Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4129 (Misses' Jackets) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 556 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/08 6:54 PM
Last Updated:8/26/08 2:27 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Wow! Beautiful!
8/16/08 7:55 PM
Athene said...
This is a great vest - it coordinates beautifully with the blouse. The vest may be a bit artsy - but if so its artsy in a really good way - I love the different coordinating colors of embroidery on the vine embellisment. The blouse and vest together make me think of something one would see in a very high end boutique and definitely would have the high end boutique price.
8/16/08 7:57 PM
merry-one said...
Gorgeous!!!
8/16/08 8:01 PM
Kristine Kay said...
Pillow Shams??? No Way! This is such a great piece, you really did a wonderful job!
8/16/08 9:50 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Wow. Love the vest, love the placement of the embroidery. I may have to look at pillow shams in a different light. It is perfect with the blouse. I can't wait to see the rest of your garments. I also appreciate that you take photos of your pattern envelope back and front. I hate when the links to the pattern go dead after the pattern has been discontinued.
8/16/08 9:50 PM
Peacock Chic said...
I really like the vest. yes it is a bit artsy but it does POP!
8/16/08 9:58 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ooh la la, Annette! You're going to be the best dressed gal at any function (Watch out Nicole K and J. Lo!!!!)! I adore the vest, the top, the skirt.....everything! Very beautifully crafted, inside and out! The vest also looks so good inside that you can wear it inside out for another great look! Wow! I just have to take another look!
8/16/08 11:15 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I don't think the vest is too artsy - the embroidery is so abstract, and you've incorporated it with other elements to tone it down as well. But I've noticed you don't do prints too often - your aesthetic seems to go for cleaner lines with minimal fuss on the fabric side. I think the pattern supports your fabric choice and it works. I love the way the clasps on the vest complement the buttons on the blouse. Overall, I would say you have a great eye for detail and balance. I suspect when you add the other wardrobe elements, you'll find the vest works. Great job!
8/17/08 0:27 AM
Kbenco said...
Artsy in a good way. This looks fabulous.
8/17/08 1:35 AM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous, Annette, fabulous! I really like the use of embroidered pillow sham fabric to give this a somewhat different look to what you usually sew. All the colors co-ordinate so well together and I certainly wouldn't say this is overly artsy in any way. And, wow, even the inside looks as good as the outside!!! Very well done.
8/17/08 7:28 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another lovely creation! Great fabric.
8/17/08 7:46 AM
Kay Y said...
Annette!!! Cheap pillow shams? I cannot believe it. This is just a gorgeous piece.
8/17/08 8:57 AM
ITAdmin said...
This is a truly beautiful vest. I'm a little disappointed, though, that you used pillow shams and didn't do the embroidery yourself. Ha! Seriously, all the pieces are beautiful, and the color scheme is gorgeous.
8/17/08 9:17 AM
carolynw said...
How totally beautiful and "pillow shams" my word but you are an inventive woman - love the fabric choices
8/17/08 9:39 AM
annie11 said...
Looks great, Annette! I think it has just the right amount of "artsy-ness". I wouldn't have thought there was enough fabric in a pillow sham to make anything with, so thanks for opening up a whole new fabric source to me!
8/17/08 9:58 AM
Woolygal said...
Just fabulous!
8/17/08 10:10 AM
Peggy L said...
What a great use for those pillow shams. I think your vest is fabulous. Love the clasps. Beautiful without being over the top "artsy"!! Gorgeous.
8/17/08 10:10 AM
Grammy Gin said...
As I said you before, you are just plain amazing, Annette!! I love this vest. Wish I had your eye for co-ordinating things..Ginny
8/17/08 11:16 AM
sewbehind said...
Your wardrobe is top notch. Love it.
8/17/08 5:52 PM
Mahler said...
Annette !!! I am simply speechless. The vest, the skirt and the blouse create a perfect outfit. It is sincerely very chic, exclusive and creative. Those colours together are "magnifique c'est tout ". !!! Geniously put together. Do I have to say that I am impressed and that I am looking forward for the rest !!! Waaaaoooooow! I cannot believe what you have created with the fabric. It is NOT too artsy. I work in a university where I often cross professors and students who really look artsy in a pejorative way. This is a great vest.
8/17/08 9:15 PM
Karendee said...
This grouping you're making is TDF. A pillow sham---what creative use of fabrics. I love how all the fabrics coordinate so beautifully, and your workmanship is perfect, as usual. You are a winner!
8/18/08 12:30 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Kbenco took the words right off my fingertips!! Fabulous!!
8/18/08 2:56 PM
Michelle L said...
This fabric is gorgeous! I love this! Beautiful wardrobe, too.
8/18/08 8:58 PM
Ciclista said...
Absolutely stunning. What a genius to use pillor shams!! I'll be pulling our old ones out of the closet.
8/18/08 9:35 PM
cfabrication said...
I really like the colors in your mini wardrobe and they're beautifully expressed in the vest. I do think that you don't need the clasp at all. The vest looks like it hangs nearly closed, you've got those interesting buttons on the blouse, and the design on the clasp is a bit more involved than that in the embroidery. If it were mine, I'd save the clasp for something that focusses on it.
8/22/08 11:16 PM
Sigrid. said...
WOW, great vest in a beautiful fabric. Agree with the others that it is artsy in a good way. You definitely should wear it.
8/26/08 3:39 AM
Puppy said...
Well! What can I add. It's all been said, so I'll just say a heartfelt "ditto" to all that's been said. Hmmm. Pillow shams! I'm always looking for alternative fabric source, but I missed that one!
8/26/08 9:46 AM
craftylady66 said...
You've got to wear this! It is absolutely amazing!
8/26/08 12:58 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Annette, this is really a special vest, soft, feminine, with just the right amount of spark to flatter your entire Wardrobe collection. When I saw the bespoke quality of the inside of your vest, I did a little Rumplestiltskin stomp. Just when I'm feeling self satisfied, you re-instill my humility. Gorgeous work, Girl! -Lily
8/28/08 12:56 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Annette, I just love this vest! Although the vest seems short to you, I think it adds zest and modernity, it's a nice silhouette. Hope it grows on you. It makes the wardrobe IMHO.
9/9/08 8:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 9779
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 5/13/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2565 Women's tops
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/27/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us