Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7819 thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 485 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:merry-one
photo
About merry-onestar
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 9
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/08 1:12 PM
Last Updated:8/11/08 1:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Beautiful dress and daughter. I'm sorry you had such a time with the directions. The final result was perfect.
8/11/08 1:32 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful, thank you for sharing.
8/11/08 1:37 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Awesome review........Thanks for the great tips on construction! Don't ya just hate them patterns that have you standing there scratching your head saying, "WHAT?" I usually end up "doing it my way" too! Beautiful dress, Beautiful DD! ~Connie
8/12/08 1:15 AM
merry-one said...
Thank you all! I can't wait for the wedding.
8/12/08 8:09 PM
Mebber said...
I am making this dress for my niece to be a flower girl _ I too will use silk and fine cotton. Your insight is very helpful! Thanks
5/2/09 11:57 AM
Jenleigh23 said...
Beautiful dress! I was thinking of making this dress for my daughter to wear in a wedding and I am so glad to have your insight before I make it! Thanks.
7/6/09 5:48 PM
MammaRae said...
Extremely helpful and well written review. I will keep your suggestions handy when I start the project. My grand-daughter chose this dress for my mother's up-coming nuptials, because "the flowers are tied in the ribbon so you don't have to carry them!"
8/25/09 1:53 AM
Tallahasseelassie said...
Thank you so much for sharing. I appreciate your candor and your advice. Beautiful dress!
9/30/09 11:38 PM
LadybugSewingStudio said...
Thank you so much for sharing your alternative bodice process...I like it! I sometimes struggle with 'crazy' instructions and then end up doing it my way...but I sweat bullets the whole time! Glad to know I'm not alone.
10/9/09 3:52 PM
LadybugSewingStudio said...
I made this dress last week for a client. She was disappointed how "flat" the skirt was. (I followed the directions on the netting...but it is really insufficient.) So, I created a petticote for the dress with about 3.5 yards of netting gathered to a 24 inch waist. THAT worked! Now it has more of a ball-gown shape.
11/5/09 6:19 PM
GeminiSkye said...
Thanks for the great info. I have this pattern cut but have not started sewing. I also found the bodice instructions more complicated than necessary. In sewing it the way you did, where did you start/begin sewing around the neck? I was thinking the shoulder seams since that is where the stitching would end when following the pattern. Also, I wanted to put in an invisible zipper. Aside from the different way of actually installing the zipper, do you need to adjust the pattern (seam allowances, sewing method, etc.) in any way? Thanks for any info!
5/24/10 4:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2633
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 7/20/10
Read Review

Burda 7111 Pattern
Burda 7111 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6079 Vintage 6079
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 9/2/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us