SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Issue 26 Titania (Australian Smocking&Embroidery)

Viewed 197 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/08 10:04 PM
Last Updated:8/17/08 10:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tallahasseelassie said...
Thank you so much for posting. I am learning to smock and appreciate detailed project reviews. Just gorgeous dress!
3/2/10 9:10 PM
angie.a said...
One of my favorite AS&E patterns! Yours is just beautiful
9/29/08 9:17 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Congratulations. Stunning dresses! Outstanding work!
8/18/08 9:04 PM
Michelle L said...
gorgeous work, they look like little angels.
8/18/08 9:00 PM
LindsayT said...
Beautiful! These would go for hundreds of dollars in the US. Well done.
8/18/08 8:10 PM
Kay Romo said...
When I get to Heaven, I want a dress like these.
8/18/08 7:30 PM
Gecko said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Titania is one of my all-time favorite smocked dresses.
8/18/08 5:45 PM
AuntieBat said...
Thank you so much for the close-ups of the smocking! I love the way the diagonal stitches work with the puffy pleats; exhuberant yet controlled. Very elegant.
8/18/08 5:21 PM
jj2 said...
Absolutely beautiful - both the finished dress and the detailed handwork.
8/18/08 2:17 PM
Karendee said...
These beautiful dresses are showstoppers. I can't imagine how your daughters felt wearing them. Such lucky girls.
8/18/08 12:24 PM
Miriam said...
Breathtaking dresses - thanks for showing them. The embroidery at the hem was an unexpected addition to the beautiful smocking on the bodice. I can understand why you wanted the puffed sleeves though I'm sure the girls loved wearing the dresses and were quite lovely.
8/18/08 11:12 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful!! Gorgeous!! Great heirlooms!! I wish--for the girls--that these dresses would "grow" with them...
8/18/08 10:21 AM
senaSews said...
The dresses are adorable. I love the smocking. It must been a LOT OF WORK!!! But the work totally paid out!
8/18/08 9:52 AM
MaryBeth said...
Exquisite dresses. The info about the substituted fabric is very helpful. Thanks for sharing your expertise.
8/18/08 8:52 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ahhhhhhhh;-} They are so sweet and beautiful! Dazzling dresses with your signature artistry and impeccable workladyship! Very informative and enjoyable review!
8/18/08 1:59 AM
knitlitcamper said...
absolutely beautiful work!
8/18/08 1:36 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
These dresses are exquisite. Smocking is something I have never tried and I admire your skill. The girls look beautiful!
8/18/08 1:17 AM
Annette1 said...
I could BARELY STAND to read through the review, I was so excited when I saw these. They're BEAUTIFUL! I can't wait to show my Mom the pictures. :o)) GREAT JOB, AS USUAL!
8/18/08 0:08 AM
Natasha B said...
Beautiful dresses and smocking. Little girls wear sleeveless so well, so your SIL's preference looks just lovely on them.
8/17/08 11:44 PM
Lori V said...
How stunning, smocked on the front and back, wow.
8/17/08 10:59 PM
Mahler said...
I cannot find the words to qualify that dress. You have fingers of gold! I can't believe this is easy to make. In my mind smocking is complicated. Really a piece of art.
8/17/08 10:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Wiksten Tova

photo
by: sewsue1

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

More Info
Self Drafted Pattern 218360-1000

photo
by: QuikSew

Review