Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2003-133 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1512 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 4:33 PM
Last Updated:8/4/03 4:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
I liked this top in the magazine so it's great to see a "real" one! It looks good, though I see what you mean about the centre point! (I think I would eliminate it altogether and just leave the side points - which look longer than the centre one in the mag, are they really?) You dealt well with the crinkly fabric and thanks for all the tips.
8/4/03 5:47 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Wow Julia, this lookes really good on you, I've traced this pattern also along with the skirt to make some day.....you really look good in it!!!
8/4/03 6:10 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
thanks for the review, Julia...it's great to see the plus sized Burda stuff on someone who really is a normal plus size! That front point really is rather unfortunate, isn't it? Maybe if it were a bit more off-centre it would still have the design integrity, but look a little less...odd. I wondered about that when I waw it in the mag, although it did look okay with the skirt!
8/4/03 6:23 PM
JuliaL said...
Kathleen -- the points are all the same length in the pattern, but when since the side points are at a seam and the center points are not, it's hard not to stretch the center points a bit more when doing the finishing, in my case with a lettuce edge.
8/4/03 6:23 PM
Georgene said...
Crinkle like this can be difficult to work with, but you did a great job!
8/4/03 7:08 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
That top looks terrific on you, Julia. And a new sewing notion, canned vegetables!
8/4/03 7:09 PM
Irene said...
Wow, great blouse!
8/4/03 7:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I think you should be very proud of yourself for successfully using that fabric. I have tried and trashed just this type of fabric. I was just admiring this top last night. I can't wait until my house is back together so I can get to my sewing room. This may be first in line. Thanks for the great review. I love to see gals sewing patterns in the 16+ size catagory. Thank you very much for this excellent review.
8/5/03 0:10 AM
CatherineN said...
That neckline is so pretty! Very inventive handling of crinkle fabric.
8/5/03 5:50 PM
Julia Graham said...
Julia, this looks great on you! Color and shape are both very pretty. I've used canned goods as weights too, back when I was cutting out on my mother's kitchen table... brings back good memories. :-)
8/10/03 3:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Abacadabra Fashionetta Quilt
photo
Review by AnneMarie6... on 4/15/12
Read Review

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6643 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6643 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9549
photo
Review by mymehigan on 7/24/08
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us