Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-135 (smocked baby dress)

Viewed 230 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews: 202 (patterns: 201)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/08 8:02 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said... (8/5/08 3:22 PM) Reply
Man, what an IMPROVEMENT you made over the pattern as drafted. I can see that, and I'm not even a smocker! They're BOTH really cute though, I must say. :o)
moushka said... (8/5/08 7:22 AM) Reply
Thank you for taking the time to explain the differences between a good and poor smocking pattern and for wading into the comparison for those who might be brave enough to try Burda's pattern. What a shame that Burda came up short on this one when they do other things so well. I think there is also a real problem with translation that complicates the issue, but it seems clear that the original pattern does not give the results intended. Thank heaven for AS&E and Sew Beautiful! I'm not a smocker but I have several issues of AS&E that I purchased for the eye candy photography! As always, your smocking is lovely. Thanks for an extremely helpful review. Sue
CA Eisenhour said... (8/4/08 10:35 PM) Reply
Karen, thanks so much for your detailed, timely review. As always, your smocking just amazes me! I hope to be half as good as you are; one of these days. ~Connie
Heatherbelle said... (8/4/08 5:19 PM) Reply
That is a lovely dress and a very valuable review - I dream of smocking one day but am currently being diverted by quilting...so many crafts so little time!
sewtime said... (8/4/08 4:08 PM) Reply
Love the little dress. Thank you for taking the time to write all that you did down. I would love to try smocking..looks so hard. you did a great job!
VtMartha said... (8/4/08 8:10 AM) Reply
I've been following your experiments with great interest! Thanks for taking the time to sort it out. Your smocking is always amazing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Simplicity 1370

photo
by: chuichoy

Review
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Maggie Paper Pattern

Maggie Paper Pattern

Pattern Details