Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Issue 26 Titania (Australian Smocking&Embroidery) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 195 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/08 10:04 PM
Last Updated:8/17/08 10:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
I cannot find the words to qualify that dress. You have fingers of gold! I can't believe this is easy to make. In my mind smocking is complicated. Really a piece of art.
8/17/08 10:19 PM
Lori V said...
How stunning, smocked on the front and back, wow.
8/17/08 10:59 PM
Natasha B said...
Beautiful dresses and smocking. Little girls wear sleeveless so well, so your SIL's preference looks just lovely on them.
8/17/08 11:44 PM
Annette1 said...
I could BARELY STAND to read through the review, I was so excited when I saw these. They're BEAUTIFUL! I can't wait to show my Mom the pictures. :o)) GREAT JOB, AS USUAL!
8/18/08 0:08 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
These dresses are exquisite. Smocking is something I have never tried and I admire your skill. The girls look beautiful!
8/18/08 1:17 AM
knitlitcamper said...
absolutely beautiful work!
8/18/08 1:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ahhhhhhhh;-} They are so sweet and beautiful! Dazzling dresses with your signature artistry and impeccable workladyship! Very informative and enjoyable review!
8/18/08 1:59 AM
MaryBeth said...
Exquisite dresses. The info about the substituted fabric is very helpful. Thanks for sharing your expertise.
8/18/08 8:52 AM
senaSews said...
The dresses are adorable. I love the smocking. It must been a LOT OF WORK!!! But the work totally paid out!
8/18/08 9:52 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful!! Gorgeous!! Great heirlooms!! I wish--for the girls--that these dresses would "grow" with them...
8/18/08 10:21 AM
Miriam said...
Breathtaking dresses - thanks for showing them. The embroidery at the hem was an unexpected addition to the beautiful smocking on the bodice. I can understand why you wanted the puffed sleeves though I'm sure the girls loved wearing the dresses and were quite lovely.
8/18/08 11:12 AM
Karendee said...
These beautiful dresses are showstoppers. I can't imagine how your daughters felt wearing them. Such lucky girls.
8/18/08 12:24 PM
jj2 said...
Absolutely beautiful - both the finished dress and the detailed handwork.
8/18/08 2:17 PM
AuntieBat said...
Thank you so much for the close-ups of the smocking! I love the way the diagonal stitches work with the puffy pleats; exhuberant yet controlled. Very elegant.
8/18/08 5:21 PM
Gecko said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Titania is one of my all-time favorite smocked dresses.
8/18/08 5:45 PM
Kay Romo said...
When I get to Heaven, I want a dress like these.
8/18/08 7:30 PM
LindsayT said...
Beautiful! These would go for hundreds of dollars in the US. Well done.
8/18/08 8:10 PM
Michelle L said...
gorgeous work, they look like little angels.
8/18/08 9:00 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Congratulations. Stunning dresses! Outstanding work!
8/18/08 9:04 PM
angie.a said...
One of my favorite AS&E patterns! Yours is just beautiful
9/29/08 9:17 PM
Tallahasseelassie said...
Thank you so much for posting. I am learning to smock and appreciate detailed project reviews. Just gorgeous dress!
3/2/10 9:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Neue Mode 23215 coat
photo
Review by Tini on 2/1/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stretch & Sew 375
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 1/31/11
Read Review

Fusible Interfacing DVD
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us