SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8474 (Vogue Woman Dress & Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:ButtonFaith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ButtonFaithstar
NJ USA
Member since: 10/29/05
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/08 4:07 PM
Last Updated:8/3/08 2:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolee01 said...
Very pretty, especially with the little jacket. Maybe you could wear it with a short sleeve shell underneath so that you would feel less bare and then your lovely button detail would show.
8/2/08 4:37 PM
Karendee said...
Darling dress. The sweater jac looks cute, too.
8/2/08 5:09 PM
AnitaJJ said...
It is a very pretty dress and your button loops are very nice. I'm sorry you think it's too bare, but with the sweater, it looks gorgeous.
8/2/08 5:11 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Simply stylish ~ I really like this pattern! Your version is sooooo pretty!!!
8/2/08 5:22 PM
BillieJean said...
I'm so sorry this didn't turn out the way you had envisioned it. It is always so disappointing when this happens. Glad you could salvage the situation with the sweater. That makes a really cute outfit.
8/2/08 5:31 PM
Izzie said...
Thanks for reviewing this, I have this pattern in my stash, but I've avoided it since I realized that the closure incorporates the dart on that side and I haven't wanted to tackle an FBA like that. Your dress turned out great, cool and breezy!
8/2/08 7:16 PM
Annette1 said...
This is a beautiful dress! I especially like the little buttons at the asymmetric close, too. And your jacket looks like it was MADE for it. :o) You really shine in these colors!
8/3/08 6:56 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review, the dress looks very nice. I've learned the same thing about comparing bust measurement to pattern envelope when choosing which size to cut. I realized my shoulder width hasn't changed since I stopped growing and the shoulders is where things hang from. This became clear to me after I drafted a personal sloper and compared that with a commercial pattern.
8/3/08 7:37 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review, the dress looks very nice. I've learned the same thing about comparing bust measurement to pattern envelope when choosing which size to cut. I realized my shoulder width hasn't changed since I stopped growing and the shoulders is where things hang from. This became clear to me after I drafted a personal sloper and compared that with a commercial pattern.
8/3/08 7:37 PM
Larkin said...
I'm dealing with the middle aged body, too. This dress looks really cute - I'm glad the sweater helped save it from some of the shortcomings. The button details are so cute - hope we'll see another try!
8/3/08 11:14 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your pretty dress looks much, much better than the pattern book version. I like the neckline shape and button detail and will put this on my must try list. Your attention to the detail on the buttons/loops business paid off with a great look. Sweater jacket is perfect solution. I'd say try again with a few adjustments for upper fit and you will have this dog licked and be able to show off those buttons.
8/4/08 8:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I really like your dress with the sweater - great color choices!!
8/4/08 11:32 AM
Athene said...
This is a very pretty dress. After I read Plottie's review I found your review - both of you got such nice results - makes me want the pattern.
3/19/09 0:12 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
It is very, very pretty. Thanks for sharing your review!
8/14/11 1:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now