SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-135 (smocked baby dress)

Viewed 229 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews: 201 (patterns: 200)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/08 8:02 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said... (8/5/08 3:22 PM) Reply
Man, what an IMPROVEMENT you made over the pattern as drafted. I can see that, and I'm not even a smocker! They're BOTH really cute though, I must say. :o)
moushka said... (8/5/08 7:22 AM) Reply
Thank you for taking the time to explain the differences between a good and poor smocking pattern and for wading into the comparison for those who might be brave enough to try Burda's pattern. What a shame that Burda came up short on this one when they do other things so well. I think there is also a real problem with translation that complicates the issue, but it seems clear that the original pattern does not give the results intended. Thank heaven for AS&E and Sew Beautiful! I'm not a smocker but I have several issues of AS&E that I purchased for the eye candy photography! As always, your smocking is lovely. Thanks for an extremely helpful review. Sue
CA Eisenhour said... (8/4/08 10:35 PM) Reply
Karen, thanks so much for your detailed, timely review. As always, your smocking just amazes me! I hope to be half as good as you are; one of these days. ~Connie
Heatherbelle said... (8/4/08 5:19 PM) Reply
That is a lovely dress and a very valuable review - I dream of smocking one day but am currently being diverted by quilting...so many crafts so little time!
sewtime said... (8/4/08 4:08 PM) Reply
Love the little dress. Thank you for taking the time to write all that you did down. I would love to try smocking..looks so hard. you did a great job!
VtMartha said... (8/4/08 8:10 AM) Reply
I've been following your experiments with great interest! Thanks for taking the time to sort it out. Your smocking is always amazing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2015-109

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Pattern Details