SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9769 (Civil War Undergarments)

31 more reviews
Viewed 539 times 
Reviewed by:Princess Aurora
photo

 
 
About Princess Aurorastar
AZ USA
Member since: 6/9/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/08 2:56 PM
Last Updated:5/20/09 4:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mesos said...
Really liked this info, I own this pattern & have been needing to make same...many thanks for the encouragement.
8/11/08 6:05 PM
AliciaNoel said...
A perfect looking corset! I have always wondered how this pattern could turn out, but been afraid to try. Thanks! I just might cut into the pattern I have soon :)
8/11/08 6:06 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Thankyou for the review - I have a different Simplicity civil war era corset pattern that I've been meaning to make, and this has spurred me on. I'd love to see the links you found, and compare my notes with yours. Would you mind sharing what kind of boning you used?
8/11/08 6:42 PM
MissFit said...
Actually I have found most larger women prefer to have spring steel as it provides more support. The smaller you are the less support you need in the bust area and can get away with using spiral. I have made many, many corsets and have used everything from cable ties to plastic whalebone and spiral steel. Just as a warning never use spiral bones on the center back of the corset, the grommets really need the spring steel!
5/20/09 7:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now