SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> Issue 26 Titania (Australian Smocking&Embroidery)

Viewed 196 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 197
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 196
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/08 10:04 PM
Last Updated:8/17/08 10:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
I cannot find the words to qualify that dress. You have fingers of gold! I can't believe this is easy to make. In my mind smocking is complicated. Really a piece of art.
8/17/08 10:19 PM
Lori V said...
How stunning, smocked on the front and back, wow.
8/17/08 10:59 PM
Natasha B said...
Beautiful dresses and smocking. Little girls wear sleeveless so well, so your SIL's preference looks just lovely on them.
8/17/08 11:44 PM
Annette1 said...
I could BARELY STAND to read through the review, I was so excited when I saw these. They're BEAUTIFUL! I can't wait to show my Mom the pictures. :o)) GREAT JOB, AS USUAL!
8/18/08 0:08 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
These dresses are exquisite. Smocking is something I have never tried and I admire your skill. The girls look beautiful!
8/18/08 1:17 AM
knitlitcamper said...
absolutely beautiful work!
8/18/08 1:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ahhhhhhhh;-} They are so sweet and beautiful! Dazzling dresses with your signature artistry and impeccable workladyship! Very informative and enjoyable review!
8/18/08 1:59 AM
MaryBeth said...
Exquisite dresses. The info about the substituted fabric is very helpful. Thanks for sharing your expertise.
8/18/08 8:52 AM
senaSews said...
The dresses are adorable. I love the smocking. It must been a LOT OF WORK!!! But the work totally paid out!
8/18/08 9:52 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful!! Gorgeous!! Great heirlooms!! I wish--for the girls--that these dresses would "grow" with them...
8/18/08 10:21 AM
Miriam said...
Breathtaking dresses - thanks for showing them. The embroidery at the hem was an unexpected addition to the beautiful smocking on the bodice. I can understand why you wanted the puffed sleeves though I'm sure the girls loved wearing the dresses and were quite lovely.
8/18/08 11:12 AM
Karendee said...
These beautiful dresses are showstoppers. I can't imagine how your daughters felt wearing them. Such lucky girls.
8/18/08 12:24 PM
jj2 said...
Absolutely beautiful - both the finished dress and the detailed handwork.
8/18/08 2:17 PM
AuntieBat said...
Thank you so much for the close-ups of the smocking! I love the way the diagonal stitches work with the puffy pleats; exhuberant yet controlled. Very elegant.
8/18/08 5:21 PM
Gecko said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Titania is one of my all-time favorite smocked dresses.
8/18/08 5:45 PM
Kay Romo said...
When I get to Heaven, I want a dress like these.
8/18/08 7:30 PM
LindsayT said...
Beautiful! These would go for hundreds of dollars in the US. Well done.
8/18/08 8:10 PM
Michelle L said...
gorgeous work, they look like little angels.
8/18/08 9:00 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Congratulations. Stunning dresses! Outstanding work!
8/18/08 9:04 PM
angie.a said...
One of my favorite AS&E patterns! Yours is just beautiful
9/29/08 9:17 PM
Tallahasseelassie said...
Thank you so much for posting. I am learning to smock and appreciate detailed project reviews. Just gorgeous dress!
3/2/10 9:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-118

photo
by: Pemberley

Review