Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-104 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 477 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Flying Seamstress
photo
Friend of PR
About Flying Seamstressstar
SC USA
Member since: 2/5/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/08 3:20 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Wow! That's fabulous! :)
7/30/08 3:37 PM
gramma b said...
Very pretty! I am a "senior" and haven't tried a Burda yet. Are the gathers just held in by the belt? I imagine if you left off the contrasting trim, it wouldn't call attention to a thick waist? How did you decide on the 34? What was the most difficult in trying Burda for the first time? Thanks!
7/30/08 3:38 PM
RobinMCPA said...
This is gorgeous!! I haven't yet been brave enough to try a BWOF pattern, but I love how you walked through all of the adjustments you made to "petite" the pattern and adjust for your body type! I have a sneaking suspicion that my left and right hip are not exactly symmetrical either, but I need to confirm this theory.
7/30/08 4:36 PM
Beek said...
Great dress! I love your selection of fabric. What fun this will be for you to wear!
7/30/08 5:33 PM
Karen6790 said...
The fabric really takes this dress to a different level. Absolutely gorgeous.
7/30/08 10:32 PM
Fran G said...
Wow! For a first BWOF, this is fabulous! Even for a 2nd, 3rd or 4th BWOF, this is wonderful! Being a BWOF o-phile myself, I appreciate your work. Isn't the fit on BWOF's wonderful? I, too, am interested in hearing how you settled on the sizing you did. Was it because of the knit fabric used? At any rate, congratulations and welcomwe to the world of Burda!
7/31/08 8:21 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing and beautifully constructed! Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7/31/08 9:37 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Ladies, thank you for the wonderful comments! kso, the most difficult task in taking the bwof plunge was deciding which design to sew! :) The gathers are actually a horizontal dart on the original pattern; I converted the front pattern piece into a bodice & skirt, so there are gathers at the seam line where the horizontal dart would have been positioned. Does that make sense? The drape is really just decoration, but you certainly could make it fit as snug as you would like. If you look at my wearable muslin pic (as well as the other reviews of this pattern), there is no contrasting trim on the drape so you can decide which look you prefer. I chose trim for this particular fabric because it just "needed" it, IMHO. :) As for selecting size 34, I would like to answer that in more detail, so I will update this review with pics and thought process (how scary!!!), ok?
7/31/08 3:58 PM
Athene said...
Lovely dress. Great fabric print. The muslin is also a really nice print.
7/31/08 6:02 PM
trishapatk said...
Great looking dresses ... both of 'em. Your sewing looks great too. I love the choice of fabric for the design ... the two work together so well. As for finding good buckles, I have difficulty too. I buy belts and even shoes from thrift shops just to get the buckles. Once I'm a paying member I'll write to you so we can discuss finding a good source. In the meantime though ... great job on both dresses! It inspires me.
8/2/08 8:12 PM
katyusha said...
Both dresses are gorgeous. Thank you for such a thorough review!
8/25/08 7:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3253
photo
Review by Reedy on 3/24/05
Read Review

McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6935 Pattern
Burda 6935 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8202
photo
Review by lilhoney57 on 1/13/06
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us