SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6749 (Misses Dresses)

16 more reviews
Viewed 490 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/08 6:38 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tonya said...
You know Christine, I think you're right. I did a burn test and it seemed mostly like polyester but I wondered if there was an acetate component. I thought acetate waterspotted really bad though, and my iron spit all over this fabric with no ill effect. Does an acetate satin not have that problem?
8/6/08 10:34 PM
ChristineBR said...
It looks great, don't sweat it. I am wondering if your fabric from hell might be acetate satin. It is all you say and more, and is often less expensive, hence sells for formals which tend to be worn only once. Beware of this stuff at JoAnn's; a number of their satins are acetate.
8/6/08 12:45 PM
cindyann said...
Well for all your trouble, the dress looks very nice on you. Your managed to tame that difficult fabric quite well.
8/6/08 9:54 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Great, detailed review! I have this pattern and will refer back to your review when/if I decide to sew it!
8/6/08 9:47 AM
Kay Y said...
Your alterations for the back skirt worked like a charm! Maybe a back neck dart would help with the back gaping? Your dress is very pretty, bad fabric notwithstanding.
8/5/08 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 9784

photo
by: cybperry

Review
StyleArc Wendy Pant

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

More Info