Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5201 (Sweater Set) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1443 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:BreathofSpring
photo
About BreathofSpring
MI USA
Member since: 5/10/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 4:01 AM
Last Updated:8/5/03 3:14 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Congratulations on your successful muslin! I'm sure you will tweak this pattern until it becomes a favored one. Note: ring snaps or other snaps are a good alternative for the buttonhole-shy.
8/4/03 4:07 AM
Karen Bowers said...
i got a little confused on finishing the cardigan as well, mainly with how to finish the bottom hem. any way we could see you wearing the cardigan? i never learn much from a photo of an outfit on a hanger.
8/7/03 12:38 PM
Mini said...
I think with a little practice on scraps of your sweater fabric you will be able to do good buttonholes-sometimes I have to try different threads or needle sizes before getting it right. OR you could sew in snaps as Georgene suggested, and put decorative buttons over them. If you look at Gigi Louis' review of this pattern you can see a good example.
8/7/03 3:03 PM
Irene said...
Buttonholes on knits are tricky since each fabric is so different. When my traveling Stretch & Sew vendor demonstrated making sweaters (from t-shirt patterns), she showed us her various attempts at buttonholes. Most of them s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d out of shape. The most successful version used stitch witchery as a stabilizer. It's an iron-between (both sides fuse) fusible webbing used in crafts and sewing. If I recall correctly, she placed a piece between the garment and and facing (at each buttonhole), fused, sewed the buttonhole, cut the hole open, and then CAREFULLY melted the stitch witchery into the threads of the buttonhole (with an iron). She thought that corded buttonholes would also work well.
8/8/03 2:01 PM
BreathofSpring said...
Well, as I stated on the boards, I did attempt to put buttonholes on this. One of them was perfect! One stretched w-a-y out of norm. I even practiced on scraps! Needless to say, this sweater set now has a sewn on facing on one side. I do love the color and feel of the fabric. I will post a pic as soon as I can take one, ok? I haven't given up on buttonholes on knits, but it will wait for now on this set! Thanks for the stitch witchery tip too.....I'll try that! I think I'll try on facings and then just sew that to garments after this! Thanks.
8/8/03 6:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/22/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by Melwyk on 9/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us