SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2002-114B (Raglan tunic)

Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 126
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/08 10:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said... (8/1/08 5:33 AM) Reply
The photo of the top on model would lead you to believe that it is close fitting. Still nice top and the way you wore it for work does make it a nice looking top.
marthamyers said... (7/31/08 10:01 PM) Reply
This looks great on you! The color is perfect for your coloring. I think it would also look good during winter with a long-sleeve T underneath. And, as other reviewers have noted, you created a great stylish work outfit with it. Nice work!
Nancywin said... (7/31/08 8:23 PM) Reply
You've made a very nice, pulled together look with this, even though it is not what you originally wanted. This style does not work on me, but looks great on you!
Sherril Miller said... (7/31/08 3:05 PM) Reply
You look adorable in that work outfit. I think the ties could be shortened a bit, but the belt helps give it some shape and looks nice.
Vintage Joan said... (7/31/08 12:48 PM) Reply
I think it would work better a few sizes smaller, but it's still nice. (I guess this means some styles have gotten much more fitted in the last six years?) I like the shape of this top. :)
crisford said... (7/31/08 11:07 AM) Reply
It looks like a cute top, though it's probably larger on you than intended. I always have to take up the shoulders on Burda. I'm not sure how you were tying the ties, but definitely not a bow. They look a little funny just hanging down on the white version; maybe make a small loop of the same fabric like a napkin ring and thread the ties through? It's better to have longer ties than ones that are too short. It's a very pretty blouse, especially since it's silk!
bevaau replied...(1/24/15 3:02 AM)
I am about to try this - having made note of the size problem! - but just wanted to say what a great idea about the small loop for the ties! i had thought of shortening them right back to a 'mandarin collar' style but maybe now I will leave them a little longer and try your idea. Thank you.
maryfrana said... (7/31/08 11:01 AM) Reply
You look adorable in the work outfit. I like this top, even untied. You expected something else so you are disappointed but honestly, this is a great looking top. Love the fabric too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Pattern Details
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Pattern Details