Online Sewing Class: Understanding Wool Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7236 (Womens Pant, Short, and Top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1426 times 
Reviewed by:Cattgirl
photo

 
 
About Cattgirlstar
MI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:03 AM
Last Updated:7/30/03 12:55 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said... (7/30/03 4:55 PM) Reply
Catgirl, these pants look really good on you. Good review, and glad to see more size 18 women putting out reviews and pics.
Mini said... (7/30/03 4:30 PM) Reply
Thank you so much for reviewing the Simplicity jacket and this pattern. We are the same height and figure, so it is very helpful to see your photos. I have have tried tops like this that don't work because they don't have bust darts. This looks like a better choice. Anne, this is a large size pattern, but the model is tall and thin. That is why the pants look cropped in the pattern illustration:).
AnneM said... (7/30/03 1:20 PM) Reply
P.S. I don't consider you at all short. Of course, I'm 5'3" & my DM is 5'2".
AnneM said... (7/30/03 1:19 PM) Reply
Thanks for the response & advice. I was thinking of doing a knit pant as my first try; perhaps I will reconsider that. :o You have great fabrics; I like this one as well as the others in your recent pictures.
Cattgirl said... (7/30/03 12:44 PM) Reply
Thanks, Anne. The pants are full length on me and the pattern describes them as full length. I'm on the short side, though (I'm 5' 4"), so you may want to consider lengthening if you're taller. This pattern was pretty easy as far as pants go - very straightforward and easy to follow. Give it a shot, take your time, use a good, stable fabric (the first pair of pants I tried were with a stretch jersey and let's just say as little about that as possible - it was that bad), and I'm sure you'll have a great pair of pants when you're done.
AnneM said... (7/30/03 7:34 AM) Reply
Congrats on another success. I have yet to try making pants. I've considered this pattern for my DM. The pants look a touch short in the drawing; is that just because they have the model wearing heels? Or are they designed that way?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2007-118

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Vogue Patterns 2481

photo
by: Jonni Ange...

Review
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details