misses Dresses)

16 more reviews
Viewed 489 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/08 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
Your alterations for the back skirt worked like a charm! Maybe a back neck dart would help with the back gaping? Your dress is very pretty, bad fabric notwithstanding.
8/5/08 7:17 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Great, detailed review! I have this pattern and will refer back to your review when/if I decide to sew it!
8/6/08 9:47 AM
cindyann said...
Well for all your trouble, the dress looks very nice on you. Your managed to tame that difficult fabric quite well.
8/6/08 9:54 AM
ChristineBR said...
It looks great, don't sweat it. I am wondering if your fabric from hell might be acetate satin. It is all you say and more, and is often less expensive, hence sells for formals which tend to be worn only once. Beware of this stuff at JoAnn's; a number of their satins are acetate.
8/6/08 12:45 PM
Tonya said...
You know Christine, I think you're right. I did a burn test and it seemed mostly like polyester but I wondered if there was an acetate component. I thought acetate waterspotted really bad though, and my iron spit all over this fabric with no ill effect. Does an acetate satin not have that problem?
8/6/08 10:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Coat

photo
by: Lisa Laree

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 249743-1000

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now