SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-106 (Jacket with striped bands)

1 more reviews
Viewed 967 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/08 1:34 AM
Last Updated:8/16/08 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Second Avenue said...
I am thinking of making this jacket and really appreciate the detail you have provided in this review. Your spicy linen jacket looks beautiful and very well sewn. Thanks! Regards, Gaylene (Second Avenue)
3/23/09 12:35 PM
AmyRose said...
Great detail. The bias layout, design changes, trim detail and expert workmanship make this a one of kind jacket, rather than home made.
1/18/09 11:32 AM
Sigrid. said...
WONDERFUL jacket. The fabric used and the way you worked with the stripes is really beautiful. Impeccable work (as always). I'm going to find the issue and will certainly place this on my "to sew list".
8/17/08 2:28 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful jacket and excellent review!
8/17/08 8:16 AM
blue mooney said...
Very striking jacket. I particularly like the button bands and binding on the sleeves. Your creations are an inspiration!
8/16/08 8:33 AM
Linda G said...
Like everything you make, I want one. I did make a basic jacket by this pattern, have not yet reviewed it though, mine is boring yours is striking!!
8/15/08 11:40 AM
cathy45 said...
Another stunner! I so envy your closet.
8/14/08 11:20 PM
Annette1 said...
AWESOME! I love the use of the bias in the design. Great minds think alike, because I've been planning something similar for myself and my aunt. This is a perfect inspiration top in that regard. :o)
8/14/08 1:54 PM
SusiM said...
I can't say enough good things about your excellent review! You answer all the questions about a pattern I am likely to have. The jacket is gorgeous!
8/14/08 10:20 AM
Karen6790 said...
What a wonderful use of stripes! Your work is immaculate and the jacket is absolutely delicious. I would wear this in a heartbeat.
8/14/08 10:03 AM
Fran G said...
Love this jacket! This fabric slipped by me; it is so pretty. Your workmanship is topnotch, as always. I just looked at the pattern in the magazine: do you simply redraft the facing pieces so there is no shoulder seam? I have not read this idea before and Louise Cutting is the queen of reducing bulk, eg. her collar design. Could you elaborate a bit on your facing procedure or tell me where I might find the idea? Thanks!
8/14/08 8:41 AM
Karen8320 said...
Really beautiful work, Debra. The detailing that you've included really takes this to a very high level. I'm very, very impressed.
8/14/08 6:07 AM
Nancywin said...
This turned out to be super-cute. I think I didn't even notice this pattern in the mag - I 'll have to go back and look it up!
8/14/08 1:35 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful use of the stripes. Lovely jacket.
8/13/08 11:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket.
8/13/08 9:46 PM
Mahler said...
Superb! The fabric you used gives it a lot of style.
8/13/08 9:41 PM
2BSewing said...
Stunning! When I saw the jacket photo in the gallery, I knew it was your signature creation. The EOS fabric is gorgeous. As always...enjoyed your review.
8/13/08 7:11 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Gorgeous! I love the bias strips at the shoulder - what a perfect detail! And as always, a very helpful review.
8/13/08 2:12 PM
EveS said...
Oh, I just love everything about this!! I was on the fence w/ the magazine version, but yours has sold me!! I imagine it's quite flattering on, and the fabric is beautiful!
8/13/08 1:52 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great jacket! I really love all the different angles you achieved with it still looking smart and professional. Wonderful job.
8/13/08 12:59 PM
OP Gal said...
What a beautiful jacket! I think your semi-attached button bands better than the pattern. It's always great to have a jacket that you can transition into fall. It's so hard to find fabric that does that so well. Now that you have the kinks worked out, this can be a pattern that you can use often.
8/13/08 12:43 PM
Dei said...
This qualifies as exert tailoring. Absolutely gorgeous. Would love to see a pic of you wearing your creation.
8/13/08 12:39 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Debra, you are always so creative with your striped fabrics. This jacket is just beautiful.
8/13/08 12:36 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Your review is inspiring! Thank you for taking the time to talk about what you created PLUS the reasoning behind it. For beginning sewers, it helps so much to read WHY an experienced sewer decides to go one way, rather than another!
8/13/08 12:36 PM
stitcheroo said...
Very impressive, in both construction and style.
8/13/08 12:08 PM
Second Avenue said...
Debra, What a beautiful jacket. Your workmanship is topnotch and I just love the colour of the fabric. You will look just fabulous in your new garment!
8/13/08 12:02 PM
Seaspur said...
Another spectacular jacket! Burda should pay you something because your creations are fabulous advertising for their patterns.
8/13/08 10:49 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Ohmygoodness!! What a fabulous jacket you've constructed!!
8/13/08 10:29 AM
suesmith said...
Simply beautiful fabric and fabulous design mods. I must revisit this pattern as you have certainly piqued my interest! Great review.
8/13/08 9:41 AM
Nancy K said...
This is wonderful, as usual. I love the color and stripe effect. Beautifully made, as always. Brava!
8/13/08 9:31 AM
annie11 said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the fabric and how you used the stripes.
8/13/08 9:27 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautifully made! Thanks for another informative review. I truly wish I had a duplicate of every garment you create in my closet!
8/13/08 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
This is just so beautiful - you always do such detailed and wonderful work but this time I think you have truly excelled at making a very special jacket from an ordinary pattern. Well done Debra
8/13/08 9:02 AM
Re Becca said...
I really like the wider collar. Another great jacket with a great review Debra!
8/13/08 9:02 AM
Kay Y said...
That is a great idea to cover the shoulder seam - I may "borrow" this from you. Beautiful stripey jacket!
8/13/08 8:57 AM
lmg said...
Gorgeous, like everything else you make. Thanks for the informative review.
8/13/08 7:56 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful jacket. Thank you for the good review.
8/13/08 7:51 AM
marjenann said...
Unique! Gorgeous!!
8/13/08 7:33 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful jacket! I love how you modified this pattern.
8/13/08 7:06 AM
Natasha B said...
Such a beautiful jacket!
8/13/08 6:18 AM
babsi1111 said...
Your jacket looks stunning. I like your sense of style and I am always anxious to see new creations from you.
8/13/08 4:55 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful all around. Great details and wonderful fabric!
8/13/08 3:30 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally fabulous Debra !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/13/08 2:19 AM
Athene said...
A gorgeous jacket. Love the detailing and the striped fabric.
8/13/08 2:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns V1197

photo
by: Tee Jones ...

Review
Simplicity 2053

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now