SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2003-133 (Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1513 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews: 19 (patterns: 16)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 4:33 PM
Last Updated:8/4/03 4:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said... (8/10/03 3:44 PM) Reply
Julia, this looks great on you! Color and shape are both very pretty. I've used canned goods as weights too, back when I was cutting out on my mother's kitchen table... brings back good memories. :-)
CatherineN said... (8/5/03 5:50 PM) Reply
That neckline is so pretty! Very inventive handling of crinkle fabric.
Sherril Miller said... (8/5/03 0:10 AM) Reply
I think you should be very proud of yourself for successfully using that fabric. I have tried and trashed just this type of fabric. I was just admiring this top last night. I can't wait until my house is back together so I can get to my sewing room. This may be first in line. Thanks for the great review. I love to see gals sewing patterns in the 16+ size catagory. Thank you very much for this excellent review.
Irene said... (8/4/03 7:43 PM) Reply
Wow, great blouse!
Rhonda Noah said... (8/4/03 7:09 PM) Reply
That top looks terrific on you, Julia. And a new sewing notion, canned vegetables!
Georgene said... (8/4/03 7:08 PM) Reply
Crinkle like this can be difficult to work with, but you did a great job!
JuliaL said... (8/4/03 6:23 PM) Reply
Kathleen -- the points are all the same length in the pattern, but when since the side points are at a seam and the center points are not, it's hard not to stretch the center points a bit more when doing the finishing, in my case with a lettuce edge.
Jules/Vancouver BC said... (8/4/03 6:23 PM) Reply
thanks for the review, Julia...it's great to see the plus sized Burda stuff on someone who really is a normal plus size! That front point really is rather unfortunate, isn't it? Maybe if it were a bit more off-centre it would still have the design integrity, but look a little less...odd. I wondered about that when I waw it in the mag, although it did look okay with the skirt!
Marita Kinnula said... (8/4/03 6:10 PM) Reply
Wow Julia, this lookes really good on you, I've traced this pattern also along with the skirt to make some day.....you really look good in it!!!
KathleenS said... (8/4/03 5:47 PM) Reply
I liked this top in the magazine so it's great to see a "real" one! It looks good, though I see what you mean about the centre point! (I think I would eliminate it altogether and just leave the side points - which look longer than the centre one in the mag, are they really?) You dealt well with the crinkly fabric and thanks for all the tips.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Pattern Details