Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2959 (Laura Lynn Collection) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1622 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people    Off-topic by 1 people   
Reviewed by:smithopfer
photo
About smithopferstar
OH USA
Member since: 7/19/05
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/08 9:24 PM
Last Updated:8/4/08 1:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Can't decide what's more spectacular, the dress or the entire photograph! Your picture is much better than the pattern envelope. The dress and the design are really fantastic! (BTW, I live in Lakewood!)
8/3/08 10:02 PM
okie2thdoc said...
They should use your picture on the envelope. I agree, it's very flattering- it doesn't hurt to look like her either;)
8/3/08 10:03 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely stunning gown! Please don't feel silly reviewing your own design. It's really no different than any of us reviewing our own self-drafted patterns. It's so wonderful to see a pattern made by the designer, exactly as it was intended. It's a beautiful design! I love the bodice. If you have any construction tips that Simplicity didn't include in the instructions I'd love to hear them.
8/3/08 11:03 PM
Lori V said...
This is a stunning dress and I agree with the others, this picture should be used by Simplicity.
8/3/08 11:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I mean SERIOUSLY, that Simplicity picture is hideous. This gown belongs on a celebrity or princess. How could they massacre it so? The bodice does not represent the true beauty of the gown. You are very talented and this is a true beautiful, classsic.
8/4/08 1:25 AM
Vonnevo said...
Your gown is spectacular and I would never have guessed it was that Simplicity pattern. I would appreciate any tips you can add for the construction and perhaps the most suitable fabrics to use. I am adding the pattern to my wish list so that I have it when a need arises. The design is elegant and timeless.
8/4/08 3:51 AM
Kay Y said...
That is spectacular! I wish that your review told us more about the construction of the gown. More pictures would be very welcome too!
8/4/08 9:19 AM
Timmithea said...
The gown is very beautiful on the model you have shown. I would not have touched this pattern had I not seen your interpretation. I go to many balls and would love to see this dress in a different color. How striking.
8/4/08 9:23 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I, too, think this is so beautiful. Love your photo but certainly would appreciate some closeups to see the detailing.
8/4/08 9:38 AM
born2bead said...
It's absolutely gorgeous and you take the best pictures. Is it possible to attach a larger view - this one is pretty small.
8/4/08 10:49 AM
cindyann said...
I couldn't help myself and had to see if you had a website. Your work is fantastic! Really impressive.
8/4/08 11:57 AM
michellep74 said...
Wow, that gown is stunning! Just based off that picture, if that gown was available in a non-strapless version, I might even consider it for my own wedding in a year!
8/4/08 1:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This gown is truly beautiful. I'd love to hear more about the construction process.
8/4/08 1:56 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Not only is the dress spectacular, but the photo is gorgeous too.
8/4/08 2:16 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It's not really silly, but it is definitely spam..
8/4/08 2:28 PM
AngieC said...
All I can say is WOW!
8/4/08 2:55 PM
avancleve said...
Amazing. I agree that the pattern on the envelope does not do the dress justice. More than once, I have purchased a pattern based on a pattern review photo that I would never have purchased based on the envelope pattern.
8/4/08 2:59 PM
DorothyK said...
Exquisite. I wish I had an excuse to make it.
8/4/08 4:19 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Why on earth are Simplicity not showing a photo of your gorgeous design on the pattern envelope? I wouldn't look twice at their drawing, but the dress is superb!
8/4/08 5:23 PM
PVA said...
Wow! At first I thought someone made a mistake & switched the pattern photo with the reviewer's photo! (My Bad!) I will definitely get this pattern -- I have at least one DGD who could wear this dress. I would hate myself if I didn't have it in the stash & she asked if I'd make. . .(fill in the blanks.) Thank you for the review. What a beautiful creation & spectacular photo!
8/4/08 6:20 PM
SueV said...
more construction techniques or an actual pattern review would be helpful. thanks
8/4/08 7:19 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
OMG! What a beautiful gown. I agree with leanmeansewingmachine; the photography is outstanding. Simplicity should use your photo.
8/4/08 8:33 PM
shesflipped said...
This is simply stunning! Thank you for sharing this gorgeous design with us!
8/6/08 9:17 AM
Sheila457 said...
Breathtakingly stunning gown.
8/6/08 11:10 AM
JamieLiz said...
Really beautiful! I would love to see this dress done in the shorter version.
8/6/08 10:09 PM
annaminiac said...
I love that you reviewed this dress. I'm attempting to make this as my wedding dress in silk taffeta with a gorgeous slightly shimmery chiffon for the sashes. Do you think the dress would be as beautiful if the skirt were slightly less full? I'm petite and think the skirt might be a bit much for my height.
8/8/08 6:40 PM
annaminiac said...

8/8/08 7:14 PM
SarahSews said...
Simply Stunning!
8/14/08 11:10 AM
EveS said...
The photo is lovely, but it really doesn't tell me a whole lot about the pattern. I'd love to have more specific information re construction, the pattern instructions, etc. that I could refer to if I ever chose to make this dress myself.
8/15/08 1:33 AM
Annette1 said...
Dang it, I had a BRILLIANT comment, but I closed out the screen and lost it. At any rate, I was saying that I used to be a photojournalist, and one of the best parts of that job was knowing that I was getting the information straight from the SOURCE. Well, YOU'RE the source in this instance, so PLEASE keep reviewing your designs, and give us ALL THE GORY DETAILS. It's impossible to give too much information on Pattern Review, because people have the ability to just skip over what they don't want to read, we're not charged by the word, and we don't have to cram our reviews into the 3x3 open slot on page 3. :o) That's the way I look at it. As for your design, I LOVE it. I have to agree with some of the others here and say that I'm not so sure I would have even noticed it were it not for your photo highlighting this lovely design. I think it would so pretty even as a sundress in cotton or linen. I bet your brides would be honored to have their pictures featured here on Pattern Review in all of your FUTURE REVIEWS. :o) Thanks for highlighting this little sleeper for us.
8/15/08 9:24 PM
jgl said...
your dress looks far more lovely than the photo on the pattern jacket.
3/19/09 3:32 AM
Spring said...
OMG! Im buying this one next time Im out...just in case I ever need it. I love it.
4/6/09 12:05 PM
Nyssa said...
HELP PLEASE??!!! I am making this dress for a bridesmaid however she has told me she doesn't want the frill at the bottom (on option C) or the bow...now I don't know why she picked it if she doesn't want the features on it...but can this dress be made with no tie? I think it would still need the wrap bit at the front but I don't know if it would work at all. Plus, I think it would look funny like that. Any suggestions anyone???
4/13/09 3:19 AM
MountainGirl520 said...
Smithopfer, thank you so much for designing this pattern! It's a beautiful and versatile dress. My mom and I are starting on it now for my wedding next fall. What do you think about using the muslin mock-up we're doing as the lining for the final silk dress?
10/11/09 3:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2642
photo
Review by anncie1 on 7/30/12
Read Review

Vogue 8846 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8846 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3988 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3988 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-109
photo
Review by KateS on 2/8/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us