SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5201 (Sweater Set)

26 more reviews
Viewed 1444 times 
Reviewed by:BreathofSpring
photo

 
 
About BreathofSpring
MI USA
Member since: 5/10/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 4:01 AM
Last Updated:8/5/03 3:14 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Congratulations on your successful muslin! I'm sure you will tweak this pattern until it becomes a favored one. Note: ring snaps or other snaps are a good alternative for the buttonhole-shy.
8/4/03 4:07 AM
Karen Bowers said...
i got a little confused on finishing the cardigan as well, mainly with how to finish the bottom hem. any way we could see you wearing the cardigan? i never learn much from a photo of an outfit on a hanger.
8/7/03 12:38 PM
Mini said...
I think with a little practice on scraps of your sweater fabric you will be able to do good buttonholes-sometimes I have to try different threads or needle sizes before getting it right. OR you could sew in snaps as Georgene suggested, and put decorative buttons over them. If you look at Gigi Louis' review of this pattern you can see a good example.
8/7/03 3:03 PM
Irene said...
Buttonholes on knits are tricky since each fabric is so different. When my traveling Stretch & Sew vendor demonstrated making sweaters (from t-shirt patterns), she showed us her various attempts at buttonholes. Most of them s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d out of shape. The most successful version used stitch witchery as a stabilizer. It's an iron-between (both sides fuse) fusible webbing used in crafts and sewing. If I recall correctly, she placed a piece between the garment and and facing (at each buttonhole), fused, sewed the buttonhole, cut the hole open, and then CAREFULLY melted the stitch witchery into the threads of the buttonhole (with an iron). She thought that corded buttonholes would also work well.
8/8/03 2:01 PM
BreathofSpring said...
Well, as I stated on the boards, I did attempt to put buttonholes on this. One of them was perfect! One stretched w-a-y out of norm. I even practiced on scraps! Needless to say, this sweater set now has a sewn on facing on one side. I do love the color and feel of the fabric. I will post a pic as soon as I can take one, ok? I haven't given up on buttonholes on knits, but it will wait for now on this set! Thanks for the stitch witchery tip too.....I'll try that! I think I'll try on facings and then just sew that to garments after this! Thanks.
8/8/03 6:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 3956

photo
by: Byrdie

Review
Vogue Patterns 2064

photo
by: Salymander...

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now