SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-135 (smocked baby dress)

Viewed 229 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 196
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 195
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/08 8:02 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
I've been following your experiments with great interest! Thanks for taking the time to sort it out. Your smocking is always amazing.
8/4/08 8:10 AM
sewtime said...
Love the little dress. Thank you for taking the time to write all that you did down. I would love to try smocking..looks so hard. you did a great job!
8/4/08 4:08 PM
Heatherbelle said...
That is a lovely dress and a very valuable review - I dream of smocking one day but am currently being diverted by quilting...so many crafts so little time!
8/4/08 5:19 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Karen, thanks so much for your detailed, timely review. As always, your smocking just amazes me! I hope to be half as good as you are; one of these days. ~Connie
8/4/08 10:35 PM
moushka said...
Thank you for taking the time to explain the differences between a good and poor smocking pattern and for wading into the comparison for those who might be brave enough to try Burda's pattern. What a shame that Burda came up short on this one when they do other things so well. I think there is also a real problem with translation that complicates the issue, but it seems clear that the original pattern does not give the results intended. Thank heaven for AS&E and Sew Beautiful! I'm not a smocker but I have several issues of AS&E that I purchased for the eye candy photography! As always, your smocking is lovely. Thanks for an extremely helpful review. Sue
8/5/08 7:22 AM
Annette1 said...
Man, what an IMPROVEMENT you made over the pattern as drafted. I can see that, and I'm not even a smocker! They're BOTH really cute though, I must say. :o)
8/5/08 3:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8667

photo
by: Pamaro

Review
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now