SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-113 (Easy shirtdress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 566 times 
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/08 1:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
I totally overlooked this dress. Wow! Both of your are incredible. I'm not sure a shirtdress would look good on me but you have me wanting to try it. All of the details really make this a fabulous looking dress.
8/5/08 3:19 AM
SansSouci572 said...
I see why you made two~
8/5/08 4:23 AM
BillieJean said...
Cute, cute, cute!
8/5/08 5:37 AM
nellc said...
Great looking dresses, with lots of lovely little details.
8/5/08 8:07 AM
MissCelie said...
This is such a great looking shirt dress. It's definitely on my list!
8/5/08 8:10 AM
figtree said...
Hi great dresses, they both are really nice, well done on the details. Might have to add this to my to do list. So many patterns, so little time!
8/5/08 9:18 AM
Elke said...
Very cute and I also love the little details too!
8/5/08 9:23 AM
Morisot said...
You did a great job on the details. Really nice looking dress.
8/5/08 9:28 AM
cindyann said...
Just perfect! That button band idea is wonderful.
8/5/08 9:50 AM
inkstain said...
Christina, Inspired by your first version, I've made a wearable muslin, but for the life of me, I don't "get" the strings on the pocket flaps. Are they supposed to fasten down the flap to pocket somehow, or are they just cute "handles" for lifting the pockets? Love your new version. Thanks
8/5/08 10:31 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great dress! Love the yellow accents!
8/5/08 10:33 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress! I love both versions! The yellow really makes the second one "pop" with surprise details.
8/5/08 10:47 AM
Christina Sonja said...
inkstain - Yup, as far as I can tell, the little ties on the pocket flaps are just for looks.
8/5/08 11:50 AM
sewtime said...
You look great in this dress, Cute, Cute!
8/5/08 11:55 AM
Diane E said...
Christina, what wonderful wonderful dresses! You look lovely in each version. I must have one of these, too!
8/5/08 12:43 PM
Dei said...
So great! Especially with all the yellow accents. Well done!
8/5/08 12:45 PM
Diane E said...
Well, I obviously really love these dresses because I refreshed my comment! Again, may I say, Christina, good work!!
8/5/08 1:23 PM
AmyG said...
Ok, this is now on my short list! What a great look!
8/5/08 3:45 PM
nicegirl said...
Love it! I wasn't so sure about it in the magazine because it could easily be billowing and shapeless, but you are definitely working it with these!
8/5/08 3:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
These are the cutest shirtdresses I've seen in a while. Such great details!
8/5/08 7:55 PM
MichelleE said...
Just when I look at an outfit in BWOF with model in strange pose and think, ick, you end up making it and change my mind completely! Great job, will have to try this one!
8/6/08 0:39 AM
Margie T said...
Love your dress!
8/6/08 2:00 AM
Fran G said...
Adorable, Christina! Love the yellow contrast and the quite unique button "band." Leave it to Burda to come up with the idea and you to execute it!
8/6/08 7:25 AM
Judy Wentz said...
I am so glad that you reviewed this. I loved it in the magazine, but then forgot about it. You really did a lovely job. Thanks for the review. Isn't it nice to use a Burda pattern more than once. You don't have to trace it the second time. jw
8/6/08 10:11 AM
Bernadette W said...
Both versions are "hp" and timeless!
8/6/08 11:13 AM
Lee-Lee said...
Both versions are beautiful. I've had this on my to-do list, but got stumped when I couldn't find suitable buttons. Thanks for the tips!
8/6/08 3:25 PM
pterion said...
Your dress is way cuter than in the magazine. Love that pop of yellow. At 1.5 dots, maybe even I could attempt this pattern!
8/10/08 3:21 PM
Birgitte said...
My oh my how wonderful you look in both of these! You have convinced me to make this, thank you for an excellent review. I hope you wear them often cause you look fab, fab, fab :))
4/27/09 1:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5743

photo
by: jaxjax

Review
Simplicity 2994

photo
by: Bootzey

Review
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now