SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9769 (Civil War Undergarments)

33 more reviews
Viewed 549 times 
Reviewed by:Princess Aurora
photo

 
 
About Princess Aurorastar
AZ USA
Member since: 6/9/08
Reviews: 31 (patterns: 21)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/08 2:56 PM
Last Updated:5/20/09 4:57 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by Princess Aurora using this Pattern

photo
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissFit said... (5/20/09 7:43 AM) Reply
Actually I have found most larger women prefer to have spring steel as it provides more support. The smaller you are the less support you need in the bust area and can get away with using spiral. I have made many, many corsets and have used everything from cable ties to plastic whalebone and spiral steel. Just as a warning never use spiral bones on the center back of the corset, the grommets really need the spring steel!
Amy Elizabeth said... (8/11/08 6:42 PM) Reply
Thankyou for the review - I have a different Simplicity civil war era corset pattern that I've been meaning to make, and this has spurred me on. I'd love to see the links you found, and compare my notes with yours. Would you mind sharing what kind of boning you used?
AliciaNoel said... (8/11/08 6:06 PM) Reply
A perfect looking corset! I have always wondered how this pattern could turn out, but been afraid to try. Thanks! I just might cut into the pattern I have soon :)
mesos said... (8/11/08 6:05 PM) Reply
Really liked this info, I own this pattern & have been needing to make same...many thanks for the encouragement.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 5880

photo
by: IveGotStit...

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Pattern Details
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 1803

photo
by: mnitts

Review