Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-113 (Easy shirtdress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 565 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/08 1:18 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
I totally overlooked this dress. Wow! Both of your are incredible. I'm not sure a shirtdress would look good on me but you have me wanting to try it. All of the details really make this a fabulous looking dress.
8/5/08 3:19 AM
SansSouci572 said...
I see why you made two~
8/5/08 4:23 AM
BillieJean said...
Cute, cute, cute!
8/5/08 5:37 AM
nellc said...
Great looking dresses, with lots of lovely little details.
8/5/08 8:07 AM
MissCelie said...
This is such a great looking shirt dress. It's definitely on my list!
8/5/08 8:10 AM
figtree said...
Hi great dresses, they both are really nice, well done on the details. Might have to add this to my to do list. So many patterns, so little time!
8/5/08 9:18 AM
Elke said...
Very cute and I also love the little details too!
8/5/08 9:23 AM
Morisot said...
You did a great job on the details. Really nice looking dress.
8/5/08 9:28 AM
cindyann said...
Just perfect! That button band idea is wonderful.
8/5/08 9:50 AM
inkstain said...
Christina, Inspired by your first version, I've made a wearable muslin, but for the life of me, I don't "get" the strings on the pocket flaps. Are they supposed to fasten down the flap to pocket somehow, or are they just cute "handles" for lifting the pockets? Love your new version. Thanks
8/5/08 10:31 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great dress! Love the yellow accents!
8/5/08 10:33 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress! I love both versions! The yellow really makes the second one "pop" with surprise details.
8/5/08 10:47 AM
Christina Sonja said...
inkstain - Yup, as far as I can tell, the little ties on the pocket flaps are just for looks.
8/5/08 11:50 AM
sewtime said...
You look great in this dress, Cute, Cute!
8/5/08 11:55 AM
Diane E said...
Christina, what wonderful wonderful dresses! You look lovely in each version. I must have one of these, too!
8/5/08 12:43 PM
Dei said...
So great! Especially with all the yellow accents. Well done!
8/5/08 12:45 PM
Diane E said...
Well, I obviously really love these dresses because I refreshed my comment! Again, may I say, Christina, good work!!
8/5/08 1:23 PM
AmyG said...
Ok, this is now on my short list! What a great look!
8/5/08 3:45 PM
nicegirl said...
Love it! I wasn't so sure about it in the magazine because it could easily be billowing and shapeless, but you are definitely working it with these!
8/5/08 3:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
These are the cutest shirtdresses I've seen in a while. Such great details!
8/5/08 7:55 PM
MichelleE said...
Just when I look at an outfit in BWOF with model in strange pose and think, ick, you end up making it and change my mind completely! Great job, will have to try this one!
8/6/08 0:39 AM
Margie T said...
Love your dress!
8/6/08 2:00 AM
Fran G said...
Adorable, Christina! Love the yellow contrast and the quite unique button "band." Leave it to Burda to come up with the idea and you to execute it!
8/6/08 7:25 AM
Judy Wentz said...
I am so glad that you reviewed this. I loved it in the magazine, but then forgot about it. You really did a lovely job. Thanks for the review. Isn't it nice to use a Burda pattern more than once. You don't have to trace it the second time. jw
8/6/08 10:11 AM
Bernadette W said...
Both versions are "hp" and timeless!
8/6/08 11:13 AM
Lee-Lee said...
Both versions are beautiful. I've had this on my to-do list, but got stumped when I couldn't find suitable buttons. Thanks for the tips!
8/6/08 3:25 PM
pterion said...
Your dress is way cuter than in the magazine. Love that pop of yellow. At 1.5 dots, maybe even I could attempt this pattern!
8/10/08 3:21 PM
Birgitte said...
My oh my how wonderful you look in both of these! You have convinced me to make this, thank you for an excellent review. I hope you wear them often cause you look fab, fab, fab :))
4/27/09 1:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3 Ottobre
photo
Review by blue moone... on 6/29/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4589 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 3/22/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us