SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8162 (Misses' Cape)

4 more reviews
Viewed 544 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/08 10:34 AM
Last Updated:8/15/08 11:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lauri Jean said...
Love it! I want one.
8/15/08 10:47 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great cape- I'm sure your sister will love it. How funny- I pulled this pattern out last week and decided it was going to be my next project! Good timing Marji!
8/15/08 11:09 AM
Elona said...
What a striking cape! Bet your sis will love it.
8/15/08 11:09 AM
ITAdmin said...
I love this, style and fabric.
8/15/08 11:18 AM
joan said...
A great idea for a lt. rain cape. Makes me think my sis that I sew for across country might like one for that type of day for her. Hope my JoAnns has some similar fabric.
8/15/08 11:24 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! This looks like a perfect project for when you want to sew up a new jacket but don't feel like messing with the hassle of fitting one!
8/15/08 11:54 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great cape! Stylish AND useful - wow!
8/15/08 12:07 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful cape, love the fabric everything about it!
8/15/08 12:10 PM
cindyann said...
The is just awesome, Marji! I lurve it! What a fantastic idea to use this pattern for rainwear. Lucky sister. BTW, this is a great review and I suspect that the "needs more info" button got hit by accident. I've had to catch myself a few times as it's right next to the "very helpful" button.
8/15/08 12:17 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Gorgeous color - a perfect item for a rainy day. Hope your sister loves it -it's a great cape!
8/15/08 12:19 PM
PegL said...
Thanks for this very good review! It looks very complete to me! It's timely for me as I have this pattern and am hoping to have it done for Fall...ever the optimist.
8/15/08 2:22 PM
Tany said...
What a fabulous garment and excellent (Very Helpful) review! Thank you so much for sharing this project, Marji! You should be very proud of the outcome! Well done!
8/15/08 3:01 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful cape and I like the part that arm slits aren't required. I, too, think they would be cumbersome. I think this would also be nice as a "regular" cape, too, especially with slacks. Great job!
8/15/08 3:06 PM
ALY said...
Great pairing of fabric and pattern! And the color will brighten any rainy day.
8/15/08 3:47 PM
Littlehuntingcreek said...
Beautiful, and practical too!
8/15/08 4:23 PM
rozzybabe said...
I'm not a "cape" person, & in Canada our winters are very cold, so obviously a warmer fabric would have to be used, however, your details & excellent pictures will lead me to getting this pattern. Many thanks for the clear directions on a corded buttonhole, another tip I'll use. Super job!
8/15/08 6:28 PM
AnneM said...
That is lovely. Nice solution to your DSis' outerwear problem.
8/15/08 7:33 PM
Birgitte said...
Striking looking. Excellent idea with the backing button and the corded buttonhole. Your sis is one lucky lady.
8/15/08 9:35 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautifully made, Marji.
8/15/08 10:32 PM
Rustybobn said...
Wow! I love that! (Wait, is there an echo in here???) Thanks for the inspirational review.
8/16/08 6:45 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awesome outcome. I am rethinking my relationship with capes... this looks like a fun project. Beautiful job and you must be a very dear sister to your family.
8/16/08 7:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice! Perfect for Florida!
8/16/08 7:37 AM
Fran G said...
This is just the prettiest rain cape that I have seen..what a great color for a rainy day. Your point about not using/needing the armhole slits is well taken. I love the cape buttoned up....your sister is very fortunate to have you and I can tell that you love her! Beautiful work, Marji, but you had best get some rest as you have been sewing up a storm lately!
8/16/08 8:30 AM
cmarie12 said...
What an awesome cape! Love the fabric/pattern combination!
8/16/08 12:27 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Marji: do you want to adopt another sister? I LOVE your version of the cape: fabulous fabric choice: striking in every way. Lucky sister.
8/16/08 4:05 PM
shesflipped said...
This is OUTSTANDING! I love the style, (Super Chic) the color is fabulous, and the fabric is so unique! Lucky Sister!
8/17/08 11:09 AM
EveS said...
Gosh, I almost forgot to check in on this review!! So glad I didn't! A rain cape...what a fabulous idea (that I must copy)! :) I love the details of this piece...even a simple piece from you is an admirable piece of work. Thanks for the inspiration! Love those ginormous buttons, btw.
8/24/08 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

StyleArc Sandra Narrow Leg Jean

photo
by: SueT

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now