SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3563 (Easy-to-Sew Jackets)

11 more reviews
Viewed 795 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/08 7:21 PM
Last Updated:8/14/08 10:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Lovely jacket! I often forget about suedecloth when I'm thinking of fabrics I want to use - it does sew really nicely. Thanks so much for your review of this pattern - always nice to see great results from an easy pattern. :)
8/4/08 7:33 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking jacket, Nancy. Great choice in fabric.
8/4/08 8:16 PM
sewtime said...
I love,love this jacket! The suede cloth was the perfect choice, and the sleeves look great. You did an excellent job! Be proud of yourself!
8/4/08 8:48 PM
RMJ said...
Love your use of suedecloth with the shinier trim, buttons and cording. I have this jacket pattern and you've inspired me to move it closer to the top of my list!
8/4/08 9:25 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nancy, what a superb job you've done with this! A really, really impressive jacket that looks SO much better than the picture on the pattern envelope. I love everything you've done with this - the choice of fabric, the satin collar and the button loops. Very well done!
8/4/08 9:27 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket!
8/5/08 6:57 AM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty jacket! I've used suedecloth for skirts...I've never thought to use it for a jacket. Thanks for the idea!
8/5/08 10:52 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
How lovely! What a wonderful jacket this will be for fall!
8/5/08 11:28 AM
lostinvegas0 said...
I gota have one. Fantastic fabric.
8/5/08 10:03 PM
Athene said...
Great jacket - thank you for the review - I have the pattern, and I actually have the same fabric stashed in a light tan color. After seeing your results I may be tempted to make one up for the Fall.
8/5/08 10:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunning jacket! Beautifully constructed! Thanks for your timely review!
8/6/08 8:04 AM
chemmom said...
I made this in black fleece and just love the results. (Fleece is very forgiving as the stitches disappear into the fabric). Did you have difficulty keeping the pin tucks parallel on this fabric?
8/6/08 9:26 AM
appleton78 said...
Simply Beautiful!!! You look great and so does your jacket....so rich! Congrats and thanks for this review!
8/6/08 9:56 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Chemmom- in case you look at this again, no, I didn't have any issue keeping the tucks strait. I pin-marked them at the top and the bottom, then used a yardstick to line the pins up, and drew a conecting line with chalk. Then I pinned at top and bottom, matching the lines for the pintuck, and followed the chalk line on the up side for stitching. Make sense?
8/6/08 11:12 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. I love your jacket. The suede cloth is perfect. I never paid much attention to this pattern, but it's now on my wish list. Thanks for the helpful review. I will definitely refer to it when I try the pattern.
8/6/08 12:04 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket! I would never have thought to use suedecloth for this pattern but it looks great.
8/15/08 5:05 AM
Winifred said...
Oh I love this jacket - so beautifully made and the fabric is to die for. Must get this pattern - can think of two pieces in my stash that might be right.
8/17/08 6:54 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty in your fabric. Looks great. Sleeves are in-range. :)
7/14/09 4:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now