Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2149 (Men's shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 308 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:neither
photo
About neitherstar
USA
Member since: 12/7/06
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 28
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/08 10:36 PM
Last Updated:9/25/08 5:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $10.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.36  List Price: $12.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathi R said...
Nice looking shirt -- thanks for encouraging guys to sew their own clothes.....clothing construction isn't much different from building furniture, as long as you can visualize how the pieces fit together you can make it.
8/12/08 11:09 AM
dbsewer said...
I love making these types of shirts for my DH so this pattern will go on my must-have list. Love yours. Can you post a source for the fabric?
9/25/08 6:31 PM
neither said...
The name on the selvedge is; Hoffman California International. I get it from my local Quilt shop. They cost about $9+ per yd. the name is Paw Patch Quilt shop: http://www.ppqs.net/. If you know what you want they will probably mail it to you but they are not an internet dealer. I am sure they do sell stuff to online customers though. Go to my website and look at the folder marked clothes you can see some of the other prints they have. http://good-times.webshots.com/album/560428316PuhQkS Good luck. John
9/25/08 7:11 PM
sewtime said...
Nice shirt!
9/25/08 7:11 PM
marec said...
John, Absolutely florid! Not horrid, *florid*. I really like the fabric, your work is terrific and the review was fun to read. As I love to see my husband wear his cool Hawaiian shirts, I may have to move this to the top of the list.
9/25/08 9:14 PM
katlew03 said...
Love the colors. You might try ironing on a very light weight fusible interfacing to the back of your pattern. I have done this to my favorites and it makes them last forever. You do have to be careful to use a cooler temperature on your iron and not iron in any wrinkles. If you start to get one, you can cut into it and overlap. It's the best thing I've come across to preserve much used patterns. Of try freezer paper--shiny side to back of pattern.
9/25/08 11:38 PM
CypGrl said...
Great-looking shirt and a fun review! Alas, I'm having gear problems on my bike and actually had to walk it home today. Do you post on any biking websites, fixedgearhead? :-)
9/25/08 11:39 PM
neither said...
Katlewo3, Thanks for the idea on preservation. I usually iron the patterns and keep them in an unfolded condition between 2 large pieces of thick paper in a flat drawer cabinet, and use tape when they tear. I like the idea of interfacing and will give it a shot. John
9/26/08 5:54 AM
neither said...
Cypgirl. I used to post to various sites that were focused on Fixedgear bikes. , but I didn't like the tone of the postings. They seemed to be populated by young ego heavy male confrontational types with an attitude problem of gaining street cred as to how cool they were. I have been at the bicycle riding game long enough to have established what works for me and my approach to life and riding style to feel comfortable and not be interested in the whole urban warrior style of getting from point A to point B on a bicycle. Most of the posting devolved into juvenile confrontational attacks and who needs that. Life is to short to engage in all that energy when you could just get on the bike and ride. John
9/26/08 6:11 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Once again, very good job on this shirt. And very fun-to-read review!
9/26/08 8:31 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Absolutely gorgeous shirt you have done . Those wonderful cottons are so great for shirts as they are cool if you are outside in the heat and wear so beautifully all the time. Any pattern I use a lot is traced as I like to keep the sizes intact in case I need size changes or want to do one for someone else and it is oop. One that is used repeatedly has any changes made and is on permanent thin fabric like interfacing or semi transparent solid colored fabric that I pick up for these purposes from the $1 table. My friend has ironed freezer paper onto a pattern she uses a lot, punches a hole and hangs the pieces .If you are storing flat that might be work for you as well. I really prefer the thin cloth as they don't take up space,are soft and I can fold them into a gallon ziplok bag with the pattern and guidesheets for easy access and storage for a basic pattern I will use over and over. I even tuck this into one of those 2 gallon bags with the cut out ready to sew garment as my back does not allow me to cut and sew on the same day any more. Thanks for inspiring us with the quality sewing.
9/26/08 9:01 AM
carolynw said...
Love your shirt - the pattern apears on McCall's web site so hope I can get it - DH loves the shirt I make him even when they turn out not quite as nice as I want them to be
9/26/08 9:10 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing shirt! Wonderfully crafted!
9/26/08 10:10 AM
Ody said...
John, 10 Hawaiian shirts??? Well, if the other nine look as good as this one--why not?? Ya know it is possible you are going to be getting a call from Don Ho and a free ticket to Las Vegas to be his personal wardrobe consultant! I love the fabric choice! I would have never picked that for a man's shirt, but it really works! Love it! Love it!
9/26/08 9:18 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks wonderful. Well done. We have similar taste! I love Hawaiian shirts; in fact it was wanting Hawaiian shirts that made me take up sewing again after a long absence, and now I've made lots of them and branched out into other garments and other fabrics as well. Are you familiar with hawaiianfabric.com and their wonderful remnants section? I think you'd like it.
9/27/08 6:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2010-109
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 3/17/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6460
photo
Review by irem on 9/9/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us