SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2003-133 (Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1512 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/03 4:33 PM
Last Updated:8/4/03 4:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said...
Julia, this looks great on you! Color and shape are both very pretty. I've used canned goods as weights too, back when I was cutting out on my mother's kitchen table... brings back good memories. :-)
8/10/03 3:44 PM
CatherineN said...
That neckline is so pretty! Very inventive handling of crinkle fabric.
8/5/03 5:50 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I think you should be very proud of yourself for successfully using that fabric. I have tried and trashed just this type of fabric. I was just admiring this top last night. I can't wait until my house is back together so I can get to my sewing room. This may be first in line. Thanks for the great review. I love to see gals sewing patterns in the 16+ size catagory. Thank you very much for this excellent review.
8/5/03 0:10 AM
Irene said...
Wow, great blouse!
8/4/03 7:43 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
That top looks terrific on you, Julia. And a new sewing notion, canned vegetables!
8/4/03 7:09 PM
Georgene said...
Crinkle like this can be difficult to work with, but you did a great job!
8/4/03 7:08 PM
JuliaL said...
Kathleen -- the points are all the same length in the pattern, but when since the side points are at a seam and the center points are not, it's hard not to stretch the center points a bit more when doing the finishing, in my case with a lettuce edge.
8/4/03 6:23 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
thanks for the review, Julia...it's great to see the plus sized Burda stuff on someone who really is a normal plus size! That front point really is rather unfortunate, isn't it? Maybe if it were a bit more off-centre it would still have the design integrity, but look a little less...odd. I wondered about that when I waw it in the mag, although it did look okay with the skirt!
8/4/03 6:23 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Wow Julia, this lookes really good on you, I've traced this pattern also along with the skirt to make some day.....you really look good in it!!!
8/4/03 6:10 PM
KathleenS said...
I liked this top in the magazine so it's great to see a "real" one! It looks good, though I see what you mean about the centre point! (I think I would eliminate it altogether and just leave the side points - which look longer than the centre one in the mag, are they really?) You dealt well with the crinkly fabric and thanks for all the tips.
8/4/03 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6083

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review

Pattern

Other Clever Charlotte

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now