SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9769 (Civil War Undergarments)

31 more reviews
Viewed 537 times 
Reviewed by:Princess Aurora
photo

 
 
About Princess Aurorastar
AZ USA
Member since: 6/9/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/08 2:56 PM
Last Updated:5/20/09 4:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mesos said...
Really liked this info, I own this pattern & have been needing to make same...many thanks for the encouragement.
8/11/08 6:05 PM
AliciaNoel said...
A perfect looking corset! I have always wondered how this pattern could turn out, but been afraid to try. Thanks! I just might cut into the pattern I have soon :)
8/11/08 6:06 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Thankyou for the review - I have a different Simplicity civil war era corset pattern that I've been meaning to make, and this has spurred me on. I'd love to see the links you found, and compare my notes with yours. Would you mind sharing what kind of boning you used?
8/11/08 6:42 PM
MissFit said...
Actually I have found most larger women prefer to have spring steel as it provides more support. The smaller you are the less support you need in the bust area and can get away with using spiral. I have made many, many corsets and have used everything from cable ties to plastic whalebone and spiral steel. Just as a warning never use spiral bones on the center back of the corset, the grommets really need the spring steel!
5/20/09 7:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 9958

photo
by: wendybirde

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
McCall's 6078

photo
by: JEH

Review