SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2959 (Laura Lynn Collection)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1625 times 
Reviewed by:smithopfer
photo

 
 
About smithopferstar
OH USA
Member since: 7/19/05
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/08 9:24 PM
Last Updated:8/4/08 1:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people    Off-topic by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Can't decide what's more spectacular, the dress or the entire photograph! Your picture is much better than the pattern envelope. The dress and the design are really fantastic! (BTW, I live in Lakewood!)
8/3/08 10:02 PM
okie2thdoc said...
They should use your picture on the envelope. I agree, it's very flattering- it doesn't hurt to look like her either;)
8/3/08 10:03 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely stunning gown! Please don't feel silly reviewing your own design. It's really no different than any of us reviewing our own self-drafted patterns. It's so wonderful to see a pattern made by the designer, exactly as it was intended. It's a beautiful design! I love the bodice. If you have any construction tips that Simplicity didn't include in the instructions I'd love to hear them.
8/3/08 11:03 PM
Lori V said...
This is a stunning dress and I agree with the others, this picture should be used by Simplicity.
8/3/08 11:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I mean SERIOUSLY, that Simplicity picture is hideous. This gown belongs on a celebrity or princess. How could they massacre it so? The bodice does not represent the true beauty of the gown. You are very talented and this is a true beautiful, classsic.
8/4/08 1:25 AM
Vonnevo said...
Your gown is spectacular and I would never have guessed it was that Simplicity pattern. I would appreciate any tips you can add for the construction and perhaps the most suitable fabrics to use. I am adding the pattern to my wish list so that I have it when a need arises. The design is elegant and timeless.
8/4/08 3:51 AM
Kay Y said...
That is spectacular! I wish that your review told us more about the construction of the gown. More pictures would be very welcome too!
8/4/08 9:19 AM
Timmithea said...
The gown is very beautiful on the model you have shown. I would not have touched this pattern had I not seen your interpretation. I go to many balls and would love to see this dress in a different color. How striking.
8/4/08 9:23 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I, too, think this is so beautiful. Love your photo but certainly would appreciate some closeups to see the detailing.
8/4/08 9:38 AM
born2bead said...
It's absolutely gorgeous and you take the best pictures. Is it possible to attach a larger view - this one is pretty small.
8/4/08 10:49 AM
cindyann said...
I couldn't help myself and had to see if you had a website. Your work is fantastic! Really impressive.
8/4/08 11:57 AM
michellep74 said...
Wow, that gown is stunning! Just based off that picture, if that gown was available in a non-strapless version, I might even consider it for my own wedding in a year!
8/4/08 1:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This gown is truly beautiful. I'd love to hear more about the construction process.
8/4/08 1:56 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Not only is the dress spectacular, but the photo is gorgeous too.
8/4/08 2:16 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It's not really silly, but it is definitely spam..
8/4/08 2:28 PM
AngieC said...
All I can say is WOW!
8/4/08 2:55 PM
avancleve said...
Amazing. I agree that the pattern on the envelope does not do the dress justice. More than once, I have purchased a pattern based on a pattern review photo that I would never have purchased based on the envelope pattern.
8/4/08 2:59 PM
DorothyK said...
Exquisite. I wish I had an excuse to make it.
8/4/08 4:19 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Why on earth are Simplicity not showing a photo of your gorgeous design on the pattern envelope? I wouldn't look twice at their drawing, but the dress is superb!
8/4/08 5:23 PM
PVA said...
Wow! At first I thought someone made a mistake & switched the pattern photo with the reviewer's photo! (My Bad!) I will definitely get this pattern -- I have at least one DGD who could wear this dress. I would hate myself if I didn't have it in the stash & she asked if I'd make. . .(fill in the blanks.) Thank you for the review. What a beautiful creation & spectacular photo!
8/4/08 6:20 PM
SueV said...
more construction techniques or an actual pattern review would be helpful. thanks
8/4/08 7:19 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
OMG! What a beautiful gown. I agree with leanmeansewingmachine; the photography is outstanding. Simplicity should use your photo.
8/4/08 8:33 PM
shesflipped said...
This is simply stunning! Thank you for sharing this gorgeous design with us!
8/6/08 9:17 AM
Sheila457 said...
Breathtakingly stunning gown.
8/6/08 11:10 AM
JamieLiz said...
Really beautiful! I would love to see this dress done in the shorter version.
8/6/08 10:09 PM
annaminiac said...
I love that you reviewed this dress. I'm attempting to make this as my wedding dress in silk taffeta with a gorgeous slightly shimmery chiffon for the sashes. Do you think the dress would be as beautiful if the skirt were slightly less full? I'm petite and think the skirt might be a bit much for my height.
8/8/08 6:40 PM
annaminiac said...

8/8/08 7:14 PM
SarahSews said...
Simply Stunning!
8/14/08 11:10 AM
EveS said...
The photo is lovely, but it really doesn't tell me a whole lot about the pattern. I'd love to have more specific information re construction, the pattern instructions, etc. that I could refer to if I ever chose to make this dress myself.
8/15/08 1:33 AM
Annette1 said...
Dang it, I had a BRILLIANT comment, but I closed out the screen and lost it. At any rate, I was saying that I used to be a photojournalist, and one of the best parts of that job was knowing that I was getting the information straight from the SOURCE. Well, YOU'RE the source in this instance, so PLEASE keep reviewing your designs, and give us ALL THE GORY DETAILS. It's impossible to give too much information on Pattern Review, because people have the ability to just skip over what they don't want to read, we're not charged by the word, and we don't have to cram our reviews into the 3x3 open slot on page 3. :o) That's the way I look at it. As for your design, I LOVE it. I have to agree with some of the others here and say that I'm not so sure I would have even noticed it were it not for your photo highlighting this lovely design. I think it would so pretty even as a sundress in cotton or linen. I bet your brides would be honored to have their pictures featured here on Pattern Review in all of your FUTURE REVIEWS. :o) Thanks for highlighting this little sleeper for us.
8/15/08 9:24 PM
jgl said...
your dress looks far more lovely than the photo on the pattern jacket.
3/19/09 3:32 AM
Spring said...
OMG! Im buying this one next time Im out...just in case I ever need it. I love it.
4/6/09 12:05 PM
Nyssa said...
HELP PLEASE??!!! I am making this dress for a bridesmaid however she has told me she doesn't want the frill at the bottom (on option C) or the bow...now I don't know why she picked it if she doesn't want the features on it...but can this dress be made with no tie? I think it would still need the wrap bit at the front but I don't know if it would work at all. Plus, I think it would look funny like that. Any suggestions anyone???
4/13/09 3:19 AM
MountainGirl520 said...
Smithopfer, thank you so much for designing this pattern! It's a beautiful and versatile dress. My mom and I are starting on it now for my wedding next fall. What do you think about using the muslin mock-up we're doing as the lining for the final silk dress?
10/11/09 3:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1003

photo
by: julliams

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
McCall's M6167

photo
by: harmony758

Review