SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6749 (Misses Dresses)

17 more reviews
Viewed 496 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 58 (patterns: 50)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/08 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tonya said... (8/6/08 10:34 PM) Reply
You know Christine, I think you're right. I did a burn test and it seemed mostly like polyester but I wondered if there was an acetate component. I thought acetate waterspotted really bad though, and my iron spit all over this fabric with no ill effect. Does an acetate satin not have that problem?
ChristineBR said... (8/6/08 12:45 PM) Reply
It looks great, don't sweat it. I am wondering if your fabric from hell might be acetate satin. It is all you say and more, and is often less expensive, hence sells for formals which tend to be worn only once. Beware of this stuff at JoAnn's; a number of their satins are acetate.
cindyann said... (8/6/08 9:54 AM) Reply
Well for all your trouble, the dress looks very nice on you. Your managed to tame that difficult fabric quite well.
RobinMCPA said... (8/6/08 9:47 AM) Reply
Great, detailed review! I have this pattern and will refer back to your review when/if I decide to sew it!
Kay Y said... (8/5/08 7:17 PM) Reply
Your alterations for the back skirt worked like a charm! Maybe a back neck dart would help with the back gaping? Your dress is very pretty, bad fabric notwithstanding.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2866

photo
by: SJ Kurtz

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Pattern Details
McCall's 5525

photo
by: Merche

Review