SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2149 (Men's shirt)

23 more reviews
Viewed 309 times 
Reviewed by:neither
photo

 
 
About neitherstar
USA
Member since: 12/7/06
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 28
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/08 10:36 PM
Last Updated:9/25/08 5:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathi R said...
Nice looking shirt -- thanks for encouraging guys to sew their own clothes.....clothing construction isn't much different from building furniture, as long as you can visualize how the pieces fit together you can make it.
8/12/08 11:09 AM
dbsewer said...
I love making these types of shirts for my DH so this pattern will go on my must-have list. Love yours. Can you post a source for the fabric?
9/25/08 6:31 PM
neither said...
The name on the selvedge is; Hoffman California International. I get it from my local Quilt shop. They cost about $9+ per yd. the name is Paw Patch Quilt shop: http://www.ppqs.net/. If you know what you want they will probably mail it to you but they are not an internet dealer. I am sure they do sell stuff to online customers though. Go to my website and look at the folder marked clothes you can see some of the other prints they have. http://good-times.webshots.com/album/560428316PuhQkS Good luck. John
9/25/08 7:11 PM
sewtime said...
Nice shirt!
9/25/08 7:11 PM
marec said...
John, Absolutely florid! Not horrid, *florid*. I really like the fabric, your work is terrific and the review was fun to read. As I love to see my husband wear his cool Hawaiian shirts, I may have to move this to the top of the list.
9/25/08 9:14 PM
katlew03 said...
Love the colors. You might try ironing on a very light weight fusible interfacing to the back of your pattern. I have done this to my favorites and it makes them last forever. You do have to be careful to use a cooler temperature on your iron and not iron in any wrinkles. If you start to get one, you can cut into it and overlap. It's the best thing I've come across to preserve much used patterns. Of try freezer paper--shiny side to back of pattern.
9/25/08 11:38 PM
CypGrl said...
Great-looking shirt and a fun review! Alas, I'm having gear problems on my bike and actually had to walk it home today. Do you post on any biking websites, fixedgearhead? :-)
9/25/08 11:39 PM
neither said...
Katlewo3, Thanks for the idea on preservation. I usually iron the patterns and keep them in an unfolded condition between 2 large pieces of thick paper in a flat drawer cabinet, and use tape when they tear. I like the idea of interfacing and will give it a shot. John
9/26/08 5:54 AM
neither said...
Cypgirl. I used to post to various sites that were focused on Fixedgear bikes. , but I didn't like the tone of the postings. They seemed to be populated by young ego heavy male confrontational types with an attitude problem of gaining street cred as to how cool they were. I have been at the bicycle riding game long enough to have established what works for me and my approach to life and riding style to feel comfortable and not be interested in the whole urban warrior style of getting from point A to point B on a bicycle. Most of the posting devolved into juvenile confrontational attacks and who needs that. Life is to short to engage in all that energy when you could just get on the bike and ride. John
9/26/08 6:11 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Once again, very good job on this shirt. And very fun-to-read review!
9/26/08 8:31 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Absolutely gorgeous shirt you have done . Those wonderful cottons are so great for shirts as they are cool if you are outside in the heat and wear so beautifully all the time. Any pattern I use a lot is traced as I like to keep the sizes intact in case I need size changes or want to do one for someone else and it is oop. One that is used repeatedly has any changes made and is on permanent thin fabric like interfacing or semi transparent solid colored fabric that I pick up for these purposes from the $1 table. My friend has ironed freezer paper onto a pattern she uses a lot, punches a hole and hangs the pieces .If you are storing flat that might be work for you as well. I really prefer the thin cloth as they don't take up space,are soft and I can fold them into a gallon ziplok bag with the pattern and guidesheets for easy access and storage for a basic pattern I will use over and over. I even tuck this into one of those 2 gallon bags with the cut out ready to sew garment as my back does not allow me to cut and sew on the same day any more. Thanks for inspiring us with the quality sewing.
9/26/08 9:01 AM
carolynw said...
Love your shirt - the pattern apears on McCall's web site so hope I can get it - DH loves the shirt I make him even when they turn out not quite as nice as I want them to be
9/26/08 9:10 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing shirt! Wonderfully crafted!
9/26/08 10:10 AM
Ody said...
John, 10 Hawaiian shirts??? Well, if the other nine look as good as this one--why not?? Ya know it is possible you are going to be getting a call from Don Ho and a free ticket to Las Vegas to be his personal wardrobe consultant! I love the fabric choice! I would have never picked that for a man's shirt, but it really works! Love it! Love it!
9/26/08 9:18 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks wonderful. Well done. We have similar taste! I love Hawaiian shirts; in fact it was wanting Hawaiian shirts that made me take up sewing again after a long absence, and now I've made lots of them and branched out into other garments and other fabrics as well. Are you familiar with hawaiianfabric.com and their wonderful remnants section? I think you'd like it.
9/27/08 6:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2011-123

photo
by: momtoesthe...

Review
Butterick 5457

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now