SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8162 (Misses' Cape)

4 more reviews
Viewed 544 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/08 10:34 AM
Last Updated:8/15/08 11:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lauri Jean said...
Love it! I want one.
8/15/08 10:47 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great cape- I'm sure your sister will love it. How funny- I pulled this pattern out last week and decided it was going to be my next project! Good timing Marji!
8/15/08 11:09 AM
Elona said...
What a striking cape! Bet your sis will love it.
8/15/08 11:09 AM
ITAdmin said...
I love this, style and fabric.
8/15/08 11:18 AM
joan said...
A great idea for a lt. rain cape. Makes me think my sis that I sew for across country might like one for that type of day for her. Hope my JoAnns has some similar fabric.
8/15/08 11:24 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! This looks like a perfect project for when you want to sew up a new jacket but don't feel like messing with the hassle of fitting one!
8/15/08 11:54 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great cape! Stylish AND useful - wow!
8/15/08 12:07 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful cape, love the fabric everything about it!
8/15/08 12:10 PM
cindyann said...
The is just awesome, Marji! I lurve it! What a fantastic idea to use this pattern for rainwear. Lucky sister. BTW, this is a great review and I suspect that the "needs more info" button got hit by accident. I've had to catch myself a few times as it's right next to the "very helpful" button.
8/15/08 12:17 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Gorgeous color - a perfect item for a rainy day. Hope your sister loves it -it's a great cape!
8/15/08 12:19 PM
PegL said...
Thanks for this very good review! It looks very complete to me! It's timely for me as I have this pattern and am hoping to have it done for Fall...ever the optimist.
8/15/08 2:22 PM
Tany said...
What a fabulous garment and excellent (Very Helpful) review! Thank you so much for sharing this project, Marji! You should be very proud of the outcome! Well done!
8/15/08 3:01 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful cape and I like the part that arm slits aren't required. I, too, think they would be cumbersome. I think this would also be nice as a "regular" cape, too, especially with slacks. Great job!
8/15/08 3:06 PM
ALY said...
Great pairing of fabric and pattern! And the color will brighten any rainy day.
8/15/08 3:47 PM
Littlehuntingcreek said...
Beautiful, and practical too!
8/15/08 4:23 PM
rozzybabe said...
I'm not a "cape" person, & in Canada our winters are very cold, so obviously a warmer fabric would have to be used, however, your details & excellent pictures will lead me to getting this pattern. Many thanks for the clear directions on a corded buttonhole, another tip I'll use. Super job!
8/15/08 6:28 PM
AnneM said...
That is lovely. Nice solution to your DSis' outerwear problem.
8/15/08 7:33 PM
Birgitte said...
Striking looking. Excellent idea with the backing button and the corded buttonhole. Your sis is one lucky lady.
8/15/08 9:35 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautifully made, Marji.
8/15/08 10:32 PM
Rustybobn said...
Wow! I love that! (Wait, is there an echo in here???) Thanks for the inspirational review.
8/16/08 6:45 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awesome outcome. I am rethinking my relationship with capes... this looks like a fun project. Beautiful job and you must be a very dear sister to your family.
8/16/08 7:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice! Perfect for Florida!
8/16/08 7:37 AM
Fran G said...
This is just the prettiest rain cape that I have seen..what a great color for a rainy day. Your point about not using/needing the armhole slits is well taken. I love the cape buttoned up....your sister is very fortunate to have you and I can tell that you love her! Beautiful work, Marji, but you had best get some rest as you have been sewing up a storm lately!
8/16/08 8:30 AM
cmarie12 said...
What an awesome cape! Love the fabric/pattern combination!
8/16/08 12:27 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Marji: do you want to adopt another sister? I LOVE your version of the cape: fabulous fabric choice: striking in every way. Lucky sister.
8/16/08 4:05 PM
shesflipped said...
This is OUTSTANDING! I love the style, (Super Chic) the color is fabulous, and the fabric is so unique! Lucky Sister!
8/17/08 11:09 AM
EveS said...
Gosh, I almost forgot to check in on this review!! So glad I didn't! A rain cape...what a fabulous idea (that I must copy)! :) I love the details of this piece...even a simple piece from you is an admirable piece of work. Thanks for the inspiration! Love those ginormous buttons, btw.
8/24/08 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-140

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now