Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3563 (Easy-to-Sew Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 794 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/08 7:21 PM
Last Updated:8/14/08 10:28 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Lovely jacket! I often forget about suedecloth when I'm thinking of fabrics I want to use - it does sew really nicely. Thanks so much for your review of this pattern - always nice to see great results from an easy pattern. :)
8/4/08 7:33 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking jacket, Nancy. Great choice in fabric.
8/4/08 8:16 PM
sewtime said...
I love,love this jacket! The suede cloth was the perfect choice, and the sleeves look great. You did an excellent job! Be proud of yourself!
8/4/08 8:48 PM
RMJ said...
Love your use of suedecloth with the shinier trim, buttons and cording. I have this jacket pattern and you've inspired me to move it closer to the top of my list!
8/4/08 9:25 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nancy, what a superb job you've done with this! A really, really impressive jacket that looks SO much better than the picture on the pattern envelope. I love everything you've done with this - the choice of fabric, the satin collar and the button loops. Very well done!
8/4/08 9:27 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket!
8/5/08 6:57 AM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty jacket! I've used suedecloth for skirts...I've never thought to use it for a jacket. Thanks for the idea!
8/5/08 10:52 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
How lovely! What a wonderful jacket this will be for fall!
8/5/08 11:28 AM
lostinvegas0 said...
I gota have one. Fantastic fabric.
8/5/08 10:03 PM
Athene said...
Great jacket - thank you for the review - I have the pattern, and I actually have the same fabric stashed in a light tan color. After seeing your results I may be tempted to make one up for the Fall.
8/5/08 10:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunning jacket! Beautifully constructed! Thanks for your timely review!
8/6/08 8:04 AM
chemmom said...
I made this in black fleece and just love the results. (Fleece is very forgiving as the stitches disappear into the fabric). Did you have difficulty keeping the pin tucks parallel on this fabric?
8/6/08 9:26 AM
appleton78 said...
Simply Beautiful!!! You look great and so does your jacket....so rich! Congrats and thanks for this review!
8/6/08 9:56 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Chemmom- in case you look at this again, no, I didn't have any issue keeping the tucks strait. I pin-marked them at the top and the bottom, then used a yardstick to line the pins up, and drew a conecting line with chalk. Then I pinned at top and bottom, matching the lines for the pintuck, and followed the chalk line on the up side for stitching. Make sense?
8/6/08 11:12 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. I love your jacket. The suede cloth is perfect. I never paid much attention to this pattern, but it's now on my wish list. Thanks for the helpful review. I will definitely refer to it when I try the pattern.
8/6/08 12:04 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket! I would never have thought to use suedecloth for this pattern but it looks great.
8/15/08 5:05 AM
Winifred said...
Oh I love this jacket - so beautifully made and the fabric is to die for. Must get this pattern - can think of two pieces in my stash that might be right.
8/17/08 6:54 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty in your fabric. Looks great. Sleeves are in-range. :)
7/14/09 4:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2561 Women's Pants
photo
Review by SewRusty on 3/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1078 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by AnnQ on 2/19/09
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us