Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8474 (Vogue Woman Dress & Jacket) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 579 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:ButtonFaith
photo
Friend of PR
About ButtonFaithstar
NJ USA
Member since: 10/29/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/08 4:07 PM
Last Updated:8/3/08 2:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolee01 said...
Very pretty, especially with the little jacket. Maybe you could wear it with a short sleeve shell underneath so that you would feel less bare and then your lovely button detail would show.
8/2/08 4:37 PM
Karendee said...
Darling dress. The sweater jac looks cute, too.
8/2/08 5:09 PM
AnitaJJ said...
It is a very pretty dress and your button loops are very nice. I'm sorry you think it's too bare, but with the sweater, it looks gorgeous.
8/2/08 5:11 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Simply stylish ~ I really like this pattern! Your version is sooooo pretty!!!
8/2/08 5:22 PM
BillieJean said...
I'm so sorry this didn't turn out the way you had envisioned it. It is always so disappointing when this happens. Glad you could salvage the situation with the sweater. That makes a really cute outfit.
8/2/08 5:31 PM
Izzie said...
Thanks for reviewing this, I have this pattern in my stash, but I've avoided it since I realized that the closure incorporates the dart on that side and I haven't wanted to tackle an FBA like that. Your dress turned out great, cool and breezy!
8/2/08 7:16 PM
Annette1 said...
This is a beautiful dress! I especially like the little buttons at the asymmetric close, too. And your jacket looks like it was MADE for it. :o) You really shine in these colors!
8/3/08 6:56 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review, the dress looks very nice. I've learned the same thing about comparing bust measurement to pattern envelope when choosing which size to cut. I realized my shoulder width hasn't changed since I stopped growing and the shoulders is where things hang from. This became clear to me after I drafted a personal sloper and compared that with a commercial pattern.
8/3/08 7:37 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review, the dress looks very nice. I've learned the same thing about comparing bust measurement to pattern envelope when choosing which size to cut. I realized my shoulder width hasn't changed since I stopped growing and the shoulders is where things hang from. This became clear to me after I drafted a personal sloper and compared that with a commercial pattern.
8/3/08 7:37 PM
Larkin said...
I'm dealing with the middle aged body, too. This dress looks really cute - I'm glad the sweater helped save it from some of the shortcomings. The button details are so cute - hope we'll see another try!
8/3/08 11:14 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your pretty dress looks much, much better than the pattern book version. I like the neckline shape and button detail and will put this on my must try list. Your attention to the detail on the buttons/loops business paid off with a great look. Sweater jacket is perfect solution. I'd say try again with a few adjustments for upper fit and you will have this dog licked and be able to show off those buttons.
8/4/08 8:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I really like your dress with the sweater - great color choices!!
8/4/08 11:32 AM
Athene said...
This is a very pretty dress. After I read Plottie's review I found your review - both of you got such nice results - makes me want the pattern.
3/19/09 0:12 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
It is very, very pretty. Thanks for sharing your review!
8/14/11 1:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/4/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2885
photo
Review by knitmachin... on 7/17/12
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 7881 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 7881 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3629 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 3629 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us