SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8501 (Tunic)

4 more reviews
Viewed 535 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/08 3:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca H said...
I have this pattern on my sewing desk, and every time I see it, I think "I really have to make this!" It looks comfy but also stylish. Power to the people!
9/7/09 10:25 AM
arfeuse said...
thanks for the great review. I will be doing this asap. I also heart stay-stitching. Also, how do people ever manage without a loop turner?! I think they should be included in notions sections for all relevant patterns, otherwise at 1am when you're thinking "ok another ten minutes and I can finish this", you'll then spend 30 mins trying to turn yr straps over a circular knitting needle, failing miserably and going to bed swearing and annoyed. :-D
1/30/09 8:35 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Great tunic! I'm not sure about "doing the work of a paid writer," though -- I think these days cutting and pasting from a list is the preferred method of instruction writing. :b
12/17/08 12:07 PM
Cady said...
How cute, it's looks so comfy, I love the sleeves!!
8/21/08 1:36 PM
leapyfrog said...
Eve, This looks fabulous on you, and I am so pleased you found something that doesn't look like a bag, like tunics tend to be. Thanks for the review!
8/15/08 7:55 PM
Marji said...
Great Great review Eve. ;) Entertaining and enlightening. I can't wait for you to review a really intricate challenging project. Oh, sounds like you've got a gem of a store there too. You know, you've almost convinced me to make this top!
8/15/08 12:47 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a fantastic looking tunic! It has great shape - the fabric is lovely!
8/15/08 10:57 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tunic! I like your fabric choice and the shaping in the pattern is perfect, as Burda does so well.
8/15/08 4:52 AM
cathy45 said...
Too cute!
8/14/08 11:40 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Eve. This looks terrific on you. I always worry about tunics looking like potato sacks, but I think yours has just the right amount of shaping and, yes, they are a cut above the standard T-shirt. I love it!
8/14/08 9:45 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh Evie, you've done it again. I laughed, I cried, and I added this pattern to my must-have list-- all because of you. The tears were because I'm not as much of a perfectionist as you are, and wish I were. The must-have designation is because your tunic is GREAT, and your review makes me just drool to have this pattern in my stash for some lonely midnight (not that I ever get the must-sews either... ;) ) -- thanks for another great review!
8/14/08 8:16 PM
Natasha B said...
Your tunic is great - I think the fabric is gorgeous (voile is pretty much my all time favourite). Thanks for the cuff detail - I think that's a much better way of doing the cuff and your photo showed the fabric as well.
8/14/08 7:40 PM
jent said...
I love the more fitted shape of this tunic and your fabric is so pretty! Thanks for the info on The Fabric Gallery - it's only about an hour away - I think I could be in trouble!
8/14/08 6:07 PM
stitcheroo said...
I don't think it looks boho or hippie. It's lovely. It feels airy and bright.
8/14/08 5:30 PM
carolw said...
Very sweet tunic, I find that one of the few companies that give neck staystitching instructions is New Look, I've made a few of their tops with bias binding at the neck.
8/14/08 5:07 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely! :)
8/14/08 4:58 PM
Ann from Maryland said...
Terrific review, and terrific tunic! This makes me want to try a Burda pattern. I usually would shy away from a tunic because they are too loose, but I love the shaping on this one. Thanks for posting!
8/14/08 4:26 PM
Twinset said...
Eve, your tunic is beautiful - relaxed yet elegant - and so is the fabric (very interesting details about it); and this lady at the store really knows what good customer service is! Thanks for the great review, and I think I'll put this pattern on my list (how come I didn't notice it??)
8/14/08 4:15 PM
shesflipped said...
I love that this tunic is semi-fitted, how cool is that?! The fabric is fantastic! Great looking top!
8/14/08 4:07 PM
shesflipped said...
I love that this tunic is semi-fitted, how cool is that?! The fabric is fantastic! Great looking top!
8/14/08 4:07 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
You never disappoint ~ another lovely garment AND a great review!
8/14/08 3:58 PM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse, and loved your review!
8/14/08 3:46 PM
annie11 said...
That looks very cool and comfy! I'm sure that you'll love wearing this one. Thanks for the great review!
8/14/08 3:34 PM
carolynw said...
I love this - must get the pattern - you are right - this tunic does add a bit more shape than many others. Great review - funny too!!
8/14/08 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-116

photo
by: butterflyf...

Review
Folkwear 219

photo
by: LBH2010

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now