Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Easy Fashion Magazine: E971-2008-2ABC (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 580 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/08 1:30 AM
Last Updated:8/16/08 1:38 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EveS said...
Ok, first of all, you've got some seriously good genes in your family!! Mom looks FABULOUS!! What a great jacket (and a great surprise)! I really like the blended version.
8/16/08 1:56 AM
o3b said...
Wow! That looks so great on her. So young and fresh, yet age appropriate. It does look like a very versatile pattern.
8/16/08 2:20 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Priceless indeed. Your Mum looks wonderful! Thoughtful choice of style and fabric if no fitting session was permitted, and the end result fits very well indeed. Plus an excellently helpful review!
8/16/08 2:24 AM
doctorsirena said...
Beautiful jacket! Your mom looks great! I love your fabric (and the way you used the reverse side for contrast) and perfectly matching buttons! Thanks for the detailed, very helpful review.
8/16/08 7:46 AM
blue mooney said...
Super gift! Your mom looks so pleased AND stylish. I love that fabric and the way you used both sides.
8/16/08 8:24 AM
annie11 said...
Your Mom looks so chic! What a wonderful gift. Thank you for the tip about the Glad Press-N-Seal and the Cardboard support for topstitching. I will have to try those out!
8/16/08 8:26 AM
Re Becca said...
Very helpful review, and a ver modern jacket. I will have to find this magazine.
8/16/08 9:01 AM
Amanda S. said...
Fabulous jacket! Your mom looks great!
8/16/08 9:40 AM
Marji said...
It's a lovely jacket, and your mom looks great in it. What a nice gift.
8/16/08 10:22 AM
Miriam said...
Thanks for pointing out this pattern - it really appeals to me. Your fabric was such a great choice and your mom looks wonderful wearing it!
8/16/08 11:12 AM
Diane E said...
Vonne, what an absolutely stunning jacket. Your mum is lovely and looks so chic. What a great gift and a terrific review. Thanks.
8/16/08 11:53 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mum is 86? Wow, Vonne, she looks spectacular! Very chic and beautifully constructed jacket! I cannot imagine supermodels looking fabulous at your mum's age!
8/16/08 12:20 PM
Annette1 said...
What an absolutely stunning jacket for your mom, just BEAUTIFUL. It fits her PERFECTLY, and your construction is FLAWLESS. I'd say you've got some pretty good genes in your family! By the way, my Mom's 80th birthday is Monday. :o) This is BEAUTIFUL!
8/16/08 1:22 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I love that you took a pattern seemingly styled for a young person and made it look so classy for your mom. Just beautiful!
8/16/08 2:25 PM
Nancy K said...
A fabulous jacket and it looks wonderful on her.
8/16/08 5:07 PM
Fran G said...
Vonne..another wonderful rendition of the BEF jacket! Your tips are very helpful and your mom looks so fashionable. I like your idea of leaving off the bottom band and reducing the fullness a bit. This is one of my favorite patterns!
8/17/08 7:36 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your mother looks beautiful and absolutely delighted with her stylish new jacket. I can't think of a more perfect jacket for her.
8/17/08 10:39 AM
petro said...
Super jacket. Looks very classy. Didn't quite understand the cardboard top stitching support from the pic.
8/17/08 2:34 PM
Winifred said...
Super jacket Vonne and doesn,t your Mum look great in it. I too would like more info on the cardboard support ?
8/17/08 7:31 PM
Vonnevo said...
Many thanks to everyone for your lovely comments. I will try to update the review with some more photos and notes of the cardboard support.
8/17/08 8:29 PM
tomed said...
Please, let me look like that when I am 86! Beautiful jacket, beautiful mom and thank you for the review.
8/17/08 9:30 PM
Peggy L said...
Your Mom looks wonderful and I certainly see a family resemblance. Happy Birthday to her. Fabulous jacket.
8/18/08 4:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
You win daughter-of-the-year Yvonne - your mom looks lovely in her new jacket. Beautiful work as always!
8/19/08 10:53 PM
MareeAlison said...
Lovely jacket Vonne. There's no way your Mum looks 86!!
8/20/08 4:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

brerrabbit.com Easy Table Runner Kit
photo
Review by Mary Stief... on 3/12/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Misses top
photo
Review by KarlaB on 7/3/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us